We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place in the midst of a city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed 26 December 2016

I stayed in this place almost a year ago. It is located at a walking distance from the bustling MG Marg, yet this place has a profound silence that makes it special. Rooms are neat, clean and spacious. Food was delicious although little expensive. But, the price of the room is reasonable compared to other places that charge a lot of money for rooms like this. The staff were hospitable and friendly. I even had a small chat with the owner. All in all, I would say this place is a far better option that staying at overcrowded hotels around MG Marg.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somipriyo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo Grove Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days. First of all it took a long time to locate the hotel. Though it is not very far from the bustling M G Marg, but you need a car to go to the M G Marg from the hotel because it is not always possible to take 100 stairs (almost) all the time specifically if you have elder person in your group. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The toilets needs to be more insulated though. The manager was very good, even he helped us get a car to NGP at a very low cost. Considering all the factors, I will not say it is a budget hotel; and probably I could get a hotel at a better location in the same price.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank SumanMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located just a short walk from MG Marg and yet able to attain a quiet and peaceful environment, just right to relax and chill out. Our double room is like a suite, so spacious and fitted with a sofa, dressing table and a big bed. Mattress are firm and comfortable and the room is very clean. Wifi in the room is weak but is ok at the front desk. Food at the in house restaurant was tasty though a bit pricy based on Sikkim standard. Their manager Mr Mingma and Ms Rajni were very helpful, attending to all our needs and even advice and help us in our travel arrangements. We booked for a two nights stay but the homely atmosphere make us reluctant to leave and we extend our stay to 4 nights. Will definitely stay here again if we do come back to Gangtok again

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Unseonsinable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboogroveretreat, General Manager at Bamboo Grove Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Mr. Sam,

The team of Bamboo Grove Retreat is really honored to serve a great traveler as you are.
We thank you for taking out time for posting our review here.
Hoping to serve you again in future.

Regards,

Mingma Tshering Sherpa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We (Family) stayed there at bamboo Grove Hotel for 3 days and the service was excellent and the behavior of the people was excellent. They also arranged our trip to North Sikkim and it was smooth trip. I would of course recommend to stay in this hotel and also can take advise for the other trip in and around Gangtok tour.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBSarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboogroveretreat, General Manager at Bamboo Grove Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Sir,

It was our honor to serve you. We are really thankful to you for taking out time and posting your review on us. We look forward to serve you in future too.

Regards,

Mingma Tshering sherpa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

There were two families and we stayed in a twin room. For those who are on a budget might find it okay. One highlight was cleanliness of bathroom and that was one reason we stayed on. Another was the tasty food. The staff were exceptionally polite and well mannered. The hotel is located in a small property near the municipal taxi stand. The MG Marg and Gangtok rope way is within walkable distance. Given the weather of Gangtok, you can excuse the hotel people for the condition of the outdoor premises. Recommended for families and couples!

Room Tip: Highest floor is recommended
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 118 in Gangtok
401 reviews
0.3 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.5 km away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
239 reviews
0.6 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
1.3 km away
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
#49 of 118 in Gangtok
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Grove Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Grove Retreat

Address: Gyatseling | Kazi Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#6 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: ₹ 1,864 - ₹ 3,921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bamboo Grove Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and still maintaining its sanctity, the hotel has been aesthetically designed to blend with the environment and reflects the rich Sikkimese culture. The boutique hotel is just two floors and an attic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Bamboo Grove Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Grove Retreat Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing