We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not bad to stay for a night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Neem Tree

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Neem Tree
Ranked #65 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not bad to stay for a night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Though we had options to stay at many other good places in Pondicherry, we chose this place as we dined out at their restaurant and we really enjoyed their Mexican dishes. I wouldn't call their Mexican cuisine was authentic but it tasted Mexican! We liked the hospitality and the ambiance of the restaurant. looking at the usage of bamboo with lot of other traditional things, we ended up deciding to stay at the neem tree for a night.

It was the peak of summer when we visited Pondicherry and different varieties of mango trees with huge bunches of raw mangoes are all over the neem tree. We did pick a few really fresh mangoes out of the tree. Coarsely diced, with sea salt and black pepper was the best thing we ate at the neem tree. Raw mangoes were unbelievably sweet with a hint of sourness and trust me it was better than the Mexican dishes at the neem tree.

This place needs a makeover and definitely requires few extra people to run the show. Really simple, old style rooms with good old bulky television sets was not bad but I reckon that this place is good only for a night. Ironically, the interiors and ambiance compared to that of the restaurant is super poor. There is moisture on the walls because of leakages from the air conditioner. Well, we were exhausted with all the walking we did in the day and just dozed off and checked into a different place the next day.

The restaurant a big yes and the hotel a big fat no!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank renachaluvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

It was my 5th trip to Pondicherry with my family and for our bad luck we had booked this place called Neem Tree.
On arrival at the place (Friday Oct 7th) we started realizing the bad state of the place.
The only prompt service, we received was to make us pay the balance amount before we get to realize how bad the place is. And we did that blunder :-(

The room given to us was shabby, the room was full of lizards and insects.
Bathroom was stinking and was not clean
There was a restaurant but No food !!
There is only one guy to take care of all the "guests".
Though Breakfast was included in the package, there was not even a cup of tea available.
The guy at the restaurant was excaliming " No dough for making dosa"
We had to a nearby tea shop for our breakfast.
The lady who runs this place didn't give any damn when I tried to reach out her multiple times.
Though we had planned to stay for 2 nights, we packed up after the horrible experience of one night's stay.

I am still trying to reach the lady to record a complaint, all in vain.

Stay away from this property.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giju G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We reached The Neem Tree hotel at 9.45PM after a 7 hour drive, only to hear "Sorry sir, the restaurant's closed. We close down at 9:30PM". "STARVE" is what ran through my mind! The town was a couple of miles away and was not worth venturing out again in the sweltering night heat of Pondicherry.
There was just ONE guy - the Receptionist, the Waiter, The House Keeping Guy and the Travel assistant! Amazing little multitasking guy. No car parking inside too. So just park outside and hope that the heat doesn't melt away your car!
The Room: Major leakage in the wall. Right next to the electricals. Besides, the wall adjacent to the next room was made up of Cement sheet. So the 'Whatever' the romp was going on in the next room, it kept us awake till midnight till the party next door settled down.
Oh, there is a HUGE gap in the door, from where anyone can slip in a camera and tape you while you 'hang in there'. Skip this place! Pictures attached!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gautzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

I and two other friends wanted to crash at Pondicherry (now known as Puducherry) for the weekend. We had made out hotel reservations through makemytrip.com at Hotel Coramandal, however, as the hotel later was found to be 100% occupied, they put up at a hotel called THE NEEM TREE. It approximately 4 kms north of the French colony and if you are driving down, there is a pretty good chance of missing it. Reached there by 1 pm and was made to wait for 15 minutes as the room was being cleaned. The furniture and décor really gave the place a rustic look and this was one of the good things (not the best things) I could say about the hotel. The rooms were spacious enough, however that charm was negated by a pot load of dead insects in the room. I don’t have any views on the restaurant as it was a pure veg place and I am hardcore non-veggie. The hotel requires a huge overhaul in terms of maintenance as paint from the walls and ceiling were coming off and this made you wonder whether they were providing a shelter to some refugees. The hotel staff was courteous enough to provide most things requested with a smile. On a scale of one to ten, I would rate THE NEEM TREE at 4.5 as its place to crash in the evening for weekend travellers for age group of 20 to 40; anyone senior that, will probably detest this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomtharakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I stayed at The Neem Tree with my girlfriends and we had a wonderful time. The staff were absolutely wonderful and helpful even calling us an auto in the night when we wanted to go into Pondicherry for dinner. The rooms are simple and if you are looking for a fancy bed and first class facilities, this is not the place for you. There is a wonderful and quiet beach just a kilometer away from The Neem tree which we loved. The lanterns and paintings really add to Neem Tree's charm. For people who love quaint places, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninac_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
12.1 km away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#45 of 72 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
11.0 km away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#14 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
3.9 km away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#12 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
7.2 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#31 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neem Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neem Tree

Property: The Neem Tree
Address: No.6E,East Coast Road, | Kottakuppam, Pondicherry 605104, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,700 - ₹ 3,500
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful East Coast Road, as you drive into Pondicherry, you will find a cozy little abode by the highway. It will welcome you into its shady little grove, and mesmerize your mind with its warm and gentle environs. You will find peace, beauty and tranquility under the inviting shade of The Neem Tree.This beautiful hotel in Pondicherry retains an old world charm, and yet provides every modern amenity for a comfortable stay. One that you will not stop talking about till you visit us again! So drive down the ECR, and stumble upon The Neem Tree. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing