We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
94
26
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
94
26
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely mother mg marg homely stay steep climb excellent hospitality veg and non veg elderly people memorable experience main road karma homestay kanchenjunga peak market sightseeing bamboo taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2019

The Shire is a quaint homestay with a warm homely aura. It gives you the essence the city holds. The place provides what it promises. We stayed there for three nights and four days. Mr Karma and his family became a family far away from home. We enjoyed the scrumptious home cooked food. We also got an opportunity to chat with his mother. A sweet lady with a warm heart, she shared with us her life experiences of that part of the world. Mr Karma also helped us in planning our sightseeing program. We left the place with luggage full of memories of not only Gangtok but also with the good times we had in The Shire.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kamal_handa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaTempa, Owner at The Shire Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Thank you for your kind words.We take pleasure in spending quality time and sharing view and experiences,id guess that's how we learn and grow.We do hope to see you back again in the future.My Mother send her best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019

We stayed at the Shire for 4 nights last week and it was a great experience. The rooms where clean and the food was delicious- veg, non- veg and local cuisine. They have a lovely garden open to sky with a view of Gangtok city and the peak of the Kanchanjunga. The host and his mother did everything to make our stay memorable and the conversations around their culture, traditions and lifestyle were interesting. A must visit homestay if you want to experience sikkimis hospitality at its best.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank srzcardoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarmaTempa, Owner at The Shire Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Thank you for your wonderful review of our place.As you will be taking back memories to last,we try our best to make it memorable.
Hope you see you back in Gangtok in the future.Warm Regards from Sikkim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2019 via mobile

This a very peaceful place , in lap of nature. I was amazed to see this nice, cozy place which is only 10-15 min walk from MG Marg. I stayed there one night and in the morning I was awaken by chirping of the birds. I couldn't believe this place actually resides in middle of the town. It has a big terrace with great view (if mother nature blesses you with sunny weather). The host Karma and his mother are very warm people. I enjoyed every bit of it. Only downside was my room. I was a cozy little tiny room however the room was very damp. Otherwise my stay was great here.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank maitreenandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2019

The stay was nice. The location is also in center of the city & walkable from the main market of MG Road. The hospitality is excellent and surely will recommend the stay here and experience the same. The breakfast is good.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank PritamC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Visited the place with my friends and a kid in the month of April 19'. Following were the pros and cons of our stay..
Pros-- Very hospitable staff.Mr Karma arranged vehicles for us and also helped planning the trip.Home made food especially the breakfast spread was very delicious.Mrs.Namgyal was ever helpful.They provided boiled egg every morning for the child.The room had a beautiful view and the washroom had all modern amenities.The decor of the place needs a special mention.A nice garden adorns the place and an outdoor seating area gives an unobstructed view of mountains, clouds and the valley beyond.
Cons:Faced water crisis during our stay. However this might be an exception because while booking never did I come across this crisis in the previous reviews.The road leading to the place was quite elevated hense not advisable for the elderly, sick and also for small children(you might have to carry them which would make the walk even more difficult)
In short the place and our stay was a pleasant one.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Madhuwanderlust17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews