We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR STAY AT DUMAS GUEST HOUSE”
Review of Dumas Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumas Guest House
Ranked #11 of 151 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“OUR STAY AT DUMAS GUEST HOUSE”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

A pleasant,welcoming and very helpful owner- Bala. Very clean rooms with building set in a peaceful garden-very quiet at night and no intrusive television. We spent five nights here and would return.Breakfast is now served at a small extra charge.Ideally placed for exploring the French Quarter of Pondicherry. Endless hot water and snow white towels with a very efficient laundry service.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaCB935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    51
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
62
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I was given a magnificent chamber in a very old building, beautifully furnished with old and interesting pieces, and with two ceiling fans way above me. It was palatial! The bathroom was enormous and well appointed. The fridge so effective my beer froze!

The owners went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and were very friendly. The roof top area was underconstruction and I understand is now finished. As there was no other area in which to meet fellow guests, I hope the roof top area will encourage guest interaction.

Plenty of good places to ear nearby and the sea front promendae a handful of steps away.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The room was clean, the staff very friendly, and a great location. They were so accommodating we were allowed to wait at the guest house all day after we checked out until our bus left. Highly recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

All I could possibly ask for in A guest house in a town as lovely as Pondicherry.lovely rooms wonderfully furnished .Jacqui and Bala are a great team together really informative and actually care -
My only concern is that it is so good that when I want to stay there next time it may be fully booked

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timtysonshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

When our friend from Scotland came to Chennai on a visit, we thought that a couple of days in Pondicherry, in a hotel that was different from the usual, was a good idea. Choosing a "heritage” place to stay in Pondicherry is not as easy as it sounds. With so many families deciding to convert old houses in the “French” part of town into hotels or guest houses, there are so many of them across so many price points that choosing one becomes a hit or miss affair. Luckily for us, on our Net search we stumbled on Dumas Guest House. It’s located in the heart of town, a stone’s throw from the promenade and very near most places you want to go.

It’s a small place and the rooms, which kind of meander around the property, are simple but furnished with the essentials - air conditioning, fans, clean sheets, clean towels, clean bathrooms, hot water, very basic toileteries and good lighting. The wooden furniture adds to the charm. While the absence of TV helps you catch up on your reading, you are not totally cut off from the world as Wi-Fi is free and reasonably fast if you choose the right spot. A little open air place overlooking the hosts’ garden is a ideal for sitting around drinking coffee and chatting or reading – when it’s not raining! In this common area, they have a coffee maker going and you can help yourself any time. You need to buy drinking water.

That they do not serve food, not even breakfast, is not a problem as there are so many good places nearby. Bang opposite is the cafeteria in the Alliance Francais set in a nice lawn but with a limited menu, where you can sit in the open air and have coffee, juices and snacks. We got ourselves two nice continental dinners at reasonable prices – one at Le Club, which is right next door to Dumas, and another at the Hotel d Orient, a ten minute walk away. Breakfast at Baker Street was also enjoyable and there are South Indian vegetarian options at places like Surguru.

At the very reasonably price one cannot expect luxury (it’s a guest house, not a hotel) but the warm and friendly owners Jaqui and Bala made us feel very welcome. They were ready with all the information and help we needed and make a big difference to the quality of our stay.
Will we go back –Yes !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesuthasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
503 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
487 reviews
0.2 km away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 82 in Pondicherry
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,116 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
202 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 82 in Pondicherry
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumas Guest House

Property: Dumas Guest House
Address: No 36 Dumas Guest House Rue Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,828
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing