We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Promenade
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Parc(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Dupleix(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Laila's County(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hotel Villa Krish(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Shanti(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Villa(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Chateau(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
507
452
171
69
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
452
171
69
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantsea facing roomlight houseexcellent locationsmall poolbreakfast buffetgandhi statuewalking distancebay of bengalsea breezebeach viewwhite townspecial thanksvisiting pondicherryrock beachfrench colonyfrench quarter
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,020 - 1,025 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Hotel at a great location on the promeade right in the Old City of Pondicherry. The rooms are fairly standard but more than good enough. The highlight in the decor is the use of leather as the owners also own one of the countries leading leather goods manufacturers; HiDesign. There is a ground level restaurant and a rooftop bar/restaurant serving a range of foods; adequate if not inspriing. Services is above average by Indian standards which are generally poor.

Room Tip: Roons overlooking the sea view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are at present staying at the Promenade. The hotel is ideally situated right on the sea face. The staff is courteous, restaurant serves good food with a great choice between Indian & Continental/ Chinese cuisines.
Get to the room & on first look it looks nice with lovely windows facing the sea. Look at the bed linen it's all tired looking & not really white. But what puts one off is the wierdly designed toilet. Not only is it cramped, but the tub area is so high it could be dangerous getting in or out. Added to that is the dirty blackened base of the bath tub & grimy mirrored wall of the bath area. The bath towels are definitely past their use by date & we're a real put off. For a hotel with such high rates one expects clean linen. We are there for 2 nights & will be happy to be onward into our next destination.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mkkNewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The name is well-chosen. The hotel is right on the oceanfront promenade, which is closed to cars evenings and nights. Thousands of people stroll up and down the promenade during the cooler hours of the day. It was very enjoyable to join them, and to see happy families, mostly Indian, hanging out together.
The hotel itself was comfortable, but our room was small and somewhat crowded. We did enjoy our ocean view. The buffet restaurant on the first floor was excellent and a good value. The rooftop restaurant was very pleasant, with slow service. We had excellent prawn and fish dishes there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oakland-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Rooms and food were very good. Unfortunately, not much to do in Pondicherry!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

First of all we where there on the weekend and my car couldn't reach the hotel as the road the hotel is on are closed and then after some time we reached where there where was a point to stop the car and guess what the valet driver takes fifteen minutes to reach us. The hotels first impression was very nice and we had a sea view room which was beautifull,the rooms where very appealing after my long trip kinda crashed into the very comfy bed but again had trouble with the toilets which could only fit a baby as it was crammped up like hell.. Was very unconfortable.we went down to the restaurant where the food is kinda ok only and for a hotel of this sort they have a very few selection of beers. overall ambience was excellent but the quality of staff and service was very average.VERDICT - awesome place to stay on weekdays don't go on weekends and eat out.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank csara3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews