We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely L'Orient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely L'Orient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Housed in a quaint side street (well, all of the French Quarter seems to be made of only quaint little side streets :)), L'Orient is a wonderful place to stay at. We had taken up a room on the first floor and it was cutely tucked away allowing us a lot of quiet and privacy. we enjoyed pondy a little bit more than usual :) Definitely plan on coming back for another weekend getaway!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Karaikal room, which is a beautifully furnished room with gorgeous wooden furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0_sera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about Hotel de l’Orient.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Karikal room. It is only the initiated traveller who appreciates authenticity!

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to serving you again soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    155
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
104
185
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I think there are enough good reviews here and we don't need to relate our personal experience in detail, we agree with how lovely l'Hotel de l'Orient is and we very much enjoyed our 3 day stay there.
The only genuine disappointment was the restaurant. Unless we happened to be there when exceptionally the chef was being replaced by his taxi-driver cousin's brother in law, I would avoid having a meal there... For the same prices, go eat at la Maison Rose.
However, breakfast and drinks are fine, and a lovely way to enjoy the beautiful courtyard.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more intimate (downstairs ones open up directly onto courtyard/restaurant or comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about Hotel de l’Orient.

It is our constant endeavour to improve our standards of service and we thank you for sharing your feedback with us. At Hotel de l’Orient, broadly, we serve Continental and Creole cuisine with a few seafood dishes, to suit a range of tastes and palates.

We have noted your feedback regarding the quality of food at the restaurant. Please be assured that the necessary corrective action has been taken to ensure that such incidents do not recur in the future. We are certain that you will notice an improvement during your next visit.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to serving you again soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We had the Karakal room which was above the restaurant and had a big deck. The odd thing about the room itself which is quite large, is the size of the bed, a double perched on stilts. A set of steps is needed to climb on board. I wonder why the hotel doesn't simply put in a king size bed which would easily fit the room.

The restaurant is okay, nothing inspired is offered and the noise from the singer performing at night is very loud. Rooms that face on to the courtyard on the ground floor have no privacy as they open on to the restaurant. Service is slow.

We booked 3 nights in Pondicherry which was way too many as the city state is rather dull, there aren't great restaurants or museums. Sadly the city was hit with a cyclone earlier this year and many trees were destroyed including the collection at the botanical garden.

Focus Books is grea for postcards and the main post office has a really terrific philatelic counter. The handmade paper factory is quite fabulous too.

On the same street as the hotel and further towards the park is a small theatre with local productions. It is well worth a ticket as the theatre group are really industrious and inventive.

We ate at Appachi restaurant as the Chettinad style food was good and the prices reasonable.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the 1st floor, at least they are private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIndaWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review about Hotel de l’Orient.

As you are aware, since Neemrana opened its doors to guests, we have been working on a very different hospitality model which revives ruined or unused heritage architectural structures. Therefore due to the original structure of the French mansion, the rooms on the ground floor open out into to the courtyard restaurant – Carte Blanche.

With respect to your feedback about the bed in the Karikal room, we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused. Neemrana strives to offer guests a unique experience of re-living history. Collectors’ art and antique furniture have been painfully restored and kept at the property to enhance the experience of our guests. It would be a pity to sleep on an ordinary king-size bed, instead of the Maharaja bed in the Karikal room! To ensure the convenience of our guests, room and bed descriptions have been added on our website which makes it easier to for guests to choose a room of their choice. The same can be viewed on the hotel's website and the Reservations team has been given the requisite training to ensure that the details are aptly communicated at the time of reservation.

We have noted your feedback regarding the service at the restaurant and assure you that the corrective action has been taken. It is our constant endeavour to improve our standards of service and we thank you for sharing this with us.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to serving you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We have stayed at other Neemrana properties in the past and like their philosophy of preservtion There is absolutely no doubt that this hotel has atmosphere and from the moment you walk though the door it has an old French Colonial feel. Dining in the courtyard reminded us of a place on our last trip to France. We were shown to the Karikal room with its huge terrace and amazing furniture. The bed was so high off the ground it needed steps to get in and we had serious fears about falling during the night. This ambience was rather spoilt by the fact that there was some renovation work going on at the time with some very strong smelling painting been done right outside the door. Very helpful staff although there was some unfortunate confusion regarding our request for a table which wasn't right next to the music. The evening food was disappointing my wife had the Table d'hote which was French in style but not in quality despite the presence of a French Chef and frankly if we wanted French food then the real thing is only 2 hours by train form where we live in the UK. Neverthelss my wife did try the 3 course meal which she didn't enjoy It did seem to find favour withsome French tourists & Expats. What i was hoping for was some really good French/Indian fusion cooking. A creole prawn curry served at lunch was acceptable so I ordered the and "classic Creole chicken curry". this seemed to me to be a blanquette de poulet -chicken in a rather tastless cream sauce with only the merest hint of spice. the next night we went elsewhere to eat !!. The baguette served for breakfast was pretty good the coffee less so but again we preferred the Indian breakfast
It was during the time of the Republic Day music festival and the evening concert in the courtyard by an Indian born French trained classical singer was a nice touch and a pleasure to hear from our terrace. I think Neemrana are to be encouraged but it would have been nice to have had some more interesting food.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one of he first floor rooms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about Hotel de l’Orient.

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay in the Karikal room. As you are aware, Neemrana strives to offer guests a unique experience of re-living history. The Hotel de l’Orient is famous for its antique furniture that has been painfully restored by the Neemrana team to revive authentic period history. Till date we have not had any mishaps due to the height of the bed and the steps have been added for the comfort of our guests. To ensure the convenience of our guests, room and bed descriptions have been included in our website which makes it easier to for guests to choose a room of their choice. The same can be viewed on the hotel's website. Nevertheless we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and do hope that you will visit the property again.

We have noted your feedback regarding the service at the restaurant and assure you that the corrective action has been taken. It is our constant endeavour to improve our standards of service and we thank you for sharing this with us. At Hotel de l’Orient, broadly, we serve Continental and Creole cuisine with a few seafood dishes, to suit a range of tastes and palates. At the time of your visit there was a special French Food Festival at the property. Your feedback has been communicated to the Chef and his team and we are certain that you will notice an improvement during your next visit.

We thank you for your continued patronage and look forward to serving you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Gosh, that is paradise for Tamil Nadu.

Having stayed in the way too expensive boutique hotel called Hotel de Pondychery on our first night (and moved because of the price) , we have managed to upgrade ourself in this place for much cheaper than the other one.
Our room cost 3500r tax included. It may sounds a lot but travelling with kids, it is the only place that didn't charge us for the extra bed, and it was a bed and not a mattress on the floor ! (They even pushed the luxury to bring us a second bed as we have 2 kids !). And once you take in account the amazing breakfast that is included that fill you up till dinner( a buffet of cereal, proper bread and croissanterie, homemade jam and honey, eggs the way you like it, fresh juices and tea7coffee), it is actually a very good value stay.

In terms of caractère, it is perfection for Pondy.
A restored mansion house, you have the feeling of colonial India just being there, and they interior courtyard is very pleasant to let your thought drift in these old times. ( And if that doesn't do for you, you can browse your computer as wifi is available).

The only downer : like in a dream, you have to wake up one day... and the next place is bound to be disappointing.

Room Tip: The room we had was composed of a hall/TV room that we turn in a second bedroom for the children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your motivating review about Hotel de l’Orient.

Your feedback is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family, for it is guests like you who continue to reinforce our belief in our philosophy of re-creating a French mansion full of Indian warmth. We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay as well as the breakfast spread.

We have communicated your compliments to the hotel team and look forward to serving you again soon! Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#15 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#18 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#11 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 72 in Pondicherry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient

Property: Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Address: 17 Rue Romain Rolland Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#6 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,812 - ₹ 9,189
Hotel Class:3 star — Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magic of the whole Orient in one name: Pondicherry, where the French set up a new coastal lifestyle. Only a French flirtation with India’s bewildering diversity could have produced the refined and elusive magic of Pondicherry. Now, this French 18th century in India is brought alive again in a virtual art gallery with etchings and hand written postcards.Recreated in high-raftered ceilings with savonnerie rugs and easy chairs to lounge away the afternoons. Four poster beds – one accessed by three stairs! To help you recreate your past with dreams. Savour a French mansion full of Indian warmth.Enjoy fine Creole eating where Tamil spices mix with subtle French under-statement to titillate the palates of gourmets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelGuru and Hotels.com so you can book your Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Orient
De l Orient Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing