We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A beautiful house and lovely experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gratitude, a Heritage Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gratitude, a Heritage Home
Ranked #2 of 136 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful house and lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

A beautiful house and a lovely experience on our first visit to Pondy. Perfectly located within the French Quaters and walk-able distance from the sea, the experience takes you to different era. Wish i could stay there longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Room No 5 (One with Indigo Flooring) and would love stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    36
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
71
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The roof and its sightseen will take you to the feel of an ancient house in Tuscany or in Sicily... walking barefoot on this warmely decorated stone floor, will give you a total feeling of connecting to the earth. I loved the atmosphere and the elegance of this old house. it reminds me of an ancient riad, with its stairs taking you all over... you will get surprised to discover the massage room....

wonderful the staff and its kindness. definitely not to miss it if you are going to Pondi...!
best G

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gabighidoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Arriving at Gratitude is truly like stepping into a haven of peace after the dust and noise of travel in india. The staff are gracious and welcoming, and it wasn't long before I knew I would make this place a base for my further exploration of Tamil Nadu. As a result, I was able to try various rooms. My favourite was Room 5 on the vernadah and more elderly friends enjoyed Room 2 which gives out onto the courtyard. We loved the pace of life and long leisurely breakfasts at the communal dining table. I should like to thank Vijay for all his help booking cars and helping plan our routes.
We particularly appreciated being able to leave our main luggage in a safe place whilst travelling cross-country for other discoveries. Big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: For elderly people the ground floor rooms are marvellous, especially rooms 2 & 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
302 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

For over US$150 per night, we had expected much better. The rooms are tiny and ones on the ground floor are dim with no sunlight or fresh air. Many house rules such as no smoking on the entire property. You have to walk bare feet. Very sticky about the only food they provide that is break fast. For all the hoop la, the break fast is a bit of a con. only cereals with some fruits and a south Indian vegetarian side dish. We were not graced even with a humble egg !!

There is no sea view from this property. So all in all over priced for dollar / Euro paying tourists who go gaga over a renovated old house. They also have a policy about allowing no children. Apartheid of an extreme kind.

Room Tip: only room numbers 6 & 7 are somewhat ok but then they charge a bomb for these 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roundtabler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gratitudeheritage, Owner at Gratitude, a Heritage Home, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
As the owner of 'GRATITUDE', I would like to respond to this review with gratitude because it has given me the opportunity to clarify to our visitors the purpose with which 'GRATITUDE' was opened to guests. I would also like to invite readers to visit the 'GRATITUDE' web site that clearly states house-guidelines as this is a Home Stay and not a hotel. It is meant to be a retreat for contemplation, writing and enjoying the experience of a restored heritage home. Our policy on children is also laid out as we do not wish to curtail the natural enthusiasm and energy of young children and do want to allow others a space to retreat to for a quiet sojourn. Occasionally guests do not review the house guidelines before making a choice and may not read the material kept in the room. We have therefore changed our policy to accept only online bookings with a confirmation that the guest has read the material and will know exactly what to expect.
A clarification on foot wear: we wish to preserve the sense of a heritage home where it is normal in India to leave footwear at the entrance. However for guests who are uncomfortable, we provide soft slippers in each room for indoor use.
Finally a word on restoration. this home has been restored by a well know NGO who is campaigning to preserve old buildings both privately owned and public buildings, with a view to preserving our heritage. We are actively involved in the larger preservation campaign and make no apology for putting a premium to a an honest attempt to bring back traditional craftsmanship in restoring with authentic methods and materials.
We do understand that every visitor has different expectations and while we are not a hotel, we make every attempt to make a guest feel very welcome in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Gratitude is a beautiful house. It has an unique charm and character. The communal breakfast table is a great place to meet and chat with other guests. It adds to the feeling that you are staying in a house and not some anonymous hotel. The staff were excellent and the rooms very comfortable and peaceful. I will be definately going back to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kulbir b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 73 in Pondicherry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#13 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#12 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gratitude, a Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gratitude, a Heritage Home

Property: Gratitude, a Heritage Home
Address: 52 Rue Romain Rolland Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,500 - ₹ 4,500
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Gratitude’ is a home and a place of retreat in Pondicherry, India. It has been restored lovingly over a period of three years maintaining the authenticity of the architectural style and method of construction that was prevalent when this house was built. What gives ‘Gratitude’ its true essence is the quiet joy and peace that gives this home a healing atmosphere which is rare to find in the world outside without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing