We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$ 90
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$ 202
View deal
Agoda.com
US$ 89
View deal
PricelineUS$ 90
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveller rating
291
277
121
60
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
291
277
121
60
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room private beach bay watch swimming pool close to nature huge property clean beach higher side in house cottage pottery concept resort pets india acres privacy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2020

We stayed here in August 2019. We are four families with 6 kids [8 to 2 years]. The resort has a nice private beach and that was good. The service staff are very attentive. But the food here is pathetic. We stayed for 2 nights and we did not like even a single meal. We started taking food outside from the second day. People travelling with kids do note this.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gusase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

We keep coming to this place again and again. This resort has a concept of village environment with modern stay facility with air conditioning.

Positives:
1. Rooms are quite big surrounded by nature. Every room has a different theme.
2. One can have a walk in this huge property in a safe and secured environment even at late nights.
3. Clean Beach right next to it.
4. They grow crops in-house and have a nice cow shed.
5. Peaceful with birds chirping all the time.
6. They provide bi cycles inside the property.
7. Have a nice play area for kids.

Not so positive:
1. Though in our room the bathroom was big with bathtub, the flush was leaking all the time.
2. Variety of food can be improved.
3. We took two rooms, one was good but the other one didn’t had the bathtub and not so good even though we paid same tariff for both..

Overall a good experience and it’s a concept of the place and nature due to which we keep coming here !!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank amits926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2020

I stayed with my friend - in two different bay watch huts. It is grave mistake we booked it since other resorts were not vacant. The reception was unfriendly and the road to the huts were full of humps and downs. The pathway lights to huts did not work and the staff did not have torch. We used mobile phone lights. Power went off in the midnight but came soon. No privacy. The Vans are not fit to run on roads but are operated to pick and drop the guests inside. The buffet breakfast is very poor and the tea was reheated to loose it's flavor.only satisfaction - the beach is very near to walk along. But it is a very expensive walk. Poor maintenance. Sorry..no recommendations. We wasted our money and time there. Dr S Gowri Chennai

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gowri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2020

This place is spread across 40acres or so, and have several types of accommodations to choose from. They charge like 5-star properties but are not even 3-star.
Pros:
Easy access to beach
Cons:
Smelly age old furnishing and is of no use.
Big spiders, worms, lizards, mosquitoes....its all there in the rooms, literally you can't sit in the room to relax.
Our bag torn/bitten by rats looking for eatables while we were out for dinner(which was below avg)
Most ridiculous is the "eco" walls made of bamboo sticks, you wont even know if someone is peeking through the opening.

There is a lot more but then it will look like i m ranting...please just don't fall for the nice pictures on web, the property is way different. Spend your money on something else.

Room tip: Avoid the huts close to beach, they are too shabby and have no privacy at all.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rajkmr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2020

We stayed at the Dune Eco Village from December 28, 2019 to January 2, 2020 in Garden Room 1. First off, the hotel does not provide an electric kettle in the room. So if you want a cup of tea or coffee (or, as in my case, hot water to make milk for a baby), you have to call the kitchen for it, and they can take anything upto an hour to give it to you.
For 24 hours while we there, the flush in our bathroom wasn't working and I called the Reception 7 (*SEVEN*) times requesting them to fix it; each time, I was told that the hotel would send someone to get it fixed but nobody came and, as a result, we spent 24 hours filling buckets and throwing water in the pot. On two days, there was no running hot water in the sink or bath, and I had to call the Reception and ask for it to be fixed.
The food service was a joke - the room service menu was spartan (a single A 4 size sheet of paper), and at the restaurant if you asked for the a la carte menu, you would be given the same A4 size sheet. On 28.12.2019, I tried ordering a pizza through room service and was told the hotel could not make pizza. Then I asked for a sandwich and was told there were no sandwiches either. I then requested the kitchen to just send two slices of bread with butter in the middle and cut into two parts, and I was told "we will send the bread and the butter separately - you can spread the butter and cut the bread yourself" I was absolutely stunned - when the order arrived, there were two thick, stiff slices of bread on a plate, with butter in a small bowl on the side! Needless to say, there is no kids menu, and there is very little that small children would like (other than dal-chawal). If you order a Coke, they will charge you GST on the MRP (which is illegal), hike up the price, and make you pay cash for it.
The hotel does not allow you to sign room service bills, so you have to pay cash every time you order anything, whether it is a cup of tea or a whole meal - so be prepared to carry a lot of cash. Apparently, the hotel does not allow guests to pay their room service bill at the time of checkout. There is no wifi Internet in the rooms, and our room didn't have data coverage either, so checking emails/whatsapp was out of the question. We were told that wifi was available in the dining room and when I went there on 31.12.2019 at around 5 p.m. and started putting my laptop down at a table, a waiter came over and told me not to sit there because he had to spread flowers on the tables for New Year's Eve. The demeanour and attitude of the waiters was lackadaisical and arrogant most of the time, and even downright surly on a few occasions. It is the sort of place where although dinner is supposed to be served till 10.30. p.m., a waiter will tell you at 9.45 p.m. to place your last order for rotis because they are closing the tandoor. It is the sort of place where if you order dal-chawal in your room, they will send you a bowl of dal, forget the rice, and bill you for both.
The roads inside the hotel are not paved, so when it rains the paths become slushy, and pushing a pram or riding a cycle through the slush becomes very difficult. There is also no lighting along the pathways, so carry a flashlight or be ready to use your cellphone torch. There is a building next to the swimming pool that is supposed to be a pool-side cafe, but it was closed the entire time we were there - so you cannot order food or drinks when you are at the pool.
The whole experience was stressful - you had to make repeated requests just to get basics, the hotel is shabby and dilapidated, the facilities in the bathroom were repeatedly dysfunctional, the food variety was limited, and the staff appears to have received very little training in hospitality.
The positives of the hotel are - (1) the beach next to the hotel is beautiful and deserted, (2) there is a children's pool and a big pool, as well as a play area for children (3) the property is lush and verdant , and (4) the beds are very comfortable. The manager of the dining room was polite and helpful, and stood out from the rest of the staff in his ability to talk to guests, understand needs, and try to attend to them.
The hotel seems to have been conceived and designed on a grand scale, but the owners appear to be doing the least possible now in terms of upkeep and guest service.
It is neither worth the tariff not the four-star epithet.

Room tip: Granite houses are isolated and far from the dining room, garden rooms are better located.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shefali1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews