We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful location in a wonderful city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Guest House
Ranked #10 of 139 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful location in a wonderful city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

After spending a number of days in the rural section of Tamil Nadu, we ventured into Pondicherry for a needed break. The Seaside Guest House is just what we needed; very nice staff, great location and an awesome view of the Bay of Bengal. We brought our two children, ages 15 and 9, and they loved the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CDP132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    55
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
82
22
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

I loved the rooms as they were clean, practical and neatly kept. The bed and the pillows were comfortable. Lighting ambient and the AC worked well.

The bathrooms are moderately well kept but still up to the mark. They cound do with a safe and better timings as the close at 11 in the night so please be aware of the rules.

Internet is expensive and available as Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Choose suite if you want to fit four people. Get own Wi-Fi arrangements like a dongal or phone tethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HardlyUseful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Went to pondicherry for 1 day trip. Hotel Sea Side Guest House and its sister hotel The Retreat are located right on MG Road overlooking the sea. The day being a saturday, all the rooms were booked in sea side but we were asked to check in the retreat. Rooms in the retreat were booked too but front desk person by name Mr. Ghosh was very kind and helpful and told us that few of their guests will be vacating by 1 o'clock so we will get a room by 2 p.m. which also happens to be the guest house's check in time. We eventually got an ac double room accompanied by a balcony which overlooked the sea. The spacious room and washroom were spic and span and came at a reasonable price of Rs. 1600 all inclusive. Breakfast was complementary and good too. Location of the hotel is one of the best we have seen. One can spend hours together sitting in the balcony and doing nothing. Sea is visible from the bed too. There is no TV hence making it a perfect option for quite holiday! We did not stay in the suite but had a look. I must say it was really nice and very well done.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gh00m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

It is always a nice experience at seaside which in fact is good for the Ashramites. In whatever capacity the management gives the room at the best of the location in pondy it is worth. The guest house is as the name suggest simple with bare necessities availaible and rightly so as the peace environment has to be maintained. The room, food , bfast is rightly in tune with the aurobindo ashram policies and for a person who is daily ashram visitor and loves the peace, tranquility, balanced healthy diet and good early morning walk will never be disappointed. Will love to visit seaside everytime in pondy

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayuri_602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed overnight at Seaside. I had heard so much about the property from 2 of my friends. It was spick & span, AC took time as it was unbearingly hot plus we were on the 3rd floor, staff was super, receptionist was great. More importantly, the room was simple, with bare essentials, very neat & tidy. For people looking for a luxurious stay, this is not the option. With its central location, we walked the French territory in the evening, had dinner, strolled the beach road. Sunrise view was astonishing...the sea appears as an extension of the room itself.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUBODI4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.6 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
3.5 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#4 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#7 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#10 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.8 km away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 72 in Pondicherry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#28 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Guest House

Property: Seaside Guest House
Address: 14, Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,025 - ₹ 1,900
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing