We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Pondicherry surprise”
Review of Maison Perumal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maison Perumal
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex U K
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a Pondicherry surprise”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We were there at Pongol, lovely to be right in the "Indian" quarters,the staff were lovely, the ambience great, comfortable rooms, food exceptional and a bottle of very drinkable Grover red wine. one night wasn't enough!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    112
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
79
167
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Initially concerned that his hotel sits on the Tamil side of town rather than the French side where all the other hotels are I came to LOVE Maison Perumal and it's non touristy location. A wonderfully stylish boutique hotel I couldn't recommend it higher. The rooms are beautifully designed, the food is delicious and the staff are delightful. Run like a family you can tell everyone enjoys working there and this spills out over the guests. It's a home from home and the really special thing about this place is the manager Dinu...nowhere could you find a more charming man who will go out of his way to welcome you, advice you and make sure you have a wonderful stay in lovely Pondicherry. My favourite place I stayed in the whole of South India...big thumbs up.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms back on to a street and can be a bit noisy....top floor around the courtyard recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashpacker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Maison Perumal, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Lovely and extremely encouraging to read your feedback on Maison Perumal. I thank you also on behalf of Dinu.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

A boutique hotel, only 10 rooms, full of charm. Staff is attentive and friendly. Food was fantastic, a nice change from buffet meals at large hotels. The chef shops daily for fresh food (being right on the coast, seafood is wonderful) and prepares meals from the local products. This hotel was a highlight of our trip through Southern India and a real find!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravel032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Wonderfully restored and renovated house just off the French Quarter. The beauty of the house, the large elegant room with high ceilings, the excellent kitchen, and the welcoming and very friendly staff made our stay here unforgettable. The house is well situated so you can easily explore by foot Pondicherry, its French and Tamil Quarter, and later come back to a quiet oasis and an excellent, elegant meal.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Coconut Lagoon some years back and we can never forget the moments spent with the beauty of the place and also the warmth and staff.We looked forward to the same experience when we booked our holiday this time at Pondi and we were not disappointed with Perumal Maison...when we walked in we were welcomed by Dinu and Elby and we just knew that we would be taken care of as both of them were there in Coconut Lagoon when we holidayed there..same feeling of being with a family, loved and needs taken care we experienced..when we left we knew we wouldn't be able to forget this holiday and looked forward to another cghearth experience...on a lighter note can we have Dinu and Elby where we go next :)

Room Tip: If u want a place in the heart of the Pondi within walking distance from all the sightseeing places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummieSagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.4 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
503 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
490 reviews
0.9 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
3.5 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
601 reviews
6.7 km away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perumal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perumal

Property: Maison Perumal
Address: No 44 Old No 58 | Tamil Quarter, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,489 - ₹ 10,666
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perumal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Maison Perumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing