We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
4
7
3
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
3
3
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This is the worst hotel I've stayed during my one-month trip in India. The room was not that bad for the price (500 INR), a bit dirty and dusty but sheets were ok. The shared bathoom in the corridor was filthy and tiny. There was no running water when I went. I told the owner, and he said I could use the other bathroom in the other corridor. Dirty of course. Dark creepy long corridors, with old sofas and other furniture piled on the corners. There was water on the floor and men carrying water buckets up and down. In the morning there was no light (not in the whole city, just there). I checked out immediately.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mireia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

It was clean n all. Don't know why some people rated it otherwise. I paid 140 and stayed here for 4days. Must say it was great being here. Smoking is restricted but drinking's not. Awesome people were there in the dorm..

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sujit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

One of the best hotels if you are on a budget trip. Reasonable room rates with all the modern facilities. Homely atmosphere and food, cozy blankets and geyser for hot water supply. Front room also gives you a clear view of the mountains.
I felt like being home away from home.
Last coffee and chit-chat with the owner made me feel like a part of their family.
Would like to visit again and suggest all my friends to halt in nmcl when they visit gangtok..

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank swedhen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Of all the hostels that i've stayed, this one stands out for all the bad reasons. The dormitory was moist and smelly, mushrooms sprouting out from the walls and absolutely unconcerned staff members. I paid Rs 200 for it.

Had it not been for the sleeping-bag that i was carrying along with me, i would have fallen sick for sure. There is government run dormitory which offers cleaner rooms for a cheaper price. Id recommend budget travelers to explore that option.

The only positive thing about this place is an interesting story about its owner. It is apparently run by a 5th generation Samurai. Otherwise.. please please stay away!!!

Room Tip: Dont go for the dorms
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Akshat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

I am travelling for quite some time now, i am also used to quite some dirty hostels, but this one is the most extreme filthy hostel i have been in whole my life.

Okay, for 150 roepies per night in the dorm, one should not expect a palace, but this is the other extreme! The blankets are very filthy, the shower doesn't work and looks like a worn out isolation cell. All the rooms are extremely moist, we even noticed a big mushroom growing from the wall, which is the ultimate evidence that this place has not been cleaned for months, maybe even years. The smell is terrible, the air in the dorm can't be good for your lungs. The toilet functions, but is also extremely dirty.

And the staff, they don't care. Guests seem to interrupt their daily routines of smoking (inside) and hanging around. Forget about getting support from them. The wifi didn't work, and they made absolutely no effort to fix it. Information about gangtok they don't have. Simple questions (like location of Gangtok Zoo) they cannot answer. This staff is just pathetic. Terrible. Avoid this hotel by all means. Unfortunately, cheap alternatives are not easy to find in Gangtok.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews