We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very run down, people are just trying to rip you off”
Review of Hotel Appolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Appolo
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very run down, people are just trying to rip you off”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We booked this hotel as a stop over on our way back to Delhi and booked a deluxe ac room , we knew Siliguri has nothing going for it so weren't expecting much although this made it worse than we were expecting. The hotel is very dark and dingey, tired looking too as if it could be used for 'sleepovers'. We get brought to a standard room which smells as if someone has passed away and they never cleaned up, the bedding is so dirty with stains of blood and faeces, the stench is terrible. We realised this wasn't a deluxe room that we paid for and demanded to be moved however they did not want to move us as we had only paid for standard. We had to fight with them and been shown many horrible rooms before we recognised the room we had booked via the internet. Still very tired and run down but this had a fridge (which i did not dare put anything in, looked as if it had never been washed) a fan, aircon, tv and kettle. The bedding was slightly cleaner although I was weary of sleeping in it. Shower didnt' work. Once given that room reception called up to let us know we had to pay many rupees extra to keep the room, we had to fight again with them to let them know we had paid for exactly this room and they were ripping us off.
Thankfully we had but a night here but not an experience worth re living, maybe try pay a bit more and go to another hotel in the area. horrible

Room Tip: if you have to go here pay more for deluxe or suite, but NOT standard. eeuw
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    20
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
4
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
241 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The room was clean, but small. For rupees 1700, it was expensive. There was no room cleaning and I had to ask for it. Geyser did not work, so had to call up the front desk about it also.

The guests were unruly, making noise and playing loud music till late in the night. Food was just ok, nothing to relish about. And being in the crowded area, there was noise from adjoining national highway also.

At best an average hotel where you have to ask for everything. Can stay for at most 2 nights if I am in hurry.

Room Tip: If you need a good night sleep, stay away from Hill Cart Road, which is main market area. It is too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arvind Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We picked this hotel based on previous reviews. However during our 6 night stay we had cold water for showers 2 of 5 days after we made the staff aware of the problem on the first day. The food was good in the restaurant, but the speed of service and accuracy of the order was inconsistent during our 6 night visit. The same dirty tablecloths remained on the restaurant tables during our entire visit. Unless the above items changed, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siliguri hotels

Various
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Hotel staff was very pleasant and friendly. Quick check in at very reasonable rates. he doorman was excellent. Extremely helpful and kind. I checked in and wasn't sure what to expect. (I've long learned that the lobby can be nice but the rooms terrible). This was not the case with this hotel. It was extremely clean, including the bathroom. I was impressed at how the hotel seemed to make sure all the wall outlets, lamps, etc were working. (If you've traveled anywhere in India you'll know what I'm talking about). Went to diner in the restaurant and the service was great. Good food and the place was clean. I use Siliguri as a stopover for trips and will use this hotel again. The $26 a night price was step even for India. However, it's worth it. Location is pretty far from the beaten path. Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I stayed at Hotel Appolo with my family and in-laws (group of 7 of us) in two rooms on November 9 and 13.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable and provided a good nights sleep and plenty of hot water for showers.

Included breakfast was good and meals in the restaurant were of a high quality and reasonably priced although service was a bit slow.

I booked the rooms over the internet and the Hotel Manager (Naushad Baig) came to my room to meet me,which I thought was a nice gesture.

Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again if stopping over in Siliguri.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSinclair66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siliguri hotels
1.6 km away
Balaji Inn
Balaji Inn
#12 of 27 in Siliguri
8 reviews
2.5 km away
Mount Embassy Hotel
Mount Embassy Hotel
#15 of 27 in Siliguri
166 reviews
1.3 km away
Sinclairs Siliguri
Sinclairs Siliguri
#2 of 27 in Siliguri
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Saluja Residency
Saluja Residency
#10 of 27 in Siliguri
46 reviews
2.1 km away
CHAS Rajdarbar Hotel & Banquets
1.7 km away
Mount Milestone Hotel and Banquets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Appolo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Appolo

Property: Hotel Appolo
Address: NH 31, Mallaguri, PO Pradhannagar, Siliguri 734003, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Siliguri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Siliguri
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,000 - ₹ 3,226
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Appolo 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3Star Graded Budget Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Appolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Appolo Siliguri, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing