We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
70
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2016

My husband and I went there for our 23rd anniversary this weekend and we loved it!
The setting shows the very underrated beauty the North Island has to offer with 360 views that include rolling hills, the sea and pristine beaches.
The accommodation is first class, absolutely gorgeous and decorated with excellent taste, but far from being pretentious! It makes you feel at home...
The food is perfect! 5 stars category and with that feel of 'home-made' and the wine list is to die for!
And what to say about the hosts? Nothing short of FABULOUS! Carla and Willem (and Bo) made us feel like part of the family. Thank you so much for making our anniversary all the more special and completely unforgettable.
Carla and Willem know what hospitality really means!!
Mariana and Manuel

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MVAM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I had three nights at Manawa Ridge. We had a wonderful time. Whilst the accommodation is somewhat rustic the hosts Willem and Cara make the experience magical. You feel as you are visiting them at home. They are the perfect hosts. Food was all home cooked and delicious. There are only three suites and dining is family style so plenty of opportunity to make new friends. Not forgetting two wonderful dogs!!! Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Our two night stay at Manawa Ridge was an incredible way to start our two week trip to New Zealand and Australia. The other reviews have captured all the details that make Carla and Willem's retreat truly unique - we felt like we were staying with our closest friends. The warm and generous spirits of Carla and Willem set Manawa Ridge apart from all of the other luxurious places we stayed on our trip. The setting, the services, the meals, the hosts - all were perfect introductions to the beautiful country and people of New Zealand. I too can't recommend Manawa Ridge highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016

When travelling the Coromandel Peninsula there are very few, and they are far between, luxury hotels to stay in. All of them are a bit out of the way, including Manama Ridge, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and meeting and befriending Willem and Carla our hosts.
Willem and Carla literally built Manawa Ridge themselves, from scratch, and it is a very eclectic mix of country and western, European cottage and New Zealand charm. Our room was beautifully decorated, large and had spectacular views.
We stayed at Manawa Ridge for 3 nights. The first night we stayed in for dinner and it was scrumptious! A cooked "surprise" breakfast every morning set us up nicely for the day and the standard of cooking is top class. Although off the beaten track, Manawa Ridge is an easy drive (though the first time you feel like a real adventurer), it is a dedicated road to the few properties on it, partly tarmac and partly dirt track, but easy to navigate and as there is no traffic, also easily done at night if you are out all day.
We did have trouble with the wi-fi in our room, but you can sit outside in the lounge and reception there is good. I would have preferred an actual door on our massive bathroom, but the whole property is so very quirky and unique that everything about it is delightful. The day we drove to the Hot Water Beach Willem even leant us his great big spade so we could dig ourselves a hot spot! The property is dotted with beautiful work done by Carla, the lady in the lake is one of them, our amazing carved sink another. This couple are the perfect hosts and have worked very hard to make a beautiful home and hotel in a beautiful spot. I cannot recommend it highly enough to you. If you do go, please give Bo (the cattle dog) and cuddle and a scratch from me. He will greet you on arrival & is a very friendly dog.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and individual, I am sure Carla and Willem will show you all options and let you change.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TDS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

We started our three week journey through New Zealand with a two night stay at Manawa Ridge. We could not have been more happy and satisfied by our (Dutch) hosts, the accommodation and the location.

The Lodge is situated on top of a hill with a magnificent view over the surrounding landscape (beautiful hills and valleys) on one side and the Pacific ocean on the other. We started our stay with some drinks and canapés in the little tower on the lodge where we had a 360 view of our surroundings. After flying 24hours and driving 1.5hrs to the lodge this was exactly what we needed. A beautiful first impression of the natural beauty of the country, large and comfortable rooms which exuded a sense of peace and relaxation and our hosts Carla en Willem that were extremely kind and welcoming. During our one full day there we went on a beautiful coast-side hike based on a tip by our hosts.

I highly recommend this lodge to anyone, we could have easily stayed there longer but we already booked the rest of our trip and had to move on after these two days.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews