We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayfair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

luxury resort in the East, beyond expectation. Cordial staff, comfortable stay, clean & beautiful with very nice natural scenic view
We were two families with two kids each. Rooms were big enough to accomodate with ease. Bathrom were clean

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajender_Garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Mr. Garg,

Thank you for your positive review of our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 559 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Mayfair in Gangtok is a property ideal for those who wish to spend quality time with family.It has a beautiful ambience and is a sprawling property with different types of flora thanks to the pleasant climate.
Rooms are done up in typical European fashion.Spacious interiors and good food make the stay worthwhile
High end cottages have attached swimming pools , jucuzzi etc
It also boasts of a casino for those so inclined !!!
All in all an expensive but worthwhile property
Avoid local sightseeing except for Tsangu lake and enjoy the property instead

Room Tip: All rooms are good but cottages are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anita7871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for your nice review of our resort. Happy to see you at Changu lake set as your profile picture!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I entered this place at night and it's simply gorgeous. Small cozy reception, very oriental feel to the whole place, it's like entering a samurai temple ! The place is very nature oriented, vast and makes you feel welcome.. staff quiet and un-intrusive and go about doing their job with quiet eyes...

the rooms are gorgeous, the bathrooms large, clean and luxurious. the bathtub even had a window on the side which looks out onto the mountains. there was a large enough balcony with sofa's. very comfortable for evening tea late night vodka or a morning quickie... and the best part was that it was all very private..

wether ur on the balcony and outside the room where they have chairs and sofa's in case you just want to sit outside the room for some reason, you have quiet and peace. no one to be seen around no eyes watching you from the next balcony etc etc its all made very delicately and it shows.

The food was good, whatever i ordered. The service prompt, staff very helpful even when i had to book the helicopter ride back to bagdogra airport. The hotel restaraunts are also picturesque and at breakfast it was just awesome even for a very hungover me to sit and sip my ginger tea.

next to the hotel is their casino. Serious players come here and some serious Money was made and lost. You pay a minimum 3 grand for which you get chips worth 2 grand and the rest of the 1k is for unlimited booze, food and cigerettes (if u smoke that is)... the staff inside very friendly and helpful, all smiles. Since i don't gamble much and my friends do i spend the whole night chatting with the staff and just meandering around from table to table.

safe and sound. However i won't take kids their perhaps, as there was a constant Item number style, dancing going on at the stage which was right in front. Imagine some real pretty girls dancing to some hit bollywood songs and a few men drooling all over their poker hands.. Looked all good and dandy nothing shady about this.

I would go back to gangtok just to stay at mayfair. its very romantic. you could go there lock yourself up in the room to play the naughties with your better half and not feel bad... there is way too much to be done in the hotel, half the stuff i am not even mentioning as i couldnt find time to explore... but i saw golf carts and a lot of talk about a lot of atraction..

however my aim here is to cover the basics. and go for it. even if its out of your budget, don't for the next month, save however u can and go for it .. This is simply one of the most beautiful serene-st hotels i have ever stayed at and i spend more time in hotels than anywhere else !

Room Tip: Ask the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank somedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice, detailed review of our resort.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you with us again. We also noticed that you had some apprehensions before staying with us especially concerning the broadcast of certain sports channels. We are happy that you were not just able to enjoy the matches but also all the other facilities at our resort.

Have a great day.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you'd previously been staying in some awful hotel you might well be initially impressed by this place. Think of it this way, if Barbara Cartland and Liberace had had a love child who went on to become an architect and interior designer this would represent the pinnacle of his high camp career. It's garish, tacky and tasteless, it lacks any sort of style. It's staff are either meek and hopeless or bullish and hopeless. It's overpriced and they take very opportunity to over charge you at every level, for instance the mineral water is three times more expensive than most other places, they are charging Oberoi prices and offering a tacky resort service. Perhaps the casino attached gives them carte blanche to rip you off. The room is acceptable in poorly laid out sort of way, the bed is comfortable, the bath is too small but generally okay, the freebies not bad. But it's a young pretender, it hasn't earned the right to be considered good, it just thinks it is. But sadly in this part of the world there is little choice and boy oh boy do they know it.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room 321, with a view of bamboo, all the rooms are identical but some rooms are easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your views on our resort.

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy our resort as much as we would have liked you to have. However, though you do have a right to your opinion, we feel that Rs. 59 (that's just over a dollar) for a bottle of packaged drinking water is definitely not overpriced.

We would also bring to your attention that our charges for a Deluxe Room is Rs. 12,000 + tax as per the published tariff (2012-13) which is inclusive of breakfast and dinner for two persons. For a comparison of rates, you may refer to both our group's websites to discover the distinct difference in pricing.

Our rooms are located in different areas of the resort as you rightly mentioned with different views and characteristics to each such as the Bamboo Villa (where your room was located) which has balcony views of the serene Bamboo groves behind and the courtyard and swimming pool in front. We also have the Heritage Villa which is nearby with a view of the central courtyard and the reception courtyard. On a level above, we have the Fern Villa, the Forest Villa, Suites, Premium Cottages and Villas to accommodate our discerning guests.

Our Imperial Villa, Royal, Regent, Oriental, Crown and of course The Grand (which is actually the best we have on offer) all have temperature controlled plunge pools so you could have the water temperature adjusted just as you like it.

We look forward to you giving us another opportunity to show and explain all our facilities to you in more detail so that your next visit will be filled with happier memories!

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were two families who stayed at the amazing property in Ranipool not exactly in Gangtok. Around 7-10 kms from gangtok. Beautiful resort everything was upto the mark. We stayed for 3nights from5th Jan. Our kids enjoyed the jungle cafe . the food was also good. our family would cherish the moments for lifetime. Cheers for the MAYFAIR Team. Would like to express special thanks to MR Bhakti who was very helpful and a lady at the reception (name not known) very courteous and helpful. We enjoyed the MAHJONG Casino too........

Room Tip: i think all rooms are the same but if your pocket allows then choose villas they are amazing. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaileshjain76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bj8four, Manager at Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Dear Mr. Jain,

Thank you for your review of our resort. It was indeed a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we are glad you all had a good time.

We're glad you also enjoyed Casino Mahjong & Jungle Cafe where I am certain you must have tried our momos and other local delicacies.

We look forward to seeing you here again sometime in the near future.

Regards,

The Management at Mayfair Gangtok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
4.8 km away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
5.7 km away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
4.9 km away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
4.1 km away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.0 km away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#21 of 118 in Gangtok
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino

Address: Lower Samdur Block | Ranipool, Gangtok 737135, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#3 Family Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: ₹ 9,772 - ₹ 16,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of Himalayan Ranges and surrounded by green foliage, there lays a luxury sweet home with royal facilities and services in the capital city of Sikkim. Yes, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok or MAYFAIR Gangtok is a luxury home for those who come to explore the beauty of Mother Nature. Being a 5-star deluxe hotel surrounded by lush greenery, MAYFAIR Spa Resort & Casino is the pride of the city providing world-class accommodation to honeymooners, nature tour lovers and those who want to spend time in tranquility and luxury. The luxury hotel has total 68 rooms divided into executive rooms, cottages, suites and villas; while spa (award-winning spa facilities), multi-cuisine restaurant, bar facilities, indoor & outdoor games and above all casino make it an ideal destination to enjoy holidays in Gangtok, Sikkim; even entire North East. The home of India's First Five Star Deluxe Live On Shore Gaming Casino and a multiple award winning Spa, Mayfair Gangtok Spa Resort & Casino is a 48 acre large resort situated 10 km away from Sikkim’s capital city of Gangtok by a little known town of Ranipool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Gangtok Hotel Gangtok
Mayfair Spa Resort & Casino Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing