We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but beware...”
Review of Les Hibiscus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Hibiscus
Ranked #1 of 149 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming, but beware...”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I decided to splurge in Pondi and literally spent 3 times the amount that I usually would for a place. In turn I was hoping for some decent air conditioning, functioning wi-fi, a nice atmosphere and maybe a TV.

What Les Hibiscus does offer is good AC, clean, beautifully decorated rooms set in a charming French villa in the heart of Pondi's French Quarter with friendly staff and a lavish breakfast. The wi-fi however only works on the ground floor, my TV didn't work at all and when the electricity went out (at least once every night for ca. 30-60 mins) they wouldn't switch the generator on, which made the AC pretty pointless.

Furthermore, the owner's nephew who happened to be staying there the same time I was made a very drunken and inappropriate pass at me, which as a female solo traveller made me feel very unsafe here and I probably would never return for this reason.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank asomariani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bascarane, Owner at Les Hibiscus, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We would like to clear out some points of this review :
It is known that power cuts are frequent in summer, we do have a UPS battery (not a generator) for such times which starts automatically as soon as the power goes off. A fan and a light in every room is connected to it and can provide power from 5 to 6 hours maximum. Usually power cuts do not exceed more than a hour as we are in the French Quarters of the town. If the guest had any problem with finding the right switches, there is always a person to help out. We are sorry for the technical problem with the TV but once again had it been mentioned it would had been sorted out.
As mentioned in the earlier reviews, the owner and the staff are always ready to help out and provide the best for the comfort of the guest. We are always open to comments and suggestions.
The last comment on the safety of the guest is the most unexpected one. We always want our guests to feel at home and their safety is our priority. All our prior guests, specially solo ladies travelers have always thanked us for the homely reassuring atmosphere.
the guest had no qualms when she befriended our so called nephew during her stay and used him as a guide and driver. we cannot interfere in our guests personal life. If we were made aware of any misbehavior, we would have inquired and taken necessary action at once. But there were no complaints made what so ever during the stay.
Alcohol is prohibited in the premises of the guest house but unfortunately many bottles were found in the room and this without the knowledge of the owner and staff.
We find this lack of communication very disrupting and regretful, we sincerely hope that our guests in the future would not hesitate to communicate freely with us.
we thank our guests for their kind understanding.
Bascarane (owner).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    34
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
138
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I thought this was an absolutely lovely pleasant stay right in the heart of Pondicherry. Highly recommend it in fact. The rooms are spacious, the bed comfortable, the a/c working (properly, not aggressively, certainly not noisily), and the bath rooms are nicely decorated and well equipped. The owner/proprietor is very helpful as well. The hotel is located at walking distance of almost everything but then again, that is not very hard since Pondy is very small. It is right next door to FabIndia and a number of other nice shops. Lovely breakfasts as well. I have been to Pondicherry about six times and have always stayed in different places, not because they were not nice but because I felt like trying out something different (for a change). This place might be the first I will actually come back to because it is so picture perfect, certainly considering their rates which are quite competitive - just compare them to Villa Shanti, for instance. Of course the latter is more luxurious but you have to ask yourself what you get out of extra luxury for four to five thousand rupees more. Certainly not a swimming pool, fitness center or spa, which none of these places in downtown Pondicherry have. Long story short: this is an excellent place which comes with all the charm Pondy has by itself and added to that the comfort you are probably seeking for.

Room Tip: My room faced the street but Pondicherry is very quiet so it was not an issue at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Enjoyed a night here with all the charming colonial ambiance. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to stroll around the oceanfront.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

What a great little find in Pondy.
Friendly staff, fantastic continental breakfast and great location.
Would highly recommend to any travellers passing through this lovely little town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very nice cozy hotel (only 4 rooms) with colonial charm. Friendly owner.
Our room was very spacious and comfortable with very high ceiling.
There is a succulent breakfast with croissant and bread served on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 80 in Pondicherry
496 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
475 reviews
0.9 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 80 in Pondicherry
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 80 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 80 in Pondicherry
196 reviews
2.6 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 80 in Pondicherry
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Hibiscus

Property: Les Hibiscus
Address: Rue Suffren Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,500 - ₹ 2,500
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing