We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Pondy
Nearby Hotels
US$ 78
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
US$ 107
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 151
US$ 141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Royal Park(Pondicherry)
US$ 48
US$ 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 66
US$ 53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RKN Beach Resort(Pondicherry)
US$ 81
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Promenade(Pondicherry)
US$ 81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mango Hill(Pondicherry)
US$ 41
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
US$ 179
US$ 174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveller rating
479
483
134
41
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
483
134
41
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villaprivate beachlake view roompresidential villaglass bridgevisited leopen bathroomclean beachprivate accessparadise beachbeautiful resortpool sidemain citykids play areaapproach roadnice poolthe cottages
Filter
Updating list...
1,072 - 1,077 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Average Hotel with no extraordinary service .
The + ves ->
The rooms and the ambiance.
The - ves
Terrible stale food and beverage ..which made my wife fall sick of food poisoning which spoiled the entire trip.
Verdict = Would Recommend to visit Le pondy if you can carry your own home made food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scv1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

i just checked in to 408.since there was no privacy asked for a different room the staff here were very rude.wen i asked for a check out then they start arranging for a room.don know way to expect more from here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vijy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We went there in December 2011. It was a family vacation. The start was disastrous as wrong rooms were allocated and one of bathrooms was clogged and therefore stinking. It got better after some pushing from the 2nd day. The place is a bit remote, so you are dependent on hired cars to go to Pondicherry. The beach is close by and you get wonderful vistas at sunset. The place is nice but the food was very ordinary. If one wanted a la carte, it took enormous time. The service was well meaning but slow. The views were excellent, and the staff were very friendly, though not very efficient

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at Le Pondy over the Easter weekend with friends and family. Had read lots of good reviews so we were confident that the property and service would be good, and it was. The resort was full but everything went smoothly: we had kids and associated, unpredictable demands which were always met efficiently.

The buffet spread was always pretty large and everyone always found enough variety to keep them happy. We tried a-la-carte a couple of times which was also pretty good and surprisingly efficient given that the hotel was so full.

They have a nice Pool with a bar.

Gardens are huge - good but not perfectly kept (the grass is clumpy - only thing that wasn't right, no complaints though).

The best part was the beach - safe, very very clean, and pristine white sands. We spent a lot of time in the sea with the kids. They had a lifeguard on duty all the time.

Pondicherry itself is a lovely place - it being off the beaten track, you don't have hordes of tourists; food is great and there are lots of nice French-inspired cafes, restaurants and patisseries (and of course there is excellent Tamil food). Atmosphere at the promenade (the waterfront) is very nice in the evening when they close the traffic down on that strip of road and the place comes alive with people hanging about by the seaside. Its nice to stroll in the charming French quarters of the city that are very well maintained (definitely one of the cleanest part in any city I have been to in India), and its quaint to see streets names in French. And if you are a chocolate buff, visit Choco-la for amazing cakes and creative goodies crafted with chocolate. We were planning (a yet another) trip to Goa, which didn't materialise and we landed up in Pondicherry on a whim. Glad we did that! Go discover the place - you wouldn't mind the change.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms overlook a river that flows into the sea and the view is as good as sea-side rooms. So don't worry if you get a garden view room. View from upper floors (they have ground & first) is better.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SJu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The extended weekend stay (first week of April) at LePondy was an amazing one. Though it was very hot in pondicherry but we also managed to checkout places in Pondicherry.

The resort offered us flexibility of timings (as they had promised) which really helped us in making our holiday a comfortable one.

Pros :
- Clean
- Good service
- Good food (scope of improvement) (south indian food was amazing)
- Swimming pool is awesome
- Good staff, warm hospitality
- Beach (you can say its a private one)

Cons :
- Food price is on a higher side.
- The indoor games area seemed non-functional (may be because of heat in April)
- No extra activity, again may be because of heat (don't know)
- Own vehicle is a must. With bike it was difficult to return back from city after dark. (Car would be a better choice.) Bike is ok if you plan to be back when its still light.

-prasant

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasant_jalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews