We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay place”
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2017

You step in Maison Perumal and it would take you back to the old world. You will remain charmed during your stay here. Food is fantastic and the curries are just fantabulous. Not far from beaches and the tourist spots, you can walk or hire a two-wheeler from the rental agency next door.

Staff are helpful and warm and go all the way in extending hospitality.

Its a must stay hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjayNarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Greetings From Maison Perumal - a cgh earth experice

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the review on maison Perumal, I am delighted to know that you had a memorable food experience in our Heritage House. Your valuable feedback on our food ,staff and the property is highly appreciated and looking forward to see you next time.

Warm Regards,
Sam John/ Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Single night stay in this hotel which is an excellent choice for Pondicherry. Rooms are spacious and have the old world charm to them. This place is within easy reach of major monuments but we used the cycle rickshaw service to visit these places which is next best thing to exploring the place on foot.Learnt a thing or two during culinary demonstration. Food was excellent too. You would feel at home just like we did.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KalyanKantam1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Greetings From Maison Perumal - a cgh earth experience

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the experience of being at our Heritage house. Your valuable feedback on our food, architecture & engaging experience is highly appreciated.

Once again thanks for being with us and hoping you will return again for a flawless and relaxing stay .


Best regards,
Sam John | Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My wife and I chose to stay here for a weekend in July 2017 and completely enjoyed our time there.The hotel is a large, beautifully restored, 130-year old home. Perfect blend of classic Tamil Nadu architecture and completely modern facilities. The hotel is a visual treat and the staff provided wonderful service. They allowed us to check-in early and check-out late, which was very helpful. Centrally located, so once we drove in, we could just walk everywhere and didn't need the car at all.

The rooms are tastefully appointed, but if you want to relax in the room, the TV has NO English entertainment channels, so carry your own entertainment or a book. The beautiful restaurant also had only traditional Tamil Nadu cuisine, so for me that was a bit of a let-down. Also, there is only limited street parking.

Notwithstanding the TV channels selection (considering the tariff of the room) and limited food options, the hotel is fantastic and I highly recommend it. A 4.5-Star rating would be my rating.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quietest. Call the hotel when you're nearby, to clear parking for you on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sreenag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Greetings From Maison Perumal -a cgh earth experience
Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write about Maison Perumal. It has been our privilege to have you with us and I am glad that you had a good time in our Heritage boutique Hotel.
We value your patronage and shall defenetly look in to the points you have mentioned and look forward to welcoming you back to Maison Perumal soon.

Warm Regards,
Sam John/Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Staying in this hotel was a great choice. The building itself is an old structure from colonial times- Pondicherry was at one time a French and also a British colony. But the building is well-maintained with a patio in the middle, and the rooms (it has maybe a dozen rooms) around the patio spread over two floors. The ground floor, what we'd call first floor in the US, has the lobby, restaurant, bar, etc. The rooms are on the second and third floors- referred as first and second floors there. Rooms are ample, especially for a small hotel, and have a decent-size bathroom.
I ate lunch there a couple of times and in both instances the food was excellent
The hotel is situated close to the center of town (is there a center?), but also a short 15 minute walk to the beach.
I can see why Pondicherry is an attractive vacation spot. And Maison Perumal makes it better.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Greetings From Maison Perumal -a cgh earth experience
Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write about Maison Perumal. It has been our privilege to have you with us and I am glad that you had a wonderful stay,and were thoroughly impressed with the Heritage building,room, architcture ,and more over the food in our Heritage boutique Hotel.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Maison Perumal soon.

Warm Regards,
Sam John/Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We stayed here for two nights and came back just today! Sam John, the Manager, welcomed us with a warm smile. He is always available to address every question or issue a guest might have. It was a pleasure to meet him. This is a relatively small property with 10 rooms, which enables the staff to pay more attention to detail than a typical, large hotel. Towards this end, Jason deserves special mention. He checked us in seamlessly and helped us with everything we asked and wanted to make our stay delightful. Rooms are of different sizes but are clean and stocked with all the amenities that a good starred property would have. Their welcome drink (ginger lime) is wonderfully refreshing and their food is delicious. We tried local cuisine which was nicely plated and fresh. Located in the Tamil quarter and a short walk away from the French Quarter and other interesting places.

Room Tip: Corner rooms (eg. No. 9) are bigger. No. 8 is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mihirind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Maison Perumal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Greetings From Maison Perumal -a cgh earth experience,
Dear Guest ,
Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write about Maison Perumal. It has been our privilege to have you with us and I am glad that you had a wonderful stay,and impressed with the staff service, room, and more over the food in our Heritage boutique Hotel.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Maison Perumal soon.

Warm Regards,
Sam John/Manager
9488009576

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.4 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
558 reviews
0.9 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,211 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 85 in Pondicherry
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 85 in Pondicherry
539 reviews
0.3 km away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
1.4 km away
Hotel de l'Orient
Hotel de l'Orient
#29 of 85 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Address: No 44 Old No 58 | Perumal Koil Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: ₹ 8,490 - ₹ 13,545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamil Quarter of Pondicherry is a place where cultures not only met, but melted. And gave birth to a way of life found nowhere else in the world. Maison Perumal is our tribute to that way of life. A sepia serigraph of another time - dusted off perhaps, but not retouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Yatra, Agoda, ClearTrip, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing