We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for scenice beauty & location but lack big time in service”
Review of Tara Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tara Palace
Ranked #41 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Nicely planned business trip to Sikkim by our business partner which turned into leisure post office time/work where we enjoyed walking in MG Road next to the hotel, nice Tibetan food in one restaurant on MG Rd, visit to Rumtek monastery, etc.
Nothing so extra special & exciting about hotel Tara Palace but still no regret for our stay of 2 nights 3 days there along with our team. The only pain point was their service which we found kind of slow & lacking in many terms rest we enjoyed everfything.

Room Tip: Rooms towards hill side with balcony & nice scenic view are better to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in Hotel Tara Palace on 9th May for one night. We regretted why we did not stayed there much longer. Rooms, the Food, the ambience , Service ... every thing was superb. Support staff was prompt and handy. Congrats to the team there and keep it up.

Room Tip: Ask for Room with Natural View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

WE (FOUR FAMILIES) STAYED IN HOTEL TARA PALACE FOR THREE NIGHTS. (21, 22 & 23 MAY 2013. It was a fantastic experience during our stay. The staff is very polite & co-operative. The food quality & taste was awesome. We have traveled across the country in last ten years & have stayed in many hotels but the taste of food that we ate in TARA PALACE was beyond any match. We thank the staff members for the hospitality.
Dr. Premchand Mahajan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PREM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here from23to25may.rooms facing to street r simply horrible in all manner . Smelling bathrooms . At t time of booking they promised to give good view rooms, but realty is not that. Wooden flooring is coming out even though the hotel is new. They claim it is 4 star, actually it doesn't deserve any star.think twice before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sbhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate the time and effort to review us .We do value your feedback immensely and it is only by acting on the good advice of our guests , that we will able to leave a mark. We are a very new property and we can only become better & better if we respond positively to your feedback and constantly improve our product & services.

Your booking was done through an online portal and you had selected the rooms as per your preference & budget. The same category of rooms were allotted as per your purchase. For all guests who book with us directly we suggest to book the Superior Valley side rooms. These cost slightly more but offer panoramic views of the entire valley.

We once again apologise for the inconveniences & thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in Tara palace for only one night. Since it was raining and our day excursion to Tsongmo lake and baba mandir got cancelled due to landslide for 2 continous days, we moved from Gangtok to Pelling. Tara Palace is a luxury hotel, just for the name of it. There was no luxury about it except the rooms.
1. It rained for whole night when we stayed there, and when we woke up, the stairs and th elobby got converted into pool of rain water. I was told that this is a new hotel. But atleast they should have proper drainage system for rain water.
2. Dinner was just about ok...nothing exceptional about it.
3. The finishing in the rooms was not very good....there were scratches on the wall here and there, bathrooms tiles were not properly fitted..
4. Most horrible part came when the AC stared raining water. Due to some blockage in the water pipe....the split AC fitted in the room started pouring water inside the room, which we got cleaned a number of times.
5. The price they charge is super excessive considering the facilities provided.
6. Only good thing which I observed was the courtesy of the hotel staff especially the housekeeping. While i called them to clean the room after water pouring from AC, the guy came a number of times with a smile on his face. And he also promised to be available the whole night for cleaning up the water.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnkurJain_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We are sincere in our efforts to exceed your expectations and determined to make Tara Palace the preferred place to stay in Gangtok.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.3 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
1.9 km away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
2.5 km away
Suhim Portico
Suhim Portico
#11 of 118 in Gangtok
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Summit Denzong Renaissance Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#32 of 118 in Gangtok
123 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Palace

Address: Nam Nang Road | Near Big Bazaar, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: ₹ 2,863 - ₹ 7,028 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tara Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in April 2013, Tara Palace Hotel unleashes an ultra-modern hotel experience in Gangtok. Newly built and located next to top tourist, entertainment and business attractions, Tara Palace, Gangtok offers modern amenities and convenient services with a fashionable twist. Located one block from M.G.Marg, this hotel is walking distance to all this wonder city has to offer. Whether traveling for pleasure or business, everyone can have fun while staying with us. Gangtok's newest luxury hotel incorporates design elements of Himalayan-Buddhist architecture. The hotel boasts 37 extravagant rooms and suites, exquisite dining at Restaurant & Lounge and innovative meeting space for productive corporate functions and chic special events. The rooms are spacious and distinctively modern in style and arrangement. All our Superior, Studio & Suite rooms offer breathtaking views of Mount Kanchenjunga (Kanchendzonga) and the surrounding valley. The Deluxe rooms do not offer valley view. All the rooms are fitted out luxuriously. We also offer ample options for dining & entertainment with a Sports Bar 'Homeground' & Discotheque PLUR in our building complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Tara Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Palace Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing