We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess I'll stay here again...”
Review of Hotel Surguru

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Surguru
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Guess I'll stay here again...”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Six of us good pals headed to Pondy for a common pal's daughters wedding....

Stayed overnight at Surguru and found it to be neat and clean.... we were demanding and the service was excellent even late into the night... excellent degree coffee in the morning :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    141
    46
    6
    20
See reviews for
142
37
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Hotel is budget type, not properly maintained. Even front look gives u feeling of ill maintenance inside rooms.

Rooms stinks, though staff try to manage to make your stay comfortable.
Ambiance is also not appealing. No internet facility.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankur3020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

First, when I called over phone to book, they told that they do not take advanced bookings on the Deluxe and Executive Suites, but assured us that they will have rooms available during the time period which I enquired for. And we luckily got the requested rooms. One Executive Suite, and one Deluxe room. The rooms were clean, non-smelly, and comfortable. The Executive Suite had a small foyer where there is a 3 seater sofa and a small LCD TV , and thru a small pathway, it lead to the main room. The main room looked the same size, look and feel as the Deluxe room. The difference in the bath is that the Suite had a bathtub while the Deluxe room did not. The TV had a Dish based connectivity, albeit the channel signals were not great. The bathroom was clean. The EWC had both toilet papers, and the health faucet. The towels were fresh and toiletries were new. The restaurant associated with the hotel was a very popular, and it did keep up to its name. We stayed there for 1 day (afternoon to afternoon), and it was worth the while. The hotel is located on the corner of MG road, the main bazaar road, and walkable distance to the Ashram, the beach, and many other tourist sites. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajosephantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

A very nice hotel that was neat, clean, and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fantazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My stay at Surguru was quite good until I went for Checkout and had a discussion with ArulRaj the Front Office Manager. That guys was too rude and did not sound like a hospitable person. I had booked two rooms and we were 6 adults which means two extra people.I had requested for 2 extra beds but did not get it. Then I called up during the night & asked for 1 extra bed and we managed. During check out I told the manager that I got only 1 bed and he pulled up a sheet and said we charge only for extra persons. I said why did you not give me all this information upfront. It's not about the price. Suruguru is quite affordable and the facilities are good too ,but such attitude of front office managers can spoil the reputation of the restaurant. I asked the Front office manager to put me to his next level. I WAS DENIED ACCESS TO THE NEXT LEVEL. THIS HURTS MAN!!! I would hesitate to recommend this hotel to people who visit with families.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isaac_shanthakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
2.2 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#30 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#11 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 km away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.4 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surguru? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surguru

Property: Hotel Surguru
Address: 104 S V Patel Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,390 - ₹ 3,424
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surguru 3*
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing