We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
69
126
50
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
126
50
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomfrench quartervalue for moneyboutique hotelfrench colonywhite townsmall hotelpromenade beachbreakfast buffetexcellent place to stayroom was spaciouscourteous staffproximitypockethospitalityarchitectureindian
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Among all the top hotels in Pondicherry, we liked the Richmond the most, and by the time we booked it, it had jumped to being the No. 1 hotel in Pondicherry. When I called them to confirm the booking, they informed us that they have 24-hour check-in, which was a relief over other hotels.
When we arrived, we found that the hotel was much smaller than it looks on the website; but we still liked how it looked - quite like an inn in a French village. The check-in was quite; they upgraded one of our 2 rooms to a Deluxe room, without any request.
The rooms were nice and clean, and the best feature was the use of jute in many places, such as the roof and walls. The TV was small and slow, but we didn't mind it. The attached bath was quite impressive and it was much better than costlier hotels. An overall feel was that of a small place to stay, but it felt French, nice, and clean.
However, their food failed to match their rooms, and the hotel restaurant failed to impress us. They had an open grill, which spread the smoke to every part of the hotel; we could smell it as soon as we stepped out of our rooms. The service in the restaurant was slow, the buffet breakfast was insufficient and late, and the quantity too much. During dinner, we felt that the food in the Promenade hotel was much better.
Later at night, we also found that the A/C in one of the rooms was not functioning properly.
But I will still recommend this hotel - the staff was courteous and helpful, though they could not give us proper directions to Auroville. The hotel was also closer to the sea.
At this price, this was the best bargain that we could get.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shubhox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Stayed at the Richmond for 2 nights while visiting our daughter who is living in South India. The hotel is in the special town of Pondicherry. Lots of things to see here. The town is really distinctive because of its French history and tourist culture.

The hotel was great and the staff was excellent. We were well taken care of. Every request was promplty tended to. We were very happy with this choice and would love to go back.

We found breakfast tasty and service excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripAdFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

This is a small property barely two streets from the Promenade and within a short walk of all the sights of Puducherry. It is located within the French Quarter and is therefore a Heritage structure even if they haven't managed to get the label. Nevertheless enjoy the ambience.

However what really makes this place distinctive is the staff. They really seem to enjoy guests and go out of their way to see that you get what you require - be it a cup of coffee or the way to a particular shop.

However one word of caution - the restaurant is really small and probably commences preparing your order from scratch after you place it. So do give them your order at least an hour before you plan to eat ( we informed them well in advance usually while going out or in the case of breakfast the night before) or else wait!

Enjoy the place before too may people discover it and they hike their rates!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dr Anil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Richmond has been open 6 months now, being an old French Colonial building which has been completely renovated to a high and modern standard, in an excellent location 3 blocks from the seafront. Unfortunately, it has no outside space. The reception staff were efficient and friendly. They even went to the station and purchased train tickets for us. All the common areas and bedrooms were spotlessly clean. Hot water is on only twice a day, morning and evening, and you have to ask ! Breakfasts are very poor, waiters pleasant but inexperienced, and food lacking and stale !! As a consequence we had dinner out every night - there are a lot of excellent restaurants in the town, and the Richmond restaurant remained very quiet. The Manager was advised, and took all our constructive comments on board with areas that would be improved - so watch this space ! It is the latest in the Residency Group of Hotels and has a lot of potential, but our experience of the Residency in Coimbatore a few weeks later, was, good hotel and rooms facilities - but restaurant food and service poor.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Turners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Went to pondicherry for a 3 day trip to relax, checked-in this heritage feel-cum-modern hotel and found that everything was good about this place. Located in the French colony, the ambiance, rooms, in-room facilities (with LCD tv, internet, std phone), cleanliness everything was perfect. Very close-by to the beach, just a two minute walk.

The staff was courteous enough and room service was quick. On request they did arrange for a two-wheeler. Since it was arranged by the hotel, I also did not have to pay any deposit for the two-wheeler.

The food quality needs to improve compared to the prices offered.

It's just a 8 month old property, owing to its quality, its getting quite popular with travellers. Remember to make bookings in advance.

Overall a very good value for money for A/c room @ Rs. 3500 per day. I recommed it to anyone with family or a romatic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vnjoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews