We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
132
88
20
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
88
20
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house l escale french quarter french breakfast breakfast terrace best breakfast in town walking distance nice eating joints value for money helpful owner third floor french riviera nice guesthouse perfect location sea view sea front reasonable rates
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

i booked for the 8 th 9 th and had not confirmed the10 th ,however after the two firm booking nights were over , since it was bad weather ,incessant rains i wanted to move out,closer to work area. the owner insisted i had to pay even if i moved. so i stayed 10 th as well. room 1 ground floor has entry from the small triangle of space which is entry , office ,where the reception desk is, where a dog sleeps, where a night staff sleeps on mattress on floor just beside door , the snores were loud and clear all night. the breakfast on makeshift rooftop of this narrow hotel when you wind your way up the smallest staircase is leaking through the coconut leaves ,ceiling,coffee is bad. well the room i had was the cheapest room 1 had old mattresses stored beneath my bed , the extras , so infact it was store room as well that i seem to have booked. the only two plus points is the promenade and sea is around the corner, and good brioche for breakfast. the room the state of reception whichh serves as place for office , dogs shelter,and sleeping staff is not the best for cleanliness, and so i just dont recommend this place for anyone . most inconvenient building, and not worth your money or state of health.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Nrudra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lescale, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Hello Nrudra
Nrudra from your review i understand you were very angry about having to pay the 3 rd night at l escale and from this decided to write this review .It is disappointing .
Nrudra you arrived and confirmed you wanted 3 nights at l escale and confirmed to me after the 2nd night you would be staying which is fine as we blocked the room for you
30 min later you came and decided to check out because of the bad weather .Which is your choice . You have to pay for the room as it is blocked the night for you .
The day before we had many inquiries which we refuse as your room is blocked for you .
I find it very disappointing your attitude
The comments in your review you at no point spoke to me about them only you wanted to leave becouse of the weather
Nicholas


.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Lescale for 4 days. This property comes under white town 5 mins from beach. Infact 5 to 10 min to all nice eating joints.
Comfy small rooms with no TV ,gives you more time to indulge in talk and communicate. Do not expect doors for bathroom only a curtain. They have hot water facility. Room is decorated with historic information and famous Tamil movies posters. The dinning area is on the rooftop and they only serve you breakfast . No room service. There is a common living area between rooms with fridge and tea kettle.
You can enjoy sea view on rooftop . The area is clean and posh and as I said walking distance to all major eating joints.
Nehru market and other local markets are also within 5km radius.
Be careful if you opt for room with breakfast option as you will only get two - three types of bread with butter and jams and tea or coffee. Anything else will be additional cost.
But you get so many breakfast options near by that you do not mind same.
It's better to rent a scooty , hotel will charge you 450 per day but we rented it directly from vendor so it costed 250. Same for car rental, hotel charged us 3100 while coming from Chennai. We booked cab from local vendor for 2600 on our way back.
Overall nice and peacefully stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ilathakur80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lescale, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello
Thank you for your review .
I would like to just make a point on the prices of a scooter and a Taxi
Scooters we rent at 450Rs as it is a enire service including any problems you may have while renting a scooter with us .we also rent on a daily basis and do not oblige to take the scooter for min 2 days which the local rental shops will ask normally
The taxi service is all included which means Parking. drivers cost and tolls on the roads
included
.When booking a taxi at l escale we take charge of the payment,the driver will never ask for any extras .
The taxi service we use i have been working with the same company for 9 years and they are safe and a real taxi company
Please always check the car has yellow number plates .
if they are white it is a private car and doing taxi services illegally
Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for a week and we felt right at home. Bharati and the sweet lady who obligingly fried tomatoes for me and the two other members of the staff were so obliging and co operative. Nick, our host was friendly and helpful. The place is so centrally located close to the sea and several eating places! Loved our stay! Thanks everyone

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lescale, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hello to you Both
Thank you very much for staying with us
You were bot great Guests
all the best
Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

After almost a year of regretting NOT giving our host 5/5 for his incredibly hard work setting up his hotel under the most demanding of conditions (red tape, slow local workers, property owners between him and the sea) and feeling so guilty that pretty much everywhere else we stayed in on our temple train travels AND in Kerala did not match his quality and perseverance!

Sorry, I should have given you 5/5 then. We were just so naive in India at the beginning of our three week trip! You are a jewel in India's crown! This is my 301st review and many since yours has been tempered by my not giving you 5/5 originally!

This is written whilst I am in Zugdidii, a far flung part of Georgia in Europe. Beeping car drivers here too btw!

Just go, stay and enjoy!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank MikeLondonSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lescale, Owner at L'Escale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Hello Mike
It is great to hear from you and i see you are still trveling .Thank you for your very kind words and i will do all i can to make new guests feel the same
All the best
Nick & Arul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We stayed in the hotel for two nights last week and it has been such a wonderful experience! we needed some time to rest and everything was perfect: the peaceful location, far from Indian overcrowded streets, the very good breakfast (I think we've eaten the best pan brioche ever!) and the quality and courtesy of Mr Nicolas and his staff. We have had the possibility to ask them a lot of advices to visit town and everything was perfectly arranged!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 181viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews