We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place, Great Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Guest House
Ranked #8 of 144 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Decent place, Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 4 days.The Hotel is good basically because of the location. Basic air conditioned rooms and toilets,no tv since it belongs to the ashram complementary breakfast with Bread Jam Butter, Egg omlettes as well as Indian Breakfast. Lunch and dinner is good for Southindian food lovers.My wife and daughter loved the lunch. The ashram is close by and most of the good restaurants are close by.Children cannot play sea side as there is no beach except at the extreme right where theres a patch of beach. My daughter utilized the small patch of beach to the maximum and had a great time befriending the fishermen. They did give her dead starfish and seahorse and a lots of seas shells. One gets to see the catamarans parked there. Do visit and stay at seaside guest house if you are the one to use the rooms only to sleep at night. And if you travel by car you are told to park at the back entrance. Be careful not to park car in front of gates of other house or shop.You may find car wheels deflated the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drvishident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    60
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
22
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had booked a suite room for 3 of us at Seaside and they were prompt in sending us the confirmation. One thing to be noted here is that they prefer the payment to be done in DD or bank transfer! 2000 INR for a suite room was just great ! we reached there post dinner on friday evening. There were few restrictions at the place which we didnt know nor were we updated. One, no resident of the guest house is allowed outside post 10pm for a mere walk also :-( secondly, there is no smoking in the building, which one of my friend found it real difficult - cant even smoke in the balcony ! There is no TV/ DVD in the room !! One needs to book the breakfast ! its a limited serve with an option for continental or south indian. Rooms are real clean and spacious and overlook the sea ! The staff are not that friendly but just do thier job. Parking is available at the rear side of the guest house. Auroville is 10 kms from the guest house and the restaurants are at walkable distance. Overall, its value for money and we would still go back to stay there !

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea and also the suite room with triple beds are nice to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garfield612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I travelled to Pondicherry along with my parents and after doing a lot of research, decided to stay at Sea side guest house...I only have positive things to say about this property...very clean and comfortable rooms...right infronth of the sea...very nice and homely food....value for money etc etc...Strongly recommend this place to stay for families.

Room Tip: Try to get sea facing rooms...watching sunrise from the balcony of the room is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ankush G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed there two nights. The place was clean and had nice view. Food was simple and very indian. As we are in Pondicherry, we wanted to eat western food. Even our breakfast was included, we did not want to eat there at all. Maybe the food is good for indian people, but not for foreigners.

My friend was sick and could hardly stand. However, the receptionists were not nice. They are grumpy and not helpful. My friend had a very bad stomach ache when we arrived. Instead of being nice, they told us that she can not go to the room until we finish all the registration which we found very unkind.

I am sure there are many other nicer hotel than this hotel in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Perfect place to stay in Pondy! Right on the promenade with fabulous views and easy walking distance to anywhere you want to go around town. Rooms were very clean, staff friendly, efficient and helpful and you just can't beat the price! It is run by the ashram so they have their rules but they're fair enough and makes for a quiet, peaceful atmosphere. Even though they officially only open their doors at 6 am, when we arrived at 4:30 am by overnight bus from Kodaikanal, we were SO grateful when they let us in at that early hour! We had booked the room for the night before so we wouldn't have to wait until 2 pm to check in, but we didn't anticipate the lovely welcome they gave us at that hour of the morning. Definitely worth the extra cost to stay in a sea facing room. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms with balcony on the upper floors are worth the slightly extra cost! To watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sambharmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 km away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.6 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
4.8 km away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#10 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.4 km away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#8 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Guest House

Property: Seaside Guest House
Address: 14 Seaside Guest House Goubert Avenue, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,025 - ₹ 1,900
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing