We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in Pondicherry”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gratitude, a Heritage Home
Ranked #3 of 155 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We have just returned to the UK having spent 9 days in Pondicherry staying at Gratitude. It really is a very special place and the staff, Neetu, Virginia, Vijay and others could not have been more welcoming and helpful. A taxi had been arranged in advance to collect us from Chennai airport and during our stay we spent a couple of days touring.

Again, Vijay organised an air- conditioned taxi and driver for us. We were guided to the best places to visit and there were books on the coffee table giving local information. Neetu showed me the library at Gratutude which had a variety of books so there was plenty to read. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the beautiful courtyard full of plants and trees. There was a magnificent mango tree in the courtyard which wasn't very well when we arrived. The tree surgeon was up on a branch sorting it out. Health and safety eat your heart out!! On our second evening there was a concert performed by Nadeka, Gopika and their 7 year old son Keshava accompanying them on drum. Candles were lit and guests sat on cushions on the floor and chairs. It was a truly magical occasion.
People of all nationalities came and went during our stay and we chatted with ease to them all. It is that sort of place. The location is perfect; in the elegant French Quarter and 1 minutes walk to the sea. We really did have a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie1375075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Gratitude, a Heritage Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

My partner and I have travelled worldwide for years and Gratitude Heritage Home is certainly one of the best places we have stayed. We are both writers and were looking for a place to write while in Pondicherry January 2011. Literally by chance we came across Gratitude while strolling around the quiet French quarter. The place is newly restored, opened in December 2010, and we were most fortunate to spend almost three weeks there. It was pure bliss to write in our 1st floor room which was lovingly restored with colonial furniture, a four-poster bed, and a magnificent view of the villa’s lush courtyard and leafy mango tree. All bathrooms are Tamil-style with cold showers and hot water bucket baths. All rooms have fans and A/C, there is wifi, but no tv.

The owners put a great emphasis on Gratitude as a place of peace, quiet, and contemplation. It is a private residence along with being a guest house and has a distinct retreat-like feel to it. A traditional Indian breakfast of idlies, dosas or uppama is offered, and all guests eat together (a joy in itself, because we met very many interesting people). The spacious roof terrace makes it ideal for yoga practice and it is possible to book a massage as well. While we stayed there a couple of well-attended house concerts took place featuring traditional Indian chanting. The staff is very friendly and endeavors to create a homey atmosphere. We are absolutely sure to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonora Christi... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Very nicely maintained French heritage villa, thanks to Nivalink for booking us on this one, it was a very nice stay. The staff is very friendly, the owner lady Jyoti and her friend Verginia are a delight to talk to, they can get you engaged in lengthy conversation. Rest of the staff too are very pleasant and friendly. No issues during check-in or check-out. The place is neat, the room we got was quite spacious with interesting interiors. Breakfast was nice, and the best part i felt about this villa is the place. It just 2 mins walk from Beach road, still so silent and noise-free. A real treat for people looking out for a quiet and peaceful vacation in Pondicherry. We would definitely like to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank SophieTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti-and-Kakoli, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Anne marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyoti-and-Kakoli, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
510 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
496 reviews
0.7 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
516 reviews
0.1 km away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#23 of 82 in Pondicherry
501 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gratitude, a Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gratitude, a Heritage Home

Address: 52 Rue Romain Rolland Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: ₹ 2,500 - ₹ 4,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Gratitude’ is a home and a place of retreat in Pondicherry, India. It has been restored lovingly over a period of three years maintaining the authenticity of the architectural style and method of construction that was prevalent when this house was built. What gives ‘Gratitude’ its true essence is the quiet joy and peace that gives this home a healing atmosphere which is rare to find in the world outside without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing