We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet place”
Review of Dumas Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumas Guest House
Ranked #10 of 164 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Dumas guest house is absolutely lovely. The place is quiet and serene. The staff was unbelievably helpful, and the owners Bala and his lovely wife were very hospitable. I got sick during my stay and they were exceptionally helpful. The guest house is very close to the beach and conveniently located in the beautiful French Quarter. There is no TV in the rooms, which is actually good because you can catch up on sleep and travel, and actually enjoy Pondy!

We recommend this place over and over again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msmeowrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

From the moment you arrive at Dumas Guest House you begin to feel relaxed.
The owner, Bala, possesses the old world charm which compliments this lovely property.
Antique furniture in the rooms and a pretty little courtyard garden, this place is a peaceful haven. We will definitely be back. Highly recommended.
Eat at 'Le Club', almost next door; a great atmosphere and good variety of food.




























From the moment you arrive at Dumas Guest House you begin to feel relaxed.
The owner, Bala, possesses the old world charm which compliments this lovely property.
Antique furniture in the rooms and a pretty little courtyard garden, this place is a peaceful haven. Highly recommended.
Eat at 'The Club', almost next door; a great atmosphere and good variety of food.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Pirkko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Been to Dumas guest house twice now. Once in dec 2008 with my husband and then in June 2010 with family and friends, and I'm very sure that whenever i visit Pondy in the future Dumas guest house is going to be the only place I stay at. Firstly coz of its welcoming and extremely helpful & friendly owners Jackie & Bala (who answered every one of my never ending questions), and their lovely staff. The rooms are cozy and very well kept. The place has a lovely atmosphere and you can truly relax and have a lovely cup of coffee or tea on the terrace while reading a book. The proximity to the promenade, market & restaurants is awesome. Not to mention the very reasonable rates. We thouroughly enjoyed both our trips, and cant wait to go back..

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

If you are looking to spend some time away from the city buzz, Pondicherry is the right place and Dumas Guest house provides you the perfect ambience. Closely located to the beach in the French locality, you cannot ask for a better place to relax. The rooms are spacious and well maintained with AC and refrigerator. There is no Television ( a welcome change) in the room. The owner of the place, Bala, is very helpful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunishp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We all loved it and we will definitely be back as soon as we can .

Everything is just perfect at the Dumas Guest House : wonderful place , wonderful and welcoming hosts. The rooms are neatly decorated. The guest house is very well located and anything you need to know about Pondicherry and its surroundings , just ask Bala and Jackie for the info and they will provide it for you !
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 83 in Pondicherry
534 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#25 of 83 in Pondicherry
416 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 83 in Pondicherry
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
2.8 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 83 in Pondicherry
632 reviews
1.7 km away
Anantha Heritage Hotel
Anantha Heritage Hotel
#12 of 83 in Pondicherry
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumas Guest House

Address: No 36 Dumas Guest House Rue Dumas Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range: ₹ 2,820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing