We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience for Foreigners but not sure if single Indian women will enjoy it :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Swades Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swades Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A unique experience for Foreigners but not sure if single Indian women will enjoy it :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The only problem I have with this place is the over friendly owner who winks at women and is a sleeze ball. Though he is harmless I wont recommend it for women who are travelling alone.

The rooms are ok - multicoloured, so are the glasses on the windows. I had an average experience.

HIghlight is free wifi.

Must stay if there is no other suitable option in the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UmaSubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    56
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
42
104
105
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We spent 4 nights at Swades Guest House (a friend of mine and me). Family house in the moslem area, close to the "Ville blanche" and the sea.
We had a great stay. Too short!
Ilyas is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and confortable with colorful and warm decoration and a touch of "you are at home" (but small, except the top room).
There is a small kitchen, and a large table on the terrace. Perfect to meet other travelers and to share a meal with them.
Of course, I recommend Swades and if I go back to Pondicherry, I stay there for sure,
Christina

Room Tip: The top room, the best. Large, fresh, lot of charm and welcoming. With a terrace! Everything you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Krista03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

It's the first time I have stayed in a guest house and I really enjoyed it since they made you feel at home and the rooms were nice and clean. There was also the advantage of having a kitchen so you could make a coffee whenever you wanted and prepare a meal out if you didnt want to eat out. It was, in many ways, more comfortable than being in a hotel. The owners were always available and were very helpful whenever you had any questions about where to go and what to do. I would certainly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela12388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hi,

I'm writing here to explain my december vacation 2011/2012
I'm a french girl living in india since 2 years.

When we arrived (my boyfriend, a friend and I) in the new guest house of Ilyas (Aadhaar guest house) at 21h, Ilyas was there waiting for us. The 2 first words he pronounced was "Welcome home"

Since Aadhaar guest house is still in construction, we were the totally first guest entering in Aadhaar. But still, Ilyas has made everything for us to have a proper room! Always smiling and asking us if we needed something.
We passed 5 days on the beautiful terrace with the sea view and the sunset .

The rooms were comfortable, calm, for the moment simple in decoration but it will improve a lot after the end of the construction, the bathrooms are clean, there is a bathroom outside with view on the garden and also a outside kitchen on the terrace

As people know now, around the 28 December 2011, Thane the cyclone came on pondicherry. We have took this cyclone in our face. During 4 days, we didn't have any electricity, running water, or food
BUT ILYAS DID EVERYTHING HE COULD FOR OUR CONFORT,
he bought candles, drinking water, food, brought water to take a bath and his wife help him during the 5 days following the cyclone!!

I traveled a lot and i can tell you that this guest houses (Swades and Aadhaar guest house) are the best guest house ever for me.
Yes there is no gold in the bathroom or someone to lick your shoes when you enter in a room but Ilyas and his family's welcome worth all the 5stars hotel in the world.

I feel at home with them and i will for sure come back in India, just to see him.

C.

Room Tip: Rooms on the terrace are the best!! believe me :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CXK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here for a holiday with friends in August 2011. Spent 3 days and 2 nights at this quaint little inn. Run by a family, very accommodating, Ilyas, the host was very friendly. Comfortable stay, but no meals are served. Breakfast is optional and on demand. A ktchenette is available in case you want to fix your own breakfast.

A very nice terrace where you can relax, listen to music, enjoy a drink and unwind. Very close to the sea, but no beach near the resort.

Rooms are clean, but small. Basic amenities, soap and towel are provided. Not all rooms are air conditioned. Kitschy decor in the hotel adds to its charm. All done by Ilyas himself. Very affordable inn, good budget hotel.

The Inn is right next to the French Quarter, restaurants and the sea.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are air conditioned. make sure you book in advance and ask for AC rooms if you are tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank music74machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.7 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.6 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.2 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.7 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swades Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swades Guest House

Property: Swades Guest House
Address: Swades Guest House Thippu Sahib Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 800 - ₹ 1,200
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Guest House located in a residential area, near to seashore and all restaurants and shops.We only have 5 rooms with attached bathroom, 2 rooftops, easychairs...We provide breakfast. Free WIFI connection. Taxi arrangements for Gingee-Tiruvanamalai, Mamallapuram, Cholas tempes road, Tanjore, Tranquebar, Chettinad, and tour around Kerala.We also arrange massage and whatever you need.Ilyas and Arifa ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing