We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel but no restaurant”
Review of Lotus Bay View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lotus Bay View
Ranked #43 of 147 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very good hotel but no restaurant”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hotel is very good & clean. Staff also helpful & friendly. Only issue was food in the room. it was a family trip. (2 adults + 2 kids & 2 sr. citizens). found it very diffuclt to manage food from outside. I had to waste my time to go out and carry food for family as it was difficult to take kids & partially handicapped parents to outside hotels. But excellent hotel for honeymoon couple.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    49
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
34
36
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Lotus Bay View hotel is excellent hotel located on Beach Road.
Pros:
1. Good location
2. Excellent Service by staff
3. Good air conditioning in rooms
4. Lots of restaurants nearby


Cons:
1. Small Hotel
2. No restaurant

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanjeevK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Went on an weekend trip with a group of 8 people from Bangalore.
The roads leading to Pondi from Krishnagiri to Thiruvannamalai are bad and takes up most of your travel time.
This place was the only decent hotel which was not full.

Pro's:
1. Good clean room and toilet with AC and TV
2. Friendly staff
3. Ajantha hotel next door from where you can order your food through the Bay View Hotel staff (serves non-veg) and food is good.

Con's:

1. No restaurant at the hotel, food ordered from Ajantha takes forever
2. Beer and other liquor sold at Bay View are priced 3 times more (a bottle of beer outside costs Rs.40 and at Bay View its Rs.120)
3. Next to the ocean, but its just a beach drive road, cannot get into the water, lot of locals might be unsafe for people to venture out for walk, however lot of people do walk on the beach road, maybe just the question of if you are ready to ignore a nudge or constant stare from a bunch of local guys.


Overall Feedback:

If you are planning to go to Pondi, Ideal place to go to would be St.James Court since it has a private beach, however James court runs full all the time (that's what the hotel staff claim) this is a better alternative, however always try to book one of the guest house in the french quarter/beach road which is cheaper and offer great view of the ocean from your room. Lotus Bay View is not bad just that there are lot of better places around.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A quaint little place by the beach. The location is the highlight & with a wonderful view from the balcony. Clean rooms with a friendly service. the biggest drawback was the lack of a restaurant which was accentuated due to needs of my little daughter. Overall good experience with a lot of good restaurants near by. Rendezvous was a gem of a restaurant where my wife & i had a superb lunch. priced just right with generous portions made our day.

The toilets were very clean with only complaint that "hot" water which was supposed to be available 24 hrs was not. Otherwise , for a value vacation, Lotus is the place to be. Our next visit would be to a more upscale Hidesign hotel for sure. Hopefully will travel there soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinaybasutkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days.
Overall Look of the Hotel and Cleanliness is too good.
Location is nice very close to beach and calm serene place
U ve Pizza hut and pubs very near by .
They don ve a restaurant, they get the complimentary breakfast from Anandhbhavan,
That's a boon u don t ve to struggle with 10 30 limit usually in other hoels and it is served in room with coffee or tea
Otherwise to order food there is a big loss, food is way too costly for the quality and Quantity they provide, they get it from the nearby hotel(Ajantha) and it takes alot of time to serve

They clean room daily and change the sheets and towels, rooms are clean and tidy, well lit
Don't succumb to the pictures given in their web, rooms are a bit smaller, when asked they said they(ones shown in web) re the rooms for 4 people
And Bay view from Balcony is not direct but side view , It is nice but not the best;like u can get there hotels with better views
Unlike the review here there is a fan and a refrigerator in the room, pretty good LCD tv but not with all channels we watch, yea hell alot of Tamil channels

Lobby staffs are quite good and polite and helpful.

Things I dint like

1.The room service guys re not so..Like beggars they ask, than asking they demand for the tips,even before u takeout the wallet
2.Toilet is too awful for the standards hotel maintain, it is ill planned. It is too small. And they don provide toiletries like paste etc
3. Hot water was not hot towards the evening I think they depend the solar stuff so maybe it gets over by evening
4. Food i already mentioned , Dont eat from there
5. Laundry was not great too,like we asked for ironing they said it can be returned by night 8 pm only and no ironing alone is available(though i dint understand the logic of it).

On my first day i was charged for the coffee with breakfast and i paid for same, 2nd day i was told it was complimentary.

A/c was good , and hardly made any noise, room was cool otherwise too.
We were offered an additional discount counting to the off season, it was worth staying except for the points i mentioned.

Room Tip: Go to the Highest available floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurAlmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 80 in Pondicherry
190 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel de Pondicherry
Hotel de Pondicherry
#60 of 80 in Pondicherry
106 reviews
0.7 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 80 in Pondicherry
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Richmond, Puducherry
The Richmond, Puducherry
#36 of 80 in Pondicherry
239 reviews
0.2 km away
Cours CHABROL
Cours CHABROL
#19 of 147 in Pondicherry
57 reviews
0.2 km away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#7 of 147 in Pondicherry
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Bay View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Bay View

Property: Lotus Bay View
Address: Rue Du Bazaar Saint Laurent Street | Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,423 - ₹ 4,011
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lotus Bay View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, TravelGuru, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lotus Bay View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing