We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Pondicherry
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

It was Bachelors party @ Pondicherry! Two of our friends were getting married soon and they were bidding adios to Bachelorhood. It was long extended weekend party at Pondicherry.

We logged inn to hotel de on early hours of saturday. Its great and centrally located @ puduchery. The structure reminds of french connections. The food was great, though we expected more authentic french food. The ambiance, lounge and rooms are neat and clean. Good place to be Inn.

The beaches, aurobindo ashram are main attractions. U feel as if u r in france wen u visit the central part off pondicherry! Thats the History of french connection!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Narendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    42
    18
    14
    19
See reviews for
15
39
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dxb
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We did a big mistake by booking our selves at Nallas beach resort , outskirts of Pondichery a net influence... within few hours realized that it was a big mistake, lunch served in a place infested with flies,, probs thats why they call it Eco Resort

We checked out and searched for place to stay, and found Hotel de Pondicherry. Was pleased by the way Raj, who owns the place, should say he knows his business well

Nice and clean rooms and the ambiance that will make you feel so eco friendly
Nice bar good food

but i would also recommend Alliance Francaise - right opposite to Hotel de Pondicherry for a good breakfast and ofcourse Hotel Promenade for a wood burn thin crust pizza and excellent service and good food

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malini55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Its an heritage hotel and with wooden work and good interiors with bungalow look.
service was excellent and was available 24*7 .
It was very close to main market.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navy_dhariwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I had booked Hotel De Pondicherry in Dec 2009 (it was a 3 day booking, but due to a mess up created by Y@#$! I had to stay 2 days in Hotel Lotus Comfort and one day in Hotel De Pondicherry. I had opted for 3 days at Hotel De Pondicherry but just got 1. And Luckily the alternative arrangement (Hotel Lotus Comfort) happened to be better than the original option.

This hotel is a refurbished ancient bunglow - so it is marred with red stone floors, small staircase, asbestoes roofs, table fans and mosquitoes! Also privacy of rooms is a concern.

Absence of Room service, Absence of Restaurant etc basic things makes one feel that one gets the feeling that the owners are trying to make money without expending anything on maintaining the property.

Contrary to the conventional expectation of Luxury from a Hertiage property, all we get to see in this hotel is just the shortfalls of ancient construction.


The only good part is, its extremely close to the beach and the market area.

In my opinion this hotel is not worthy of staying for family members especially with kids.
At best, it is recommended for bachelors / singles that too only if they have a longing for heritage constructions.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tushar321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Kozhikode
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

I have had a great time at pondicherry with my wife. Specialy the stay at Hotel De. It is a memorable time in me life. pondicherry is wonderful. the hotel is great. it is in a calm place, cam relax ang enjoy every moment of life.

The restorent is very good. specially sea foods.
dont forget to visit nehru street at pondicherry.

I always suggest it for family

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoop909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 km away
The Richmond, Puducherry
The Richmond, Puducherry
#33 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#13 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#30 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 km away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pondicherry

Property: Hotel de Pondicherry
Address: 38 Dumas Street, Beach Road (South End), Pondicherry 605 001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,513 - ₹ 3,931
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing