We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed 5 nights in Gangtok (in 2 chunks) all at the Bamboo Grove Retreat. Purna & Raju Rai are excellent hosts - very helpful, receptive/sensitive, friendly, informed and informal. We were 2 adults with a 5 year old and our friends took another room next door - 2 adults with two seven-year olds. The rooms are clean, spacious, immaculately house-kept each day (even our daughter's soft toys were creatively arranged to welcome her back each evening; such a remarkable detail for our part of the world) and we had views of the Kanchenjunga from our windows.

I wouldn't call the hotel rates very cheap (but that may be because we are used to slummin' it in the plains !) - and their rates seem in-line with most in this class in the region. We were glad we picked Bamboo Grove Retreat and I don't believe we would have been as comfortable, relaxed & at home anywhere else. Purna helped us plan our trips in Sikkim with much attention to stay places we would like and in/around Gangtok and this was very helpful with all the dynamics of traveling with kids and in a new place.

Thanks to Purna & Raju we also got to sample fantastic regional food at the Culture Cafe nearby and got to know Dushyant and Anupama - the terrific folks behind CC.

Two thumbs up for the Bamboo Grove Retreat !

Room Tip: The attic rooms can make the 2nd floor noisy ...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderer_at_heart_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo Grove Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 270 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

Our family (with two small kids) as well as friends of ours (who also had kids) stayed at this hotel in April/May. We found the rooms clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the views of Kachendzonga awesome. The location is excellent being quite close to M G Road, but still slightly removed from the hustle and bustle. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and our kids particularly enjoyed interacting with them. Our deal included breakfasts, but apart from that we did not eat much in the hotel. The breakfasts and the one dinner we had were quite fine. The hotel staff also very efficiently organized transport and stays at other places in Sikkim. Their choices for home stays worked particularly well for us in Lachung and Ravangla. Overall I really enjoyed our stay and interaction with the staff and their responsiveness to our needs and requests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chengalur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We were very glad that we chose to stay at this hotel. To start with, we were able to speak to the manager, Mr. Purna Rai, by phone even at 10 o'clock at night and our booking email was responded to promptly with all our queries answered, including a breakdown of the costs.
We were given two connecting rooms which was very convenient, especially as our two children, though young, are tall, so we each had enough space to sleep confortably and got two bathrooms, an added advantage. The price for this arrangement was very reasonable.
Throughout our stay, the manager and his staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to arrange all our trips and other needs.
The restaurant service was good though the food was the usual. There was Sikkimese food available but it needed advance notice. The manager personally took us to a nearby cafe specializing in local cuisine when we said we hadn't come to Sikkim to eat chicken butter masala!
This hotel, which has a charming traditional exterior, is just walking distance from MG Marg and Tibet road, where most of the cafes and hangouts are so you have the choice of going out in the evenings without having to rely on taxis. It is located down a slope about 50m off the road, making it very quiet and peaceful. They have a narrow lawn where you can sit and enjoy the view of Kanchenjunga early in the morning.
The only disadvantage was that we found the quilts to be a little inadequate to keep us warm on the first night when we had not yet got used to the cold. The geysers, being large, took some time to heat up but the water was nice and hot.
On the whole, we enjoyed our stay and felt that we were staying with old friends rather than at a hotel in a new city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drurmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Bamboo Groove Retreat , Gangtok.
Check In Date - 21stApril 2011
Check Out Date - 25th April 2011

We booked our hotel from make my trip for our 4 days trip and it turned out to be the good decision.
I booked two rooms as we were 4 people, one was super deluxe valley view room and other one was standard valley view room, it was fine view from the window(provided we have clear sky outside), the hotel staff was nice and quite helpful as I have a 18 months kid and I wanted all benefit, security from them, which they provided in well manner. They even boiled water and bottles for my kid as and when required.

Bamboo Retreat location is fine and its on walking distance from MG Marg(with 97 stairs) shortcut path. The food quality was not at all good in the hotel and can be skipped, hotel staff was good and they even arranged for our city tour and Nathula pass trip without any hiccups.

Room Tip: First floor valley view rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veenukumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Hi All,

I went to Gangtok and Darjeeling for sight seeing this April 2011, the way i was greeted and service provided by the Hotel managment was terrific. Room are pretty spacious and have clean bed and toilet. You will get North Indian, Some south Indian dishes to eat whichs tastes good. For those who visit gangtok for the first time, this hotel is the idle place to land in because the management will help, arrange and assist you beyond your expectations. Unfortunately I could not take a snap of this hotel. Overall I recommend this hotel for others if asked :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venkatexps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 118 in Gangtok
401 reviews
0.3 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.5 km away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
240 reviews
0.6 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
1.3 km away
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
#48 of 118 in Gangtok
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Grove Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Grove Retreat

Address: Gyatseling | Kazi Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: ₹ 1,887 - ₹ 3,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bamboo Grove Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and still maintaining its sanctity, the hotel has been aesthetically designed to blend with the environment and reflects the rich Sikkimese culture. The boutique hotel is just two floors and an attic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Bamboo Grove Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Grove Retreat Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing