We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$131
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$131
View deal
Agoda.com
$104
View deal
eDreams$131
Priceline$121
Expedia.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
283
204
73
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
283
204
73
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm heritage hotel white town charming hotel the ground floor french heritage manager mr sea front visiting pondicherry stalin furniture ambience dune plumbing renovation vintage cuisine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2022

Dune is one of the oldest heritage boutique hotels here. What sets it apart is that it combines old world charm, with its beautifully appointed lobby, inside patio and excellent hospitality.
Suresh the manager was extremely helpful. Stalen went above and beyond with his help. Thanks also to Kamesh. Shout out to their new chef whose cuisine was delicious as he took old favorites and gave it a new spin. Continental or Tamilian cuisine, both fresh and flavorful.
What a lovely experience.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ShaSel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 February 2022 via mobile

We had a great experience here! The staff were extremely nice and hospitable, especially the manager Mr. Suresh. Our room was very clean with a great vintage interior. The overall ambience in the hotel was beautiful. We could get a sense of the colonial touch from the very moment we arrived. The only complaint we have was the terrible noise from the renovation works that was going on in the adjacent property during day time. Other than that, overall it was a superb stay for us at Dune De L'Orient!

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R_KrishnaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 January 2022 via mobile

Our stay of three nights in the French Heritage hotel - Dune de’l Orient had us living in days of yore. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Mr Suresh- the manager was very accommodating and made us feel at home- he ensured our car was parked next to the hotel and helped with our incessant queries. The breakfast was simple but every item available was delicious. Chef Stalin ensured that each guest was being attended to with warmth and a smile.We had dinner there one night, and the food was amazing. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Pondicherry.

Room tip: So try a meal here.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GrandTour53416050998
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 January 2022

My sister and I visited this beautiful homely property for the last week of 2021.

THE STAY: We put up in the Madurai suite. Even though we were told it's a lovely place, we were still taken aback by the true heritage and aura it retains of the old world. Not made up, not neglected, but maintained as the home as it once might have been. Sureshji, the manager (for the lack of a better word), and the staff discreetly made us feel so well taken care of. From booking cars to introducing us to the BEST person ever for a Heritage walk, Mr Ashok Panda from INTACH, the whole staff works in perfect harmony to do their best to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Our room had such beautiful retro furniture that it was a pleasure to unpack and use it. I generally just use stuff straight from my suitcase but here I used all the trunks, drawers, almirahs.... Lovely beds too. Not too soft or hard.

THE FOOD: I don't know why it's not spoken about more but the food was delicious, especially the coconut rice and veg chettinaad, the vadai served for breakfast, the masala tea, the vegan icecream, THE CARROT SOUP!!! The cocktails could get better though. The Special Christmas dinner was SO WELL presented that we felt like we were feasting with family.

THE LOCATION: It's situated on one of the cosiest and peaceful streets and yet comfortably close to all major attractions. The sea front is a 3 min walk away and via shady lanes.

GENTLE SUGGESTIONS:
For Guests: Please do not expect 4 star services. This is a true heritage building, comes with its temperamental plumbing, slightly worn looking interiors, etc... Please do enough research before you book and make the most out of the experience. Suresh ji is very on hand and will try his best to solve your issues if you ask him.

For the management: The room does need more lights, of the old aesthetic ofcourse. Our's had just one bulb which did feel inadequate.

IN ALL, LOOKING FORWARD TO VISITING AGAIN!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AbsolutRuhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 December 2021

One of our best vacations thanks to brilliant hospitality and service from Dunes De L'Orient staff.

It is not a big place but it is so vintage and located quite near to the beaches. Highlight was the food which is made from produce from their organic farms in Kodai and other places. Chef Stalin was excellent with his service and ability to attend to any specific needs. My 8-yr didn't want to leave :-) We would love to go back there again.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sanjithvasudev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews