We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place. Simply superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place. Simply superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at Mayfair Darjeeling and Mayfair Gangtok during my visit, and i have to say Mayfair Gangtok is far better than Mayfair Darjeeling. We stayed in one of the premium cottages, with excellent views from the balcony. The cottage was spacious and very comfortable. The room service was excellent. Buffet food was again better than Darjeeling (but that can be down to individual tastes). Perfect place to stay and relax. Would definitely stay there again if i go back to Gantok.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you've taken to review us! We do appreciate the compliments.

Our Darjeeling hotel is a Heritage hotel and is an erstwhile summer palace. So, in retaining all its heritage and colonial charm, we had little room to work with. It is much smaller when compared to Mayfair Gangtok but one of the much larger hotels in Darjeeling where space is a major constraint. Nonetheless, we're happy to inform you that we are expanding a little more in Darjeeling and re-working a few things to streamline things even better.

Hoping to see you again as our guest!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    144
    32
    12
    15
See reviews for
250
144
6
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I checked into this hotel on the last day of our trip to Darjeeling and Gangtok in march 2012. The intention was solely to soothe ourselves and relax and enjoy the property. This is surely the best property in the whole of Sikkim. Staff courteous, rooms amazing(we took the cheapest one), food excellent. The Pevonia Spa is the most amazing one I ever visited. It is beautifully done up on a cliff in the hotel and is surely amazing. Truly world class. There are only 2 negatives because of which I cant give it excellent. First is the location, it is 15 kms before main Gangtok, so if you want to visit the city and come back it would take you a good hour to reach. Secondly the Casino, which is a small one, but the kind of atmosphere there was ridiculous. There were dancers dancing on cheap hindi songs. My advice, enjoy the property, visit the casino if you are a stag, dont with your wife or girlfriend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Mr. Ankit,

Thank you for your review of our resort !

We've also taken note that the location was a bit of a problem but our resort just wouldn't be the same had it been in the city. We're quite certain that one of the most endearing things about a "Mayfair" hotel / resort is the oneness with nature which is perfectly exemplified at Mayfair Gangtok with just 68 rooms, suites & villas with an area of 48 acres.

The Casino is ofcourse, is one of its kind in India offering live gaming and gambling which is as of now possible on land only in Sikkim. The entertainment is just a small part of the Casino and the troupe would gladly take requests.

All in all, we're glad you did have a good experience with us and look forward to having you with us again!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Its about 20 mins away from the main city of Gangtok and MG road which is the walking street full of bars and restaurant. Rooms are clean and modern and views from each one is nice including from the bathtub. There is a in house casino with bollywood entertainment at night. There is a open air pool with a view and breakfast is quite elaborate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nirav71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Mr. Nirav,

We're glad to have met your expectations during your stay with us earlier this year. Thank you for the time you've taken to review us and for the positive and encouraging review.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

from the moment one enters the hotel one can get ready to be blown away by its beauty and design.
for India and for a luxury hotel in the hills..it offers an amazing experience.
It has a great casino..atleast by Indian standards since gambling is prohibited here except for in Gangtok where this hotel is located. After losing some money..you can go rejuvenate at the spa which far exceeds expectations..
The food is decent and the chefs are happy to cook according to your taste..The rooms are large and spacious and the designs beautiful.
One needs to walk around a bit to get to places at this beautiful hotel so you can be forgiven if you skip the fitness centre in the morning. :D
all in all I would definately go back soon..

Room Tip: if you dont mind spending..do book a higher class of room with an en-suite small pool..its definatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sauravdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Mr. Saurav,

Thank you for your positive review of our resort. We're delighted to have had you with us and look forward to having you with us again sometime in the near future!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our experience there was superb...awesome property with lots of facilities and amenities.

Really good property and stretch in big area. Really excellent destination to enjoy with Family. Kids area is really good with lots of things for kids.

Breakfast and ghazal session at dinner is really enjoyable. With lots of aquariums across its really good to have ur meals there.

Overall really enjoyable experience...and suggested with family outings. Minimum days atleast 3 nights to enjoy all facilities and around place.

Room Tip: Suites nearing Swimming Pool are very good. Also u can enjoy casino at this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kshitiz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Dear Mr. Arora,

Thank you for your feedback and the time taken to review us. We're happy your experience with us was good and we hope to see you again at Gangtok!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
4.8 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
4.1 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
4.3 km away
Summit Ttakshang Residency Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
4.9 km away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#22 of 104 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
17.0 km away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino

Property: Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino
Address: Lower Samdur Block | Ranipool, Gangtok 737135, India
Region: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
#1 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,523 - ₹ 18,205
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of Himalayan Ranges and surrounded by green foliage, there lays a luxury sweet home with royal facilities and services in the capital city of Sikkim. Yes, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok or MAYFAIR Gangtok is a luxury home for those who come to explore the beauty of Mother Nature. Being a 5-star deluxe hotel surrounded by lush greenery, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino is the pride of the city providing world-class accommodation to honeymooners, nature tour lovers and those who want to spend time in tranquility and luxury. The luxury hotel has total 68 rooms divided into executive rooms, cottages, suites and villas; while spa (award-winning spa facilities), multi-cuisine restaurant, bar facilities, indoor & outdoor games and above all casino make it an ideal destination to enjoy holidays in Gangtok, Sikkim; even entire North East. The home of India's First Five Star Deluxe Live On Shore Gaming Casino and a multiple award winning Spa, Mayfair Gangtok Spa Resort & Casino is a 48 acre large resort situated 10 km away from Sikkim’s capital city of Gangtok by a little known town of Ranipool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla, TravelGuru, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Gangtok Hotel Gangtok
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing