We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Biggest Mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soorya Beach Resort
Ranked #101 of 147 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My Biggest Mistake”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Will recommend a home-stay at some chawl in any of the slums in Pondy and you will find the experience better than this resort.

Pros
1) Close to the beach - Not like what they say in the site, there is a small lane beside the resort which will take you to the beach.
2) Availability of a massage centre - So called ayurvedic, where ladies offer massages to gents.  really a pro if you are travelling as a bachelor and a con, if u are with your family!

Cons - Plenty, listing a few
1) Highly rude staff - A few goons and dressed in a way not to hide the same, is handling the reception. They dictate and you obey.
2) Customer service - We paid in advance for 2 AC double rooms, only to find that AC in one room is not working. The goon at the reception kept promising us a repairman till 9 pm, to find excuse himself out. We had no other option but to put extra bed in the room which had AC, and instead of returning the charges of the unused room (with a non-working AC - entirely their fault), we were charged Rs. 500 extra for the extra bed. They says the resort doesnt have a policy of refund, even if it is their AC which is not running.
3) Ridiculous rooms - That was the worst part. They had showed us the only good room available in the entire resort, before booking and what we had recieved after booking was extremely in contrast. It was in the ground floor, next to the ever-running highly poluting and extremely noisy Generator. Further the room didnt have any windows, depending only on the split ac for any kind of air circulation. The curtains were older than me and kept peeling of in parts, and also was a habitat of a wide variety of insects. The western toilet was not fixed properly and if you were not an gymnast or an acrobat, better dont try balancing the same under your legs.
4) Even more ridiculous facilities - They offer you swimming pool, roof top restaurant, Television in rooms, room-service, Ayurvedic Massage etc, etc.
Swimming pool- It is kind of an aquarium, with various varieties of worms and insects breeding in the same. The staff blames it on “Thane”, a recent cyclone which happened a couple of months before at Pondy, but they still misses the point that the same could be cleaned in a couple of hours.
Roof Top Restaurant – Not available unless you are a large crowd of over 20 people, occupying the same together. After seeing the hygiene of the place, we didn’t want to even look at the kitchen. So didn’t try anything there.
Television in Rooms – Got a TV and Airtel connection placed, but apart from the free channels, nothing else is available in the same.
Room Service – We got nothing, but a bill for a tea ordered at 6 am, till the time we had signed out of the resort, ie. at around 11 am. And we had to fight our tooth and nail to cancel the bill.
Ayurvedic Massage – didn’t try by the looks of it, check it out yourself.

Finally, the resort will blame everything on “Thane” hurricane and you will end up paying for everything. Highly recommended if you are booking the same for people on whom you have a high reason to take revenge, like your boss, in-laws, etc etc….  Unless the above mentioned reasons, avoidable at all cost….

Room Tip: Try negotiating to below Rs. 1000 levels, but doubtful with the goons placed at the reception. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    19
    15
    52
See reviews for
38
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We wer a group of around 18 people.Frankly speaking, after reading the reviews did not expect a lot from this place.But our experience turned out to be AMAZING.The people there were extremely co-operative with us and the arrangements made were brilliant.The pool was super clean had we had a lot of fun.The rooms are really spacious and comfortable.Overall it was a pleasant experience for all of us.Would specially like to thank Mr.Jai for his co-operation with us.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manish2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This was prolly the worst management i've ever seen. Most of the information provided by the Soory Beach resort website is false. Never go by it. We made a booking and due to some reason could not make it . Inspite of informing the resort management about the cancellation, they refused to give back the money. Even after reaching to the resort they gave some false reasons and did not return the booking amount. Moreover the management faculty is very rude and ill mannered. Request you all to never make a mistake of going to this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinuthanaikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vijayPondicherry, Owner at Soorya Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Sir thanks for posting your problem but we have objection for the same. We in this hospitality industry are exposed to public and we need our clients for long term business. So no management will loose their client by wrong dealings.
Whatever information’s provided by the Soorya Beach resort website is true. You have made a booking and due to some reason u could not make it. Informing the resort management about the cancellation on date or after date, will create financial loss. Moreover an institution will have cancellations policies and they go by it.
So on or after date cancellation of bookings will not fetch any sum as refund as we block the room for ur sake and if cancelled financial loss will be incurred. Value of money is equal for all.
During booking through online cancellation policy are mentioned very clearly. So it your grave mistake to make cancellation on date. So for your personal problem of delay communication, there is no reasonability to request other through social network or Medias to advise “never make a mistake of going to this place".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

this place is not worth its money at all in the picture of their web site they will show u excellent see side rooms but they don't have even one room sea side sea is about 500 meters away from the hotel and its a public beach which is dirty....the rooms are ok but the complimentary breakfast that they offer there is horrible its as if it has been prepared a day before and its not hygienic, i say its for animals to eat and not humans,

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csk227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
racs31@gmail.com
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This cannot be considered as a beach resort. It is located at a walking distance to the beach facing opposite side to the beach. The adjoining beach stinks like hell with smell of fishes. Rooms are not clean and even though they have provided DTH in every room but they have not subscribed to channels. Only 7-8 channels to watch from. Room service is pathetic. They serviced uncooked phulkas which they changed after an hour. Only the complementary breakfast was good which gives you a chance to use your money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pondicherry
15.4 km away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#43 of 80 in Pondicherry
39 reviews
6.1 km away
The Ashok Beach Resort
The Ashok Beach Resort
#2 of 2 in Kalapettai
153 reviews
14.0 km away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Prince Park Farm House
Prince Park Farm House
#27 of 111 in Pondicherry
128 reviews
5.6 km away
St. James Court Beach Resort
6.1 km away
Beach Bubbles Hotel
Beach Bubbles Hotel
#68 of 147 in Pondicherry
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soorya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soorya Beach Resort

Property: Soorya Beach Resort
Address: Main Road, Near Auroville - Pondicherry | Bommaiyar Palayam, near Auroville, Pondicherry 605104, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,548 - ₹ 11,997
Hotel Class:3 star — Soorya Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soorya Beach Resort is ideally situated on a secluded white sand beach at Bommaiyar Palayam (near city of dawn Autroville). Secluded but not isolated. That's the beauty of staying at Soorya Beach Resorts. You privacy is kept sacred, but it doesn't isolate you from the world. The Resort has tastefully set & well maintained rooms and eco friendly cottages, garden facing rooms, sea facing rooms, family suite, premium suite with have a fabulous private balcony overlooking the sandy beach and the sea. Soorya Beach Resort is an ideal venue for a most pleasant holidaying place at Pondicherry providing affordable luxury. The resort has all modern facilities in the accommodation, separate garden restaurant, a roof top restaurant, a health spa centre and a well equipped gym. The hotel also boasts a full range of audiovisual equipment a fully trained, professional and caring staff, so that every need related to its guest stay is anticipated and taken care of in a timely manner.Look at the modern facilities listed below that one can enjoy: DTH Satellite TVs In All Rooms, WI-FI totally free of charge, In - House Laundry & Direct Dial Facilities , 24 Hours Running Hot 'N' Cold Water, Safe Deposit Lockers, Browsing Centre, WI - FI Access In All Rooms, Multi-Cuisine Garden Restaurant, Multi Cuisine Roof Top Restaurant, Room Service , Coffee Shop, Conference Hall & Board Rooms, Theme Parties As On Request , Sea Boating , All major Credit Cards accepted, Discotheque On Request For Parties , Spacious Car Parking, Currency Exchange , Volley Ball & Badminton Courts, Children's Park And Pay Accessories , Birds Collection For Recreation And Natural Fish Pond, Sight Seeing & Travel Assistance, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Soorya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing