We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst property in the best location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ajantha Sea View Hotel
Ranked #29 of 144 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worst property in the best location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Along with my wife I drove to Pondicherry hoping for a nice weekend. I didn't get rooms at the Promenade and Calve Heritage Inn because of the weekend rush. Neither I couldn't find a room at the budget guuest house (Dumas Guesthouse). However, this pathetic property (Ajantha Seaview) overlooking the Bay of Bengal offered me one standard double room @ Rs.3000 a night. Though I never gone through their reviews on Tripadvisor or any other travel forums I blindly opted for it as I couldn't find a place anywhere else. I was so amazed that the room is overlooking the sea soon I realized it's only the views and the service is pathetic or no sevice at all. Curtains were not washed, stains everywhere. Balcony was not cleaned for several weeks it seems. Hand rails were so dirty and so are the table and chairs in the balcony. No words for flooring - it was dusty and could see paints scattered all across! All this at 3000 a night! We saw 2 cocroaches running all across the room. And by late night running water stopped in bathroom and upon enquiring they were told me its because of weekend rush. What a pathetic response from the management! And a dirty fellow came up with a bucket of water in case of emergency. Seeing the dirt on his clothes we rather used bottled water for emergency! And when we woke up in the morning, there was no power and A/C was off - no lights in rooms and bathrooms. They took almost 3 hours to fix it! The complimentary breakfast offered was a shocker. They said as there's power failure they cannot toast a bread or can't make french fries. We were offered a piece of bread with butter and jam! Literally there is nothing called room service. I called up reception twice the day I checked in to clear the plates and the fellow at the reception told he will send the person soon - though noone bothered to come and collect the plates. Finally I had to dump it outside my room. We couldn't even sit on the balcony as it was dirty and stinking. And when I wanted to complain the next day morning noone was at the reception and only some cleaning staffs were present who speaks only tamil and they were helpless. If you don't want to ruin to holidays never ever think of this place - it's the worst place in the best location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bakpakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    20
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a imprmptu trip to Pondy with friends. decent place with no frills. Awesome location, like all hotels on the promenade - bang on the sea shore. Sorrounded by the French Quarters and good restaurants, it is a hotel to keep in the shortlist, in case one doesnt get acess the 4 or 5 star ones.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitrabhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

We booked this place to be right on the waterfront. for three nights. Considering the price we expected good efficient service, but the service was soso, all this with only four rooms to run... The room was very spaciious, with A/C and fan. The car they sent to pick us up at Chennai airport had 4 scrap tires which we rotated twice on our way in, Every day, we had to specifically ask them to clean the room and for new towels. The shower head holder was broken, hot water supply was random. Avoid the roof top restaurant except for a drink, the dishes are not up to indian standards in terms of quality and taste. service was pityful. The included breakfast is served in the ground floor café, It is a hot and unconfortable place, the breakfast is a cheap fare there again, best to eat elsewhere. Overall the hotel has a great spot but makes no effort to make the place charming and recommendable. So, book there knowing that you pay for the great view, only, don't expect much in terms of service.











.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telegumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

Hi,
We went here for dinner on the eve of Valentines day and believe me there couldn't have been a worse place to go!

This is located right on the beach road and rooms and restaurant facing the ocean, but that is where are the good things about this place ends! The food was worse than you can imagine at costs which were insane! Just a lime juice was priced 120+ rupees! The place was also stinking with people around just drunk and the place kept no so clean.
We also got some uncooked rice in the name of Jeera Rice and some squashed tomatoes in the name of tomato soup.

The service was bad with many of the guests shouting at the waiters and managers.

Stay away! Please do not spoil your day by visiting a horrible place in a disguised good location!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Bombay
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

All those who fondly cherish memories of their hostel tuck, mall roads and the now extinct soda pop; do drop in for a stay at Hotel Ajantha Sea view…
LOCATION:
Close to the lighthouse at Beach road,
ABOUT THE PLACE:
A disarmingly quaint place. The hotel structure in its entirety reminds you of a magnificent French Villa.
There is this really picturesque restaurant which runs in the lobby.
Trust this restaurant to rekindle your memories of hostel / boarding school days ..(if you have ever stayed/studied in one that is). It’s so strikingly pretty that you are transported to the good ol’ days of soda pop joints on mall roads close to the hostel where you go for your weekly tarriance. And hey if you have spent your teen years devouring Archie and Gang’s antics in their comic books you will find this whole place to be quite akin to a Riverdale style joint.
The lobby which also doubles up as a restaurant serves soda pop; which is now extinct in almost all parts of the country. The lone survivor here is also prey to hungry hordes and you may not get it on most days. They have fabulous sundaes and the banana split is yum. I had 2 in one go … calories be damned.. [--]The frankies are decent too. Also they have this STD booth inside the lobby which doubles up as a store for assorted stuff.. from imported cosmetics..(fake ones too..) to cigarettes imported again and a whole lot of deos and chocolates… imported yet again…!!!
The blue FA roll on deodorant which is again in the list of endangered items was …. surprise surprise !!!available here..
(Endangered because you do not get it in the whole of Bombay, you can get it in Pune on FC road.. Do not confuse it with FA Sport in blue…)
Also there are these really dainty little nailpaints for sale.. the bottles have tiny plastic shrubs growing inside the glass cover…way too cute..
There are a lot of foreigners who stay here; expect to see a lot at the restaurant downing the goodies…
ROOMS:
Pretty much decent..there are sea facing and non sea facing rooms.. try grabbing the sea facing ones. The price ranges from Rs.850 for non sea facing A/C rooms to Rs.1300 for sea facing ones.
The A/C’s work really well and most rooms have a nice bubblegum pink shade inside. The rooms are quite clean and neat. Nothing spectacular though. The service is nothing to write home about. We had no towels and soaps in our room. We got two towels soon after a call but one had a nice big gaping hole in it….
But must say the service was still prompt.


Also next door there is a nice place with a French twist called “La Terrase” if my memory serves me right.
It is a nice, cheery and bright yellow restaurant. Resembles a French sidewalk café. You get good continental breakfast. But not filling for Indians who like to stuff themselves to the gills even for breakfast.
Everything they serve is freshly made. You can sit there and enjoy your early morning grub as the blazing sun singes Pondicherry streets.
All in all Hotel Ajantha Sea View is definitely worth staying for a very touristy feel in a small town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Could be more hygeinic
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BombayFangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.8 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
0.6 km away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#48 of 74 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
0.7 km away
Hotel de Pondicherry
Hotel de Pondicherry
#55 of 74 in Pondicherry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajantha Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajantha Sea View Hotel

Property: Ajantha Sea View Hotel
Address: 50 Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,000 - ₹ 3,500
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing