We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst Hotel ever.”
Review of Ginger Pondicherry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginger Pondicherry
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The worst Hotel ever.”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

t was definitely the worst hotel i stayed in. Just because your rates are cheap does not mean you can treat your customers like they are doing you a favour. I came there for a recce to see the hotel for my corporate. But never will i allow anybody to stay there. The lobby AC did not worsk at all.... and the restaurant staff is so disgusting ... they think they are doing us a favour. If your rates are less does not mean your service should be so disgusting...... never ever in a ginger.

Its surprising that this also belongs to the Taj Group. I am big supporter of the Vivanta... so its time to buck up and do something. Ginger also means Taj to many people.,.. Vivanta will also go down the drain if Ginger continues like this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ethottan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    204
    126
    44
    44
See reviews for
170
127
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed here 3 years ago and was quite happy with the amenities and the service. I was in for a shock to see how the quality of rooms and facilities could deteriorate in such a short span. The a/c was useless, no running hot water, rusty (or dirty) water and noisy squeaky spring mattresses, etc. In fact, I got down from the bed and slept on the floor with just a pillow. Believe me, this was more comfortable than the bed. To top it all, there was no power in my room around midnight for almost an hour. After calls to the utilities number, they managed to fix the problem after an hour. That was the moment, I swore not to chose Ginger, Pondicherry again.

I noticed a different catering company is running the in-house restaurant and the breakfast was just OK. I felt the quality could have been better for the price.

I wouldn't recommend this place for anyone, especially if you are travelling with family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamanujamMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Chennai, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

For the price I paid, this was a great value hotel in a not so very good location, a bit away from the french quarter of Pondicherry but then, having a car with us it was only a 5-7 minute drive away. The rooms were tiny and can accomdate only two , the bathroom was spacious and the shower had hot running water all day .

We took 50% discount voucher for 3D/2N stay offer . Miserable things i did
1).Forgot to mention 2 persons in the reservation page of ginger .After booking u cant change anything .. Really bad attitude f ginger so we had to pay for the extra person .
2)Can't make any ammendments . It was specified you can make ammendments but not allowed strictcly . this also shows their poor attitude in customer service .
3)No complimentary breakfast when u go with any discounts .. so pathetic we had to 186*2=396 for breakfast (idilis ,dosas..etc)
4)never ever go for wifi connection

Feedback :dont make your mind to stay here please, there are better business class hotels in pondicherry that caters better customer service and hospitality for the 1800+ money you pay here at ginger .

Room Tip: rooms from 112 to 114 good though all rooms have small voltas AC's only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skarthikeyanece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Not at all a good place! service is very bad, staff is very very rude, restaurant is totally waste,no one to clean the table,serving after nearly one hour! Very small bathrooms...AC not working,even after complaining no one came to fix it!...in all...do not go for it..u will end up getting frustrated during your trip!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarian89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Out of so many Ginger Hotels that I have stayed, across the country, this will get the lowest rating, for several reasons. Room Service (Food) is being offered selectively. Wi-fi, was conspicous, by its absence, in spite of the "Reception" giving all excuses during our 3 days stay. Food, in comparison to Pondicherry standard, is costly, even in the dining Hall. Overall, not a great experience, as to recommend to others. But it is budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstindyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#31 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
1.5 km away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#36 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Annamalai International Hotel
Annamalai International Hotel
#21 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
2.7 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.0 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Pondicherry

Property: Ginger Pondicherry
Address: Old Venus Theatre, Karuvadikuppam, Main Road | Saram Revenue Village, Oulgaret Municipality, Pondicherry 605008, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,198 - ₹ 3,879
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Yatra, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ginger Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Pondicherry
Pondicherry Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing