We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lotus Bay View
Nearby Hotels
Le Dupleix(Pondicherry)
US$ 96
US$ 74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Promenade(Pondicherry)
US$ 85
US$ 69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
US$ 170
US$ 59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atithi(Pondicherry)
US$ 67
US$ 52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 66
US$ 55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Royal Park(Pondicherry)
US$ 49
US$ 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
US$ 70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Spray(Pondicherry)
US$ 75
US$ 62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RKN Beach Resort(Pondicherry)
US$ 81
US$ 68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Pondy(Pondicherry)
US$ 116
US$ 97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
29
55
39
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
55
39
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocky beachi strongly recommend this hotellocal languagelonger staybalcony roomvisit pondivalue for moneyroad sideamazing locationbasic amenitiesweekend tripwhite townclose proximityhotel is locatedstaff were courteousfrench colonyaurobindo ashram
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Lotus Bay View hotel is excellent hotel located on Beach Road.
Pros:
1. Good location
2. Excellent Service by staff
3. Good air conditioning in rooms
4. Lots of restaurants nearby


Cons:
1. Small Hotel
2. No restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanjeevK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Went on an weekend trip with a group of 8 people from Bangalore.
The roads leading to Pondi from Krishnagiri to Thiruvannamalai are bad and takes up most of your travel time.
This place was the only decent hotel which was not full.

Pro's:
1. Good clean room and toilet with AC and TV
2. Friendly staff
3. Ajantha hotel next door from where you can order your food through the Bay View Hotel staff (serves non-veg) and food is good.

Con's:

1. No restaurant at the hotel, food ordered from Ajantha takes forever
2. Beer and other liquor sold at Bay View are priced 3 times more (a bottle of beer outside costs Rs.40 and at Bay View its Rs.120)
3. Next to the ocean, but its just a beach drive road, cannot get into the water, lot of locals might be unsafe for people to venture out for walk, however lot of people do walk on the beach road, maybe just the question of if you are ready to ignore a nudge or constant stare from a bunch of local guys.


Overall Feedback:

If you are planning to go to Pondi, Ideal place to go to would be St.James Court since it has a private beach, however James court runs full all the time (that's what the hotel staff claim) this is a better alternative, however always try to book one of the guest house in the french quarter/beach road which is cheaper and offer great view of the ocean from your room. Lotus Bay View is not bad just that there are lot of better places around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

A quaint little place by the beach. The location is the highlight & with a wonderful view from the balcony. Clean rooms with a friendly service. the biggest drawback was the lack of a restaurant which was accentuated due to needs of my little daughter. Overall good experience with a lot of good restaurants near by. Rendezvous was a gem of a restaurant where my wife & i had a superb lunch. priced just right with generous portions made our day.

The toilets were very clean with only complaint that "hot" water which was supposed to be available 24 hrs was not. Otherwise , for a value vacation, Lotus is the place to be. Our next visit would be to a more upscale Hidesign hotel for sure. Hopefully will travel there soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinaybasutkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days.
Overall Look of the Hotel and Cleanliness is too good.
Location is nice very close to beach and calm serene place
U ve Pizza hut and pubs very near by .
They don ve a restaurant, they get the complimentary breakfast from Anandhbhavan,
That's a boon u don t ve to struggle with 10 30 limit usually in other hoels and it is served in room with coffee or tea
Otherwise to order food there is a big loss, food is way too costly for the quality and Quantity they provide, they get it from the nearby hotel(Ajantha) and it takes alot of time to serve

They clean room daily and change the sheets and towels, rooms are clean and tidy, well lit
Don't succumb to the pictures given in their web, rooms are a bit smaller, when asked they said they(ones shown in web) re the rooms for 4 people
And Bay view from Balcony is not direct but side view , It is nice but not the best;like u can get there hotels with better views
Unlike the review here there is a fan and a refrigerator in the room, pretty good LCD tv but not with all channels we watch, yea hell alot of Tamil channels

Lobby staffs are quite good and polite and helpful.

Things I dint like

1.The room service guys re not so..Like beggars they ask, than asking they demand for the tips,even before u takeout the wallet
2.Toilet is too awful for the standards hotel maintain, it is ill planned. It is too small. And they don provide toiletries like paste etc
3. Hot water was not hot towards the evening I think they depend the solar stuff so maybe it gets over by evening
4. Food i already mentioned , Dont eat from there
5. Laundry was not great too,like we asked for ironing they said it can be returned by night 8 pm only and no ironing alone is available(though i dint understand the logic of it).

On my first day i was charged for the coffee with breakfast and i paid for same, 2nd day i was told it was complimentary.

A/c was good , and hardly made any noise, room was cool otherwise too.
We were offered an additional discount counting to the off season, it was worth staying except for the points i mentioned.

Room Tip: Go to the Highest available floor
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OurAlmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed at the Lotus Bay View hotel near the beautiful promenade of Pondicherry. Since we were travelling on a rather tight budget, the hotel was actually a bit out of our price range. But since they were offering us a 30% discount, we decided to stretch our budget a little and took a non sea-facing room. It was a decision we did not regret.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and always smiling. We felt very welcome, and our luggage was also taken care of after we had checked out the next day.

The room itself had just one window that opened into an indoor shaft, so there was no view on offer. Also, there was no natural light coming into the room. Apart from that, it was clean and well maintained. The air-conditioning was good, and the television had a large variety of channels to surf.

I would stay at this hotel again, and would take a sea-facing room next time if I could afford it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoogieGoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews