We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite good hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
ambala cantt
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“quite good hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

it is a good hotel.They have lifts&the rooms are goodbut the only thing that i dont like that they are not having a resturant.there was very homely atmosphere.The ambience of the hotel is very good,location of the hotel in good it is a sea facing hotel the view of sunrise&sunset are mamorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEVANSH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBayoud, Owner at Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Hello Devansh,

Your review is greatly appreciated! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Pondi and hope you choose to stay with us again. Apologies, we used to offer full restaurant services but found that the crowd associated with the restaurant was too disrupting to the guests. Please let us know if you return, we will be happy to help you find great dining options nearby.

Best wishes,

Villa Bayoud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    50
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
46
51
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

A beautiful building, refurbished to a high standard with well meaning and friendly staff (with limited English, French and Hindi), but no management. Total chaos including building work with loud hammering in progress, a wailing lift, no water in the shower and a very partial seaview. Towels not pleasant. Breakfast was a greasy omelette and Nescafe and guests were shouting at the staff as chaos reigned. The Hotel de l'Orient would be a model to follow here (eggs,bread, butter, jam and coffee/tea of the highest quality) if not the buffet of the Promenade. At these prices, this is not acceptable. Worth seeing if things have improved and there is proper management.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baribegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBayoud, Owner at Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
We appreciate your feedback as we are always working to improve the experience of our guests. I am very sorry to hear of the noise disruption during your visit. Our hotel was undergoing some minor repair at this time which was compounded city workers making upgrades to the promenade. We are happy to report that all of these projects are complete and will not disturb your stay if you choose to visit us again.

Best wishes,
Villa Bayoud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Although Villa Bayoud is a new hotel, it has an old world charm that makes it irresistible. And the fact that it's located right by the sea as well as the Ashram, shopping and restaurants, makes it an even more attractive place to stay at when one is in Pondicherry. I wanted to take pictures of the sunrise and I could do that without making any effort or even without having to change out of my pajamas! The rooms that we had were sea facing, were large with high ceilings, a very modern bathroom and adequate air-conditioning to help with the muggy weather. The restaurant was in the process of being renovated so we used the dining hall for breakfast, which was inclusive of the room. They have a functional but not extensive kitchen and provided us with toast, eggs, sausages, cereal etc. South Indian breakfasts can be provided if required but the food comes from outside. The staff is very warm and friendly and although they don't seem to have a hospitality background, they try really hard to please. They even washed our car for us! Overall my friends and I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back whenever we are in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We decided to pack our bags to Pondicherry coz we heard a lot about it. Though the caption of Pondicherry is 'give time a break', we wanted to scream 'give us a break'.
Except for the wonderful stay at this boutique villa, there is nothing much that we carry back in terms of memories from Pondicherry.

The view from the sea facing rooms of this villa is amazing. The cost was around INR 3000/- per night, breakfast included, which was a value for money. The rooms are well kept, it has vintage look, the furniture, the ambiance makes you feel connected with the something deep in the blue sea.

The service was excellent and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend a stay here if you got the sea facing rooms. This is just next to the sea and close to other sight seeing places. I would prefer this hotel to any other hotels that are 5 -10 minutes away from the sea. Most of the other hotels say they are sea-facing, but they only con people.

One must definitely stay here if they get a sea facing room. The other rooms are also a better choice compared to living in the downtown hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadath1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Thank you to Villa Bayoud and your owners for my experience here.
My Experience:
I was travelling to India for the first time from California with a few family members from other parts of the US. We were a group of 5 adults.
There is no other hotel I will stay at in that area now that I know of Villa Bayoud!
I hope you find this and share with your friends.
The prices were more than reasonable.
The experience of the location, comfort and charms of the rooms, delicious modern food choice and outdoor relaxation areas are unparalled.
The state of the building is brand new and beautiful because it has been carefully and perfectly rebuilt and refinished thru the inside of the building. The walls are freshly painted. The lighting from many original fixtures cast an elegance that you can't see in the photos. The fixtures in the bath have been hand selected and built to add a luxurious ultra clean environment. The room furnishings have been hand selected and are unique in each room to reflect traditional heritage and individual style giving each room a rich personality that envelops you with charm the minute you enter. 4 poster beds, matching silk drapes, ornate antique tables and tasteful art adorn each unique room.
The restraunt has brand new state of the art kitchen and makes modern gourmet dishes from appetizers to deserts.
My favorite was in the evening enjoying the terrace and hearing the waves crash while relaxing and cooling down from a warm day of shopping around Pondi.
Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chekspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.6 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#28 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.5 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
15.2 km away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel

Property: Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel
Address: No 5 Rue Saint Martin, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,390 - ₹ 4,694
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Villa Bayoud Sea View Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing