We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet-friendly and great service”
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pet-friendly and great service”
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We took our dog here last summer and the staff were helpful and courteous. they gave us an amazing duplex room and the place itself is so beautiful. The service, food and the cleanliness of the resort are all great pluses

Room Tip: Choose the kerala rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anusha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    218
    44
    8
    5
See reviews for
126
167
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We really enjoyed the old colonial atmosphere of the Hotel with it's courtyard and great rooms. The front of house staff were friendly and helpful. However, the breakfast is abysmal and whilst I would happily return to stay, I would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

A good place for stay with family. The most attractive part is its location. Located at the heart of the city will allow you to chew the city altogether. Amazing hospitality and great food. Loved the serene atmosphere and the services.
Kudos!

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sanghamitra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This is a very centrally located hotel in the French Quarter. It's in a lovely old colonial house and I had a large room with some nice antique furniture. The bed was very comfortable. Sadly this hotel is in need of some tlc as its looking very tired around the edges.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we're always around.

Two things let this hotel down. First is the awful breakfast, horrible croissants cut in half, cornflakes, sliced bread to toast yourself and hard boiled eggs. As this is the only place I have been to in India where you can buy all types of delicious croissants and baguettes
To say this was disappointing is an understatement. Out of all the hotels in which I have stayed in India and across the world this was by far the worst breakfast I have ever experienced. The second is the in-room toiletries, 2 very small bars if very average soap and a 1 rupee sachet of shampoo to last me 4 days. Who doesn't use shower gel these days?

The food in the restaurant was very average and the choice of wine poor.

When I return to Pondicherry I will stay elsewhere as having to go out each morning for breakfast was annoying when this is included.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Recently stayed in hotel due park suite room with my family. Pleasant stay and the hotel located in prime location. stay was comfortable. Room interior and furniture are pretty and classic. The room was clean and the comfortable bed. My kids really enjoyed and more comfort. The south Indian breakfast menu items very much limited. Warm staff. The administration of hotel very good. They do prompt reply in all the way.A memorable experience. i will stay once again soon in my business trip.

Room Tip: better talk to hotel manager for your right choice of the rooms. based on number of person and ages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.7 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
505 reviews
0.5 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
511 reviews
0.3 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
604 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Property: Hotel Du Parc
Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,756 - ₹ 6,025
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelGuru and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing