We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jolie guesthouse avec un accueil charmant”
Review of Swades Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swades Guest House
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Very friendly guesthouse, in a good location to visit Pondicherry and surroundings. It is composed by 5 rooms (4 doubles and one single) and two covered terraces, that are excellent to chill out with friends or other just met travellers. I have been there for 3 weeks (2 alone and 1 in couple) and it has been a very pleasant staying, I felt as I was at home. The owners are very welcoming and they can give you a lot of useful information about where to go, what to see, how to move in Tamil Nadu. The rooms are simple, but very nice decorated and clean. They all have a window (not at all assumed in Pondicherry's guesthouses...), a fan and in some of them, paying a surcharge, there is also a/c. There are always a lot of travellers coming and going and you will never be alone, I reccomend it also for women travelling alone.

Room Tip: Both the rooms with a/c are perfect, but they are more expensive. If you want to a cheaper, airy (ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicetq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

I adore this guesthouse...ilyas and Arifa made me feel at so at home. They are really helpful and have great tips and addresses. I stayed two nights in a lovely room (number 1), then left to go to Auroville...but didn't like it and went back to Swades for 2 more nights. The guesthouse is really pretty and colorful and very clean. It was my favorite guesthouse along with Ganpati in Varanasi during my 2 month stay in India. Hope to go back one day. Merci Ilyas et Arifa!

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank rosainparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the place right across the street from Swades because Swades itself was booked. Thus the four stars, ... staying at Swades probably would have warranted 5. Ilyas and Arifa are a lovely and helpful couple. Ilyas is an amazing and fascinating fellow and conversations with him make the stay extra worthwhile. It is really the reason to stay in a guesthouse versus a "nameless" hotel. We also fell in love with that little Muslim neighborhood, which has a special charm. Ilyas was also great in organizing a few local trips for us.... Please be aware that Ilyas is flexible and always figuring out ways to get someone a room even if he has nothing at Swades. So, being loose and flexible will make your stay enjoyable. His new place out nearer to the port is beautifully done, though it is located in what will be a strange spot (behind the port) for many. If you like India in all its "Indianess" then it will be fine for you. You probably need a scooter or something to get around (and driving a scooter or motorbike in India is not for everyone).
But to reiterate, Ilyas and Arifa are great, the place(s) are totally charming, and the whole experience was something wonderful for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganmeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The only problem I have with this place is the over friendly owner who winks at women and is a sleeze ball. Though he is harmless I wont recommend it for women who are travelling alone.

The rooms are ok - multicoloured, so are the glasses on the windows. I had an average experience.

HIghlight is free wifi.

Must stay if there is no other suitable option in the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UmaSubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent 4 nights at Swades Guest House (a friend of mine and me). Family house in the moslem area, close to the "Ville blanche" and the sea.
We had a great stay. Too short!
Ilyas is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and confortable with colorful and warm decoration and a touch of "you are at home" (but small, except the top room).
There is a small kitchen, and a large table on the terrace. Perfect to meet other travelers and to share a meal with them.
Of course, I recommend Swades and if I go back to Pondicherry, I stay there for sure,
Christina

Room Tip: The top room, the best. Large, fresh, lot of charm and welcoming. With a terrace! Everything you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Krista03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.7 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
517 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
508 reviews
1.6 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,143 reviews
0.1 km away
La Maison Radha
La Maison Radha
#2 of 160 in Pondicherry
164 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
Hotel Coramandal Heritage
#6 of 160 in Pondicherry
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swades Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swades Guest House

Address: Swades Guest House Thippu Sahib Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Pondicherry
Price Range: ₹ 800 - ₹ 1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Guest House located in a residential area, near to seashore and all restaurants and shops.We only have 5 rooms with attached bathroom, 2 rooftops, easychairs...We provide breakfast. Free WIFI connection. Taxi arrangements for Gingee-Tiruvanamalai, Mamallapuram, Cholas tempes road, Tanjore, Tranquebar, Chettinad, and tour around Kerala.We also arrange massage and whatever you need.Ilyas and Arifa ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing