We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden hotel with serene environment ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Garden hotel with serene environment ”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is located just a short walk from MG Marg and yet able to attain a quiet and peaceful environment, just right to relax and chill out. Our double room is like a suite, so spacious and fitted with a sofa, dressing table and a big bed. Mattress are firm and comfortable and the room is very clean. Wifi in the room is weak but is ok at the front desk. Food at the in house restaurant was tasty though a bit pricy based on Sikkim standard. Their manager Mr Mingma and Ms Rajni were very helpful, attending to all our needs and even advice and help us in our travel arrangements. We booked for a two nights stay but the homely atmosphere make us reluctant to leave and we extend our stay to 4 nights. Will definitely stay here again if we do come back to Gangtok again

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Unseonsinable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboogroveretreat, General Manager at Bamboo Grove Retreat, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
Dear Mr. Sam,

The team of Bamboo Grove Retreat is really honored to serve a great traveler as you are.
We thank you for taking out time for posting our review here.
Hoping to serve you again in future.

Regards,

Mingma Tshering Sherpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    80
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
144
62
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We (Family) stayed there at bamboo Grove Hotel for 3 days and the service was excellent and the behavior of the people was excellent. They also arranged our trip to North Sikkim and it was smooth trip. I would of course recommend to stay in this hotel and also can take advise for the other trip in and around Gangtok tour.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBSarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamboogroveretreat, General Manager at Bamboo Grove Retreat, responded to this review, 10 November 2016
Dear Sir,

It was our honor to serve you. We are really thankful to you for taking out time and posting your review on us. We look forward to serve you in future too.

Regards,

Mingma Tshering sherpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

There were two families and we stayed in a twin room. For those who are on a budget might find it okay. One highlight was cleanliness of bathroom and that was one reason we stayed on. Another was the tasty food. The staff were exceptionally polite and well mannered. The hotel is located in a small property near the municipal taxi stand. The MG Marg and Gangtok rope way is within walkable distance. Given the weather of Gangtok, you can excuse the hotel people for the condition of the outdoor premises. Recommended for families and couples!

Room Tip: Highest floor is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

First of all the staff are amazing. The location of the hotel is also very convenient as it quite near MG road but still away from the busy streets. The only thing that stopped me from giving 5star was the rooms could have been better and also the bedding

Stayed May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Prashant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Had a great time at this place.. great hospitality, food and service..they make ur stay feel like at home..we made early check in but necessary arrangements were done at an urgent basis..really appreciate ur way of honour..

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 282ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 118 in Gangtok
401 reviews
0.6 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.3 km away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 118 in Gangtok
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
234 reviews
0.3 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
1.4 km away
Hotel New Castle
Hotel New Castle
#7 of 118 in Gangtok
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Grove Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Grove Retreat

Property: Bamboo Grove Retreat
Address: Gyatseling | Kazi Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,247 - ₹ 4,238
Hotel Class:2 star — Bamboo Grove Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and still maintaining its sanctity, the hotel has been aesthetically designed to blend with the environment and reflects the rich Sikkimese culture. The boutique hotel is just two floors and an attic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Yatra so you can book your Bamboo Grove Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Grove Retreat Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing