We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property + Very Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Visited the hotel over a long weekend in India. The location of Hotel Du Parc is spot on if you want to be near all the Trip Advisor To-Do's . The hotel is a mere 7-8 minute walk from the main beach.

The verandah in the hotel is lovely to sit in if you want to read a book or meditate. You'll see a bunch of squirrels jumping around and birds chirping under the shade of the trees.

The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. We had a minor issue in one of our room, and one of the staff members, Venkat, was very helpful in sorting it out. A special shout out to him.

I would love to see this hotel be a premium property one day, but till then , what they are is fantastic!

We didn't have much of the breakfast, by the croissants were decent.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank S3cube1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

it is a French town,and this hotel is just in the heart of the town,clearness of the city is amazing,hotel is very good in respect to food and service,the have some exclucive dish that is really nice,roos are not modern but quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debapriya p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Stayed here for only one night.. I wish I could have stayed longer..

I had driven to Pondy from Chennai. Before booking the room, I was concerned that they don''t have their own parking lot.

I called them up to inquire about it and they assured me that they will take up full responsibility for my car while I stay there. This kind of commitment itself was very impressive so I went ahead with the booking.

As promised, they did take up full responsibility to find a spot for me to park my car right near their entrance. While it was still only a road side parking, they had a security to keep watch of the parked cars.

Coming to the room.. I had just booked a standard room, but that was more than enough for the two of us. Room was very spacious and clean and the bed was super comfortable. Bathroom was simple and adequate.

The TV in the room was too small but then again, it wasn't used much by us.

The hotel restaurant was quite expensive. Rs. 120 + taxes for a glass of orange juice !!

But there are so many restaurants within walking distance, so I really don't think there is any reason to visit their restaurant, unless you are too lazy to go out and feel like getting room service.

I read many reviews complaining about the breakfast choices, but I found the spread more than adequate.
They served bread (toaster available), butter, jam, eggs, chicken sausages, fruits, cereals, milk, milkshake and fruit juice. Also 2 Indian dishes along with coffee or tea.

Sri Aurobindho Ashram and the beach are within walking distance. The market area is just at the street's end. Really a prime location for the hotel, but not noisy either.

Overall, the stay was a really enjoyable and a relaxing one.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazi_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The rooms are beautiful and the whole experience of living in a heritage villa is great. the room service and hygiene is good. The restaurant in the hotel is average and the staff in the restaurant is very laid back. I'd go back again just for the rooms in the heritage villa hotel! the location of the hotel is great as well since it's in the middle of white twon and everything you want to see is at walking distance.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautifully done up so it can get a little difficult to choose which one yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NavmiKamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

A wonderful surprise of warmth and great hospitality this was.
Hotel Du Parc is located at one of the most prime spots of the city with a close proximity to the main attractions that Pondicherry has to offer.
Apart from the obvious, the hotel is made with remarkable skill incorporating bits of pieces of the French colonial structures, its strikingly painted yellow, with gorgeous rooms, many of which have two floors, pretty staircases leaded atop, and these guys have made wonderful use of space in every corner of the property.

The staff is extremely warm, helpful and very kind. They will arrange everything for you from the transportation, to transit or any other little favour that you need of them. They are very forthcoming and efficient too.

The rooms are beautiful and well maintained, clean and always smelling pleasant. Breakfast isn't as bad as I had read in a few reviews on TripAdvisor. It's basic and if you want something special, these guys are happy to prepare it.
I was very happy with my order of eggs and South Indian dishes which was included in the Breakfast of course.

Overall I had a wonderful experience at this property and the rates are pretty decent for the kind of hospitality these guys offer.

If I visit Pondicherry again, this will definitely be on the top of my list for the kind of positivity and friendly vibe they have going on in their tiny space of French heaven.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sukhmanis2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,161 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
521 reviews
3.3 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
527 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#18 of 82 in Pondicherry
217 reviews
0.5 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: ₹ 3,312 - ₹ 10,196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing