We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Ginger Pondicherry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginger Pondicherry
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

17-18 June 2011 we had visited Pondicherry and stayed @ Ginger.
With not very high expectation we checked in the hotel.
The shower in the bathroom was out of order and we asked for a replacement.
It was rectified quite quick!!!
After having a nice lunch, we went out to the nearby beach.
Location wise it is close to ECR but not that close to the beach.
The rooms are little small but well maintained!!!
The room service was also good.
The staff were very helpful in getting some home food prepared in the kitchen for our 1.3 years old daughter.
Best part was the buffet breakfast (complimentary).
Overall we liked our stay @ Ginger.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shan304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    203
    126
    44
    44
See reviews for
170
127
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel is situated close to the ECR road and easily accessible. They have many rooms and lots of car parking space. Rooms are neat and clean. Food is good. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We had drove down from Chennai and did not have much expectations with this Hotel. It was intentionally booked by us since we were family of two and had two children each. It was for the weekend getaway and did not want to spend a huge amount since we decide to roam around the town. It is especially designed for travellers who move on tight strring budget. The bathroom were quite ok and there was good supply of cold and warm water.
The kids enjoyed it as the rooms had bright colors and it attracted the kids.
Pondicherry is a nice cosy town and still retains its French charm. Ginger Hotel was not at all a bad experience. The rooms though were small but we did not complain. The service was not bad at all and the breakfast was free. The whole idea was to spend and drive around Pondicherry. I really enjoyed the Aurbindo Ashram.
I would certainly recommend staying in Ginger chain if you are moving on tight budgets and do not want 5 star facilities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights with family. Clean room... with basic facility. Good clean dinning place... Very good location... maybe will not be very convenient for buisness trip as everything there is "self service".

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biswajitdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Clean, well-furnished rooms, typical of any Ginger Hotel. Located in the city, off the ECR. however, the road leading upto the hotel is narrow and chaotic. overall, had a pleasant stay, as is always the case with any ginger hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nowisthetime6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.8 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#30 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
1.5 km away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#36 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Annamalai International Hotel
Annamalai International Hotel
#21 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.7 km away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.0 km away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#27 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger Pondicherry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger Pondicherry

Property: Ginger Pondicherry
Address: Old Venus Theatre, Karuvadikuppam, Main Road | Saram Revenue Village, Oulgaret Municipality, Pondicherry 605008, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,268 - ₹ 3,759
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger Pondicherry 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ginger Pondicherry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Hotel Pondicherry
Pondicherry Ginger Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing