We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
70
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We are young and tell the truth.

We really enjoyed this lodge. There were wonderful views the surrounding hills and the sea. There is delicious food for children and adults.

The hosts are very hospitable and kind to kids. The kids food is not just ketchup and other junk food however it is delicious and nutritious homemade food. Especially the orange cake.

The rooms have lovely outdoor baths and a wood burning stove. Above the restaurant there is a viewing tower with an amazing view. There also two cute and calm dogs. The garden is a wonderful place for relaxing.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank YouthfulAndTruthful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is an unusual place to stay that has some fantastic attributes. The views from the turret are breathtaking, and you could sit for ages enjoying the mix of mountains and sea. It is not a normal hotel - you are guests at Willem and Carla's house and you spend time with the hosts and the other guests. The accommodation is high end luxury; the bed was perhaps the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. The furnishings are all top quality although they may not be to all tastes. The food was excellent, although there is no choice, with breakfast in particular being superb, and much of it came from their gardens. The wine cellar - the physical one - is a must see, and there are plenty of excellent wines to enjoy. The views from the spa are very good. A really interesting experience, although it is certainly not cheap.

Room Tip: Rivendell has slightly better views from the spa bath and has a skylight for stargazing
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Willem and Carla have created a fabulous lodge on the top of a ridge from which you can see for miles. The trouble was that for two nights the rain didn't stop falling, 4 inches the first night and 6 the next! We weren't washed away but it did prevent us from using the jacuzzi. The food and wine were excellent on both nights and compensated for what was happening outside.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelling_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

My husband and I went there for our 23rd anniversary this weekend and we loved it!
The setting shows the very underrated beauty the North Island has to offer with 360 views that include rolling hills, the sea and pristine beaches.
The accommodation is first class, absolutely gorgeous and decorated with excellent taste, but far from being pretentious! It makes you feel at home...
The food is perfect! 5 stars category and with that feel of 'home-made' and the wine list is to die for!
And what to say about the hosts? Nothing short of FABULOUS! Carla and Willem (and Bo) made us feel like part of the family. Thank you so much for making our anniversary all the more special and completely unforgettable.
Carla and Willem know what hospitality really means!!
Mariana and Manuel

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MVAM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I had three nights at Manawa Ridge. We had a wonderful time. Whilst the accommodation is somewhat rustic the hosts Willem and Cara make the experience magical. You feel as you are visiting them at home. They are the perfect hosts. Food was all home cooked and delicious. There are only three suites and dining is family style so plenty of opportunity to make new friends. Not forgetting two wonderful dogs!!! Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews