We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$ 234
PricelineUS$ 234
Agoda.comUS$ 234
TripadvisorUS$ 234
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
194
30
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
30
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut curry the free mini bar first floor sitting room white town prawns chennai airport suite india seetha ambience sita architecture mirror colonial hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2020

My wife and I are back from a 3 night stay in La Villa. We loved the place - spacious accommodation (in L'escalier), friendly & helpful staff (especially the charming Seetha), relaxing pool and delicious food (the French-influenced evening menu is superb). La Villa is in the heart of the former French colonial town so everything is within walking distance. Simply the best option in Pondy...

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curious32692626878, Responsable relations clients at La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Bonjour Mr Mark P,

On behalf of the whole team, we thank you to have taken the time to drop us such a wonderful comment.

We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations as our staff is dedicated in providing a highly personalized service.

We do hope to welcome you soon among us,

Bon voyage,

Ashwin Van Rijswijk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020

First hotel on our trip and yes it was lovely, beautifully restored 19 century French Manor House with 6 suites. Room was nicely laid out with sitting area one end and large bathroom the other. Could have done without the "loo with the view" - mirrors around the balthroom mean you sit on loo and look directly at yourself...not the best of designs!

Excellent well stocked mini bar - all complimentary refilled daily. TV and safe in room.

We also had a small outside terrace, covered with vegitation but it ws only big enough for the two chairs, no table, and the one let down it was next to the kitchen so the staff kept walking by, despite the vegitation not really very private.

Decent pool on first floor big enough for a swim, along with adequate seating for the number of guests, the pictures on the internet make it looked cramped - it is not there is access from 3 sides.

Ambiance was great, nice restaurant in the garden area for intimate dinners in the evening. We ate dinner here two nights and food was very good - Crab Soup/goats cheese salad/thai noodles/prawns with Mango/steak & Lamb....French influenced. Main issue as a guest was no Indian breakfast available, but staff arranged for us to eat at nearby hotel for breakfast where Indian breakfast was served. To be honest whilst in India I do expect local food, hence my score of 4 rather than 5 stars!

Staff very helpful and on our free day advised on places to visit and eat.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecatsmum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curious32692626878, Responsable relations clients at La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Dear Thecatsmum4,

A warm thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us.

However, we feel sadened that you didn't enjoy your fully and we have shared your comment to our team.

We do hope to welcome you at LA VILLA soon and to try our Chef, Michel Christmann new Menu.

Warm regards,

Ashwin Van Rijswijk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

This restaurant was excellent. We had the coconut curry and it was one of the best curries we have had in India. We also had the lemon tart which was beautifully presented and had a lovely delicate flavour. Good service and a really tasty meal.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JMJF1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curious32692626878, Responsable relations clients at La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Dear JMJF1989,

Thank you for sharing your experience about the food at our Restaurant.

The curry is a signature dish our sous-chef Suresh which prepare is own curry paste and the lemon tart is a culinary interpretation from our French chef, Michel Christmann.

We do hope to welcome you as the Chef and his team have launched this week their new Menu.

Kind regards,

Ashwin van Rijswijk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019

When you walk into the courtyard of La Villa you know you have entered a very special place . You are captivated by the sense of detail and the simplicity and unique decor :
Enchantment is constant at La Villa . All the details are stunning and not casually put together , 'La Villa' is a masterpiece of architecture and the staff is it’s soul . I wonder if each member staff was chosen for their smiles and kindness as all put together they make the other part of hospitality reach perfection .

Seetha , Shanth and Santhosh at Front Desk are ready to tackle any whim .

In the restaurent , the chef of orchestra Marie is ready to daze you with a symphony for your taste buds that Bruno , Karikalan , Antraman will be happy to enchant you with .

Michel the chef will send your taste buds in an arpeggio .

Vijayalakshmi Sakthi ,Bikash and Mugilan light the lanterns that lead you to your room in the evening and will greet you with wide smiles and kaalai vanakam in the morning .

The food , the details of the settings , the garden , the scents , the rooms and amnesties and comfort , all make' La Villa' a very special and unique place to stay . The courtesy and efficiency of the staff is endless .
I loved my stay .
Thank You

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thirtysevener
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curious32692626878, Responsable relations clients at La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2020

Dear thirstysevener,

Thank you on behalf of the entire team for your warm comment!

Our team is alsways dedicated in delivering a highly personalized service and it makes us trully happy to learn that we succeeded in doing so!

Our Coryphée, Chef Michel Christmann and his team have created a new menu for this new year and we really do hope to welcome you among us again!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2019

from booking, looking to get help booking a taxi to and from Chennai as well as food I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. we have a few days there at the end of October and was pleased we stayed here, the staff service and environment are everything you would want. there are 6 rooms with a lovely private pool.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EHC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curious32692626878, Responsable relations clients at La Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Dear ehc1965,

Thank you for such a warm comment!

The entire team is always trying their best in making our guest stay a beautiful experience and when we are thanked this way, it makes us really happy!

We hope to welcome you soon and we wish you the best for this coming year!

Warm regards,

Hotel LA VILLA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews