We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - with no frills - small rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginger Pondicherry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ginger Pondicherry
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - with no frills - small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Overall - not a bad experience, the location was good as it is around 2 kms from Aurbindo ashram, market is fairly approachable.All rooms are same dimension, very small, and designed to put maximum in minimum space, could be acceptable for a boat, but for an hotel they are not: no night table, 30cm distance from wardrobe, about 1m from air conditioner at bed level, no space other than the essential.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    196
    125
    45
    43
See reviews for
162
128
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

After giving too much thought on the basis of our sudden trip to Pondicherry, we got this hotel as one which had availability..and thus booked it after reading few reviews and blogs....it was a good decision I feel. The place was not at all difficult to locate, the hotel people helped us with places of attractions and cab too. This made our stay much comfortable without bothering about many things. the stay was quiet comfortable and good. The reception people and staff were also very professional as well soft-spoken and we like it that way. The hotel ambiance is also good...with a nice restaurant and a book gallery. The breakfast has quiet a few varieties like milk and juices...bread butter, omelets, etc with some south-indian varieties as well. All together as good stay without any issues.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cool_Traveler-Bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Having a big name behind, my expectation of Ginger Pondi was no less.
I was given a weekend offer of Rs.2700 for a Rs.4499 room which I initially thought was a great gain. It turned out to be a stay with compromises, some big and some small. For people like me who wanted to give my family a classy stay, it dint turn out to be a stay of compromises and adjustments.

Good part is that the environment has a good base architecture for the infrastructure. But the maintenance has to pull up its socks to match to its intended standard. The bed's cleanliness and the room dint have any concerns.

Big compromises..

A/C in the room was a .75 tonne.. for a large room that was so slow that it took over 6 hrs to get some cool air. I called the helpdesk and they said that they plan to change it to 1.5 tonne and I have to adjust with it.

Bad Cafe Coffee day. Two bad juices at the same counter, one with over doze of milk for a litchi drink and a watery apple mojito that had nothing but ice and water !!

Frequent power failure - They have a generator backup but power flips off atleast once in 15 mins. I know we had a failure of about 30 - 40 times in a day ( and these are not exaggerated nos ). The power failure resets the A/C that will start to cool the place all over again.

Service - The people in the hotel consider that 'non corporate accommodation' is a favour done for free. I was told that they are keen on corporates only and not on random folks like me.
Value - I wanted to be in a decent hotel with upto the mark amenities. Although Ginger Pondi houses them ( which lured me in), it is not tuned for it.

Location - My room had a splendid view of the sewage canal that I did not open the door at all !! cant explain more.

Small ones...
I had 3 rooms booked and issues like leaking tap, flickering lights, you can hear room noises from the next room if they are moderately loud.

As said, An average stay only if you are tight on budget with a good offer for the rooms else not recommended. Don't get lured by the name !!

Room Tip: don't choose the room on the Canal side. You cant open the window not worth beyond a basic star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulipzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

An attractive Rs1499 weekend offer tempted me, But the place is beginning to show its age (we first visited the property in early 2009). The crease between the tiles in the bathroom has fungi, which shows that the tiles are not scubbed regularly. The mopped floor, being slighly sticky also has a fine layer of dust, which could come from reusing dirty water for mopping. These are housekeeping issues. The room per-se offers the same comforable bed, and the tiny airconditioner seems to get the job done. The USP of safe, clean, comforable features of Ginger seems to fall short here! Will think twice to visit the older properties of Ginger again!

Room Tip: Rooms numbered until 10 are located around the lobby, which could be noisy, so opt from 15-30 for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Hi

Was there for 2 days in Hotel. It was horrible experience had with Ginger hotel and staff and this kind of service was not expected from one of reputed group which is known for service .

The room service is avalaible only from 11 AM onwards . So if you want tea/cofee wait till 11 AM . AC was not working in the room. House keeping guys has come at 6 PM after lots of followup to clean the room .

Hotel staff wass behaving like they are doing FAVOUR to their guest by giving rrom at 1300 /-. As frequent traveller even normal hotel gives GOOD SERVICE .
I will never recomend to stay in Ginger groups of Hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haresh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#29 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.7 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.5 km away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Annamalai International Hotel
Annamalai International Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.1 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
2.0 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#26 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Pondicherry

Property: Ginger Pondicherry
Address: Old Venus Theatre, Karuvadikuppam, Main Road | Saram Revenue Village, Oulgaret Municipality, Pondicherry 605008, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,353 - ₹ 3,922
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Ginger Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Pondicherry
Pondicherry Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing