We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hotel in pondy is as good, you get metro service in a small town”
Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No hotel in pondy is as good, you get metro service in a small town”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Good food, always willing to help (very rare in most places). Unbeatable Value for money. Free wifi that is ok for keeping in touch. Adequate open and underground parking, decent lobby, but its is the food that is the attraction. The food is not a gastronomist's delight but tasty, fresh, well prepared and servied and variety in the buffet is nice. As a simple man, serves me well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ertdfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our hotel which will be very helpful to tripadvisor readers and morale boost to our team. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    267
    81
    13
    4
See reviews for
278
135
10
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The rooms are very good. I had an comfortable stay with my husband .I enjoyed my weekend at the footsteps of beach and relaxed myself very much after a busy schedule of my work. the staffs were Excellent . the food at the open air restaurant is very nice...Especially Swimming pool is awesome and the instructor is a nice man.Wi fi in my room is very much slow that is the only disadvantage that i could say.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nivetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Dear Ms Nivetha,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

It was indeed a great pleasure reading your positive feedback. This will certainly motivate our team to sustain and do better. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Plese do visit our GRTproperties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Excellent staff. From valet, security, swimming instructor to all the restaurant and housekeeping staff - were cheerful in their service. Especially the way children from infants to older ones were taken care by the staff while the parents enjoyed the sumptous buffet at the Open House restaurant. Anything that did'nt satisfy you just have to call and get it replaced. From their complementary fruit basket accompanied by very tasty cookies every day to meal credits, clean swimming pool and good food we enjoyed almost every aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pool facing non-smoking rooms on the lobby level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roopa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Ms Roopa,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

It was great to read your positive feedback in tripadvisor. It will be a morale boost for the entire team and to do better. We at GRT always strive hard to fulfill every one's need as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed here two weekends back to back, one with friends and one with family. This place is excellent for a relaxed stay. Food and People - the best here. SPA (especially, Mr. Jose, who took the trouble to show us the facility) is also the hightlight here. Right from Bellboy everyone starts explaining to you the facilities available. I would, sure, stay there again during my next visit to Pondy.

Room Tip: As for the ones on the swimming pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaji_vk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Mr Shaji,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time in appraising us. This will motivate our team to sustain and to do better certainly. Also your positive feedback will be helpful to all tripadvisor readers. We at GRT always strive hard to withstand as per our slogan "The Promise of More". With all your motivation and support, we will certainly sustain and achieve the best. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed this weekend with my family. The room was excellent and the staff were friendly and courteous. Took the weekend package of Rs.8999. Stayed in a Superior room. Was really worth it!!!! Enjoyed the swimming pool (has an instructor) and free Wi-Fi. Also took advantage of the spa which was very neat and clean. The room we stayed was clean and had a small fridge/ minibar/ toiletries /TV /hot and cold water/bath tub/free Wi-Fi etc. Also as part of the package we had a Rs.2000 meal credit. The restaurant in the basement served some yummy food (do try the pasta, it's awesome). The breakfast buffet had a big spread, so couldn't really try everything. Check-in and Check-out was quick and smooth. The hospitality made us feel like VIPs!!!! If you are using this package, you can always call the front desk and find out the balance in your meal credit so that you can plan accordingly to use the meal credit completely. They do have a small play area, but suitable for only small kids. My daughter (7 years) found it boring. Over all it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prabhakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your kind positive feedback. This will motivate our entire team. These comments are useful for the trip advisor readers also. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please feel free to call us any time to make reservation in any of our GRT hoitels to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
3.3 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 80 in Pondicherry
1,097 reviews
3.6 km away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
18.2 km away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 80 in Pondicherry
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 80 in Pondicherry
603 reviews
2.6 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#26 of 80 in Pondicherry
366 reviews
2.9 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Property: The Sunway Manor
Address: 100 Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,780 - ₹ 6,917
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and OYO Rooms so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing