We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
60
42
24
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
42
24
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roommg roadmesmerizing viewhouse keepinggangtok stayrooms are bigmain marketmouth wateringhotel is locatednice foodhis teamcomfortable staywalkable distancehotel staffbalconyvalleymanager
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in Hotel Tara Palace on 9th May for one night. We regretted why we did not stayed there much longer. Rooms, the Food, the ambience , Service ... every thing was superb. Support staff was prompt and handy. Congrats to the team there and keep it up.

Room Tip: Ask for Room with Natural View
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hemant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

WE (FOUR FAMILIES) STAYED IN HOTEL TARA PALACE FOR THREE NIGHTS. (21, 22 & 23 MAY 2013. It was a fantastic experience during our stay. The staff is very polite & co-operative. The food quality & taste was awesome. We have traveled across the country in last ten years & have stayed in many hotels but the taste of food that we ate in TARA PALACE was beyond any match. We thank the staff members for the hospitality.
Dr. Premchand Mahajan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PREM1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here from23to25may.rooms facing to street r simply horrible in all manner . Smelling bathrooms . At t time of booking they promised to give good view rooms, but realty is not that. Wooden flooring is coming out even though the hotel is new. They claim it is 4 star, actually it doesn't deserve any star.think twice before booking this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sbhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest

We greatly appreciate the time and effort to review us .We do value your feedback immensely and it is only by acting on the good advice of our guests , that we will able to leave a mark. We are a very new property and we can only become better & better if we respond positively to your feedback and constantly improve our product & services.

Your booking was done through an online portal and you had selected the rooms as per your preference & budget. The same category of rooms were allotted as per your purchase. For all guests who book with us directly we suggest to book the Superior Valley side rooms. These cost slightly more but offer panoramic views of the entire valley.

We once again apologise for the inconveniences & thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in Tara palace for only one night. Since it was raining and our day excursion to Tsongmo lake and baba mandir got cancelled due to landslide for 2 continous days, we moved from Gangtok to Pelling. Tara Palace is a luxury hotel, just for the name of it. There was no luxury about it except the rooms.
1. It rained for whole night when we stayed there, and when we woke up, the stairs and th elobby got converted into pool of rain water. I was told that this is a new hotel. But atleast they should have proper drainage system for rain water.
2. Dinner was just about ok...nothing exceptional about it.
3. The finishing in the rooms was not very good....there were scratches on the wall here and there, bathrooms tiles were not properly fitted..
4. Most horrible part came when the AC stared raining water. Due to some blockage in the water pipe....the split AC fitted in the room started pouring water inside the room, which we got cleaned a number of times.
5. The price they charge is super excessive considering the facilities provided.
6. Only good thing which I observed was the courtesy of the hotel staff especially the housekeeping. While i called them to clean the room after water pouring from AC, the guy came a number of times with a smile on his face. And he also promised to be available the whole night for cleaning up the water.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnkurJain_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

We are sincere in our efforts to exceed your expectations and determined to make Tara Palace the preferred place to stay in Gangtok.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in Tara palace Gangtok from 13th to 15th may, and the experience was horrible. Few highlights of this so-called luxury hotel. Undoubtedly, the dirtiest luxury hotel you will come across.

1) AMBIENCE- It was raining while we entered the hotel, we thought there will be some respite but unfortunately that was not the case, Tara had just converted into a swimming pool. Walls were seeping, floors was dirty, one shall be lucky if the walk to the room was without any slippage and the bones were intact.

2)FOOD-If you thought the breakfast was bad, you were yet to taste dinner. Easily, the most horrible food you'll ever taste in entire Gangtok, if not entire country. Despite paying (quite heavily unfortunately) for the food in our plan, we preferred having food outside.

3)WASHROOM - There was a seepage in flush of toilet when we came to room. We called at reception, called housekeeping staff, talked directly to manager, all at least thrice. The end result - no one came to our room to rectify the problem for 3 days. Truly unbelievable.

4)TRAVEL DESK - The person proudly stationed at the travel desk was nothing less than a conman. He charged exuberantly without providing half the services promised. The driver refused to take us to a spot promised on day 1 citing stupid reasons. We considered this as an abberation. On day 2, despite being promised a trip to Nathu La pass, we were forced to return from Tsongo lake for reasons best known to them.

5) ROOM - Last but not the least, the room. I have never seen a hotel room utilizing the room space so badly. The room was too big for comfort with lots of empty spaces and the ugliest of pillars stationed right in the middle of room.

To summarize, it was an extremely bad experience. This hotel doesn't deserve to be called even a budget hotel, leave aside the four star rating they proudly claim. The only good memory we made in this hotel was while were sitting in the cab (not the travel desk's one) after checking out. It was a huge relief. We came unscathed.

Room Tip: You'll surely find a better room in Gangtok. Stay away from Tara, if you don't wanna spoil your trip.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BhumikaWadhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraPalaceGangtok, Owner at Tara Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We apologise that your stay at Tara Palace was disappointing. Since we opened a month & half back we have been constantly striving to delight our guests and raise our standards.

I am personally taking a serious note of your feedback and my endeavour would be excel in all the areas as mentioned. In our quest for excellence in service & product we will not leave any stone unturned. Our vision is to become the preferred hotel to stay, while visiting Gangtok.

Our team is confident of overcoming the shortcomings of the past and move forward in creating great moments of truth. i and my whole team, once again apologise that we could not meet your expectations.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews