We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed for a weekend. Overall good with minor glitches.Breakfast area can be made a little more spacious, its too cramped for the hotel size. Staff are good.Pool is good with the swimming coach who is really friendly and helpful.
Lunch was great with excellent seafood and we did appreciate the chef personally.If you want the sun and sand of Pondy, this may not be the place to stay.Its more of a business hotel and in the city limits

Overall fine for a weekend .

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnieVerghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Ms Verghis,

It is really a great indeed to read your positive comments in trip advisor. Thank you very much for the same. This will be a motivation to our team and also helpful to tripadvisor readers. We have taken your suggestions also and we will try to correct the same.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    252
    80
    13
    3
See reviews for
265
128
10
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is large and biggish like any 3-4 star...the rooms and other facilities are average. would suggest any day to go and stay in a french style hotel in main city as the cost is same. The buffet breakfast is ok. Is pretty far from main town

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skh95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your precious time in appraising us in tripadvisor. We have taken your advices and we will try implementing the same.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We planned suddenly to drive down to ECR to Pondi as it was really nice weather in Chennai. Since it was holiday on Friday and weekend ahead, most of the hotels and resorts were booked. We called GRT and they said they can arrange standard room for us for two nights. That was early morning 8 45 AM Friday. We started almost by 9 30 non-stop drive and reached there in almost 3 hours.

Driving down on ECR to Pondi itself is amazing as you are driving on road that is parallel to sea and at few point it appears both "kissing" each other. We reached to Pondi and called Reception to find out exact location. The staff was nice and polite and she guided us to the exact location. The hotel is located in mid of the town and thats only negative point for people who want private beach.

The hotel is good and it was worth the price they charge. Room was ok and service was good. Room service was there and once it happened that my wife wanted to have a chocolate mousse at 11 30 in night and we got it in our room. Food is ok and it was Christmas time so they had some food festival. We tried their Chicken Sizzlers and it was nice.

My experience about pondi is that its nothing much to see...rather pondi is place to stay and experience the lifestyle. We went to Arbindo Aashram, Promande beach, French colony, etc. While going back we went to Auroville.

We also asked some one to wash my car and they had someone who took 100 bucks to wash and clean my car. The service I felt was really good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrariscdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time in appraising us with positive comments. This will certainly motivate our team to sustain and live up to the expectations of every guest. And also helpful to tripadvisor readers to experience GRT group. We always strive hard to cater to the need of every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of more".

Thank you once again and plese do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and daughter for 2 nights. The facilities at the hotel are very good. The swimming pool is very well maintained and excellent for relaxation. The buffet complementary breakfast was quite sumptuous. We also had dinner there, which i felt could have been better. Deserts were very tasty. A beautiful and well maintained hotel. Had some problem with the room A/C on the first day, though on request was rectified immediately.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomailvidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Ms vidya,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

It was indeed great pleasure reading your compliments. This is a morale boost to our team to sustain and do better. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest and exceed one's expectation. Your comments will be helpful for the trip advisor readers as well. Thank you once again and do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have booked 2 night package at Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry for my visit on Thursday 7th june 2012 with my wife. Normally i never used to look into reviews of the hotel where i stay. Today i was going thru trip advisor and felt good to part of a very good management team of the hotel who will be taking care of us . It is really heartening to see the Manager's responses for each and every review. Hope i would have a pleasant and peaceful stay at GRT. Hope fully i should rate 5 star after my stay for their excellent facilities and service.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yeshlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

It was indeed a great pleasure reading your positive comment. It is definitely a morale boost to our team. We at GRT always strive hard to fulfil everyone's need and live up to the expectation. Your comments will be very helpful to all tripadvisor readers as well. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy our GRT hospitality.
Thank you once again.
Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 9003010137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.7 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
3.3 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
18.2 km away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#29 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.9 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Property: The Sunway Manor
Address: 155/D Hundred Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,941 - ₹ 7,059
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing