We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
boldee1
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom

food quality and selection is poor, management needs to pay more attention

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2017
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with 2 kids for 2 weeks in this all inclusive resort. Wi-FI is expensive, around 20 EUR per device per week, much cheaper to use your normal network operators internet, safe is 24 EUR per week...
It is ideal for people who doesn’t want to move around just relax at the resort, or do watersports. There is not much to see at Costa Calma apart from the beach, not even a promenade.
The hotel itself is nice, clean and has beautiful gardens and pools outside. The main let down is the food, and feels like the management approach is to save money -“this is good enough for the s…d tourist”. Honestly, quite a few evenings the most popular dish by far was the plain pizza. Other 4* hotels try much harder to provide high quality food and to impress guests. Very limited variations, no themes for each evening, very limited freshly made food. The other quite annoying thing is, although the resort has multiple bars these opening hours are very limited and one of them permanently closed. Another example of not worrying about quality and customer service was the Ice Cream. If you travel with kids, you know this is one what they love. However, Ice Cream is only available for 2 hours in the afternoon, from 1 freezer. No cones, or plates are provided, but plastic cups, and small plastic spoons, which does not reach the bottom of the plastic cups. The queue is usually 15mins, as everybody needs to use a single ice cream spoon to get a portion to their plastic cup. This is not very clean neither hygienic, and can heard few people complaining about it – nothing changed….
Also, some limited lunch is available at the external bar, but if you been to other 4 stars you might expect it is freshly made burgers, hot dogs, chips, salad etc…. Here you can have chips and pasta which is brought out from the main kitchen. Early afternoon the only food available is 1 type of cake (which is always the same, regardless it is coloured to green, pink or orange…) and also, birds make regular appearances inside the bar, where you can get these cakes from, and there is constantly a terrible smell coming from underneath the table.
Around the pool, cockroaches make regular appearances, and you just hope their kitchen is cleaner.
The hotel does have its own beach, however it is covered with stones. A large sandy beach is about 200m away, and you can walk their easily.
At first look the hotel seemed well maintained inside, but the outside play areas does need improving.
Most rooms has sea view, and we had probably one of the best rooms on the top floor. Unlike in other resorts the apartment does not have a kitchen, and it only had 4 single beds – no doubles.
Room was confy otherwise, and had beautiful views.
I been to the Canarias 9 times already, but this was the first (and the last) time for Fuerteventura. There is nothing on the Island apart from Oasis Park (but this is overpriced, and can’t be compared to Loro Park). We hired a car and travelled around a bit, missing only the very north of the island. The moonlike landscape means there is not even a tree up in the hills, and felt sorry for the cyclists on the bursting sun. As we travelled there are some nice little villages like Betancuria, but don’t bother going there unless you already hired a car. There is a large shopping centre in Puerto del Rosario, but again, nothing like the towns on the other canary islands. We went to Morro Jable from Costa Calma with the local Bus. There are more shops their and seems a bit busier than costa calma. Also, finally found a nice playground in from of a closed zoo.
So back to the hotel, it was a bit disappointing, I believe with a bit of a hard work and more attention from management the hotel and the food could be significantly improved. We had a great time there, but unfortunately, probably will not return.
Date of stay: April 2017
Room Tip: Rooms in the main building will be noisy till around 11pm.
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this review
Responded 2 Jun 2017
Dear Boldee1,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort with us and for have taken the time to write this review.

We will comment you that not far from the hotel there are shops, bars and restaurants. Every Wednesday and Sunday there is a local market in Costa Calma where you find products made on the island. If clients would like to visit Jandia or Morro Jable (towns in the south of the island) there is a bus that runs on a regular basis. The bus stop is just down the road from the hotel. All clients have a local travel rep in the hotel who can give information regarding excursions. We are very sorry that you felt bored during your holiday.

We cater for an international market and offer international delicacies as well as themed nights. Furthermore our clients can enjoy a dinner in our themed restaurants. Our Asiatico is located in our SBH Monica Beach Resort and offers foods from China, Vietnam and Japan.

Regarding the food in our snack bar we have already made improvements by placing lids on our food and thus the birds stay away.

Concerning the point referred to insects, we are in an island and in there for the climatic conditions we suffer of this, but our hotel every week is doing the specific controls that are required for try to maintain them away from our facilities.

We are able to offer our clients good basic rate season after season. To guarantee this we have extra costs like Wifi or Safe. We are very sorry you weren’t informed about this prior to your arrival as you can find the information in all travel catalogues.

We are very sorry that you have decided not to come back to Fuerteventura. We hope that you had a pleasant flight home.

Kind regards,
The management


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₹18,865
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹19,583
  • Hotels.com
    ₹19,590
  • Official website
    ₹9,963
2.1 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹16,305
₹13,852
  • Expedia.com
    ₹13,846
  • Hotels.com
    ₹13,850
  • Trip.com
    ₹13,849
1.9 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
₹13,205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹13,199
  • Hotels.com
    ₹13,203
  • Official website
    ₹10,912
2.7 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
₹13,205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹12,624
  • Agoda.com
    ₹11,061
  • Hotels.com
    ₹11,619
0.7 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Costa Calma
Reviews (2,321)
Filter reviews
2,322 results
Traveller rating
597
878
449
229
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
597
878
449
229
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish beach bar plenty of sunbeds private beach costa calma beach animation team the main hotel evening entertainment relaxing holiday african market oasis park sea view plenty of choice bar staff are bars and restaurants sun loungers quiet resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 2,322 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

This Is a very long review but only is worth the read I promise
We went here for a week all inclusive I've broken it down so you can choose what you want to know

The coach transfer

It was a disaster at the airport we was sent on the wrong coach and could of left half an hour before the one was on left the airport which was extremely frustrating but we got to the hotel eventually at around 8:45pm
Luckily we had already let family know we had arrived safely in fuerventura as when we got to the hotel there was no wi-fi which I found odd

The wi-fi disaster

So the next morning we go down to the reception desk and said about this and they said 'oh you have to pay for the wi-fi here at the hotel you can either pay daily or 25€ for the week we paid for the week and was given the login details for the wi-fi ( thought it was a bit of a cheek to be honest but we needed the wi-fi to contact people ) we then went up to our room and both me and my boyfriend tried to log on but it would only let one of us log on which was extremely annoying but left it at that .
We again went down to the reception desk and said that only one of us could use the wi-fi
We was then informed
'No it's 25€ per device per week '
We was not informed of this when we handed over the 25€ at no point did they mention that so we then had to alternate between ourselves for the internet as we weren't going to pay 50€ for a week of internet how ridiculous that's like £45 for a week just a total rip off as you couldn't even load anything on you tube and it was really slow in general

The air conditioning

What air conditioning there was none at all no air came out of it
We only found this out once we've turned it on and what an awful noise it made so even if it had worked ( which of course it didn't ) it would have kept you awake at night

The waiters in the main restaurant

These were amazing so friendly and efficient they can not be faulted at all they were absolutely brilliant one of them called Erickson really stood out to us always smiling and just generally a really lovely person so happy in his job which was nice to see

The food choice

The food was ok I wouldn't say it was exceptional just pretty basic at lunch and dinner was pretty much the same food as lunchtime
The breakfast however was lovely and the cooks were always friendly at whatever time of day you went there

The staff at the reception

You would ask for information for something for example we wanted to go to a bank to get some more money exchanged we happily went on our way when we got there we was then informed we needed our passport which I didn't know so we had to come all the way back and get our passport and go back again just something so simple that try could of mentioned as we don't carry our passports around with us ( why would you )
And they seemed abrupt and rude at times we are tourists and unfortunately we didn't know everything so we had to ask them for a bit of guidance

Excursions

If you want to do excursions I would recommend doing them I will upload a photo of the Thomson reps pricing they gave us
They looked great we didn't do any but will definitely do some next time we go fuerventura ( to another hotel further along the beach )

The rooms

The rooms were lovely and clean and the cleaners do an amazing job some are very creative to making towels into animals which I thought was sweet

The pool bar

The staff here are great and the cocktails are extremely nice and a lot of choice too which I wasn't expecting

Places to shop nearby

If you like Michael kors the African market was great they do amazing Michael kors fakes and the colors they do the bags was so nice and different

A recommendation to try is
along the beach from where we was was somewhere called Beach bar Horizonte this was a great place to go if you fancy something different to eat and the staff were so nice and would go there again and the prices were pretty good too ( the sizzling prawns were lovely )

Even after all those negatives
We still enjoyed our holiday and will go back to the island again just not at this hotel
As they could of made the experience better

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank slc2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Slc2510,

Thank you very much for have taken the time to write a review about your holiday at the SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort.

We are able to offer our clients good basic rate season after season. To guarantee this we have extra costs like Wifi or Safe. We are very sorry you weren’t informed about this prior to your arrival as you can find the information in all travel catalogues. We are working to improve the quality.

Our maintenance team works on a daily basis to mend minor faults. We can assure you the resort has hot water at all times, however we will look into it and if necessary take appropriate actions. We would like to inform you that a modernisation of our Resort has been planned and will take place in the future.

Our always friendly and helpful staff is always happy to attend the needs of our clients. Sorry, if our staff at the reception desk you made an unfriendly impression. Certainly it may cause even especially at peak times some hustle and bustle. But we will work, that the experience is opposite respected to our guests at any time, because our goal is to ensure that all our guests will spend a wonderful holidays with us.

It was our pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

So me and my partner have just stayed at the hotel for a week

Please note that we never usually leave reviews but felt compelled based on our experience with this one.

Good points
- Own beach
- Friendly staff
- No crazy fights for sun loungers (despite the hotel being mainly catered to German customers)
- Animation team are amazing with kids and daily activities!
- Breakfast was the best meal of any given day and the only consistent one with a wide range of choice.

Bad points
- Air Con in rooms non existent (its there but doesn't make any difference)
- Food Badly labelled and repetitive. Poor, especially considering its mean to be a 4*. It barely made 3* in my opinion
- Beds rock solid and pillows junk too
- Poor evening entertainment
- Poor maintenance around the property (stage made of wood that is warped and a hazard to customers / their kids)
- Pool bar doesn't stick half the drinks
- Snack bar again very poor, not your usual. Just chips and muffins. Some days not even out on when it should be.
- TV in rooms all catered to German / Dutch customers also. Only English Chanel is Sky News.

This hotel is also very remote. Not much to do out with it apart from to walk to other hotels and a spar shop.

Avoid hotel shop and walk to spar shop. Miles cheaper.

Won't be visiting again or recommending.

AVOID 😓

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kraeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Stephen W,

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and opinions about our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort with us. We are very sorry that you were not happy with all the aspects of the hotel. However we can assure you that customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to fulfil their expectations on a daily basis.

We offer a large variety of food for our clients, which is prepared freshly on a daily basis by our chefs. Many of our clients are satisfied with our variety and quality of our food which you can see in our valuation. On different nights we also have special themes like Spanish Night, Italian Night, etc.

Our friendly staff is always trying to fulfil the guests’ wishes and expectations. Guest satisfaction is very important to us that is why we try every day to exceed their expectations and make your holiday an unforgettable one. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our entertainment. We will note your comment and you can be assured that we will intend to improve our entertainment program.

We regret that our air conditioner has not functioned well. We have our maintenance team which works daily to maintain our 4* standards. They repair minor faults and help customers whenever they need a hand.

We would like to inform you that a modernisation of our hotel has been planned and will take place in the future.

We hope that you will choose to visit us again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

I cannot fault the location of this resort, so close to the sea and even has a private beach area. The resort itself is so pretty with 3 large and clean swimming pools. Check in was very easy and informative although you are asked to sign a disclaimer to say you will raise any complaints or issues during your stay and not afterwards. The room was cleaned daily, very spacious with a large bathroom which had a bath and shower, there is a large TV although the only english speaking channels are Sky Sports and BBC World News, there is air con and a fridge. There are plenty of bars to get drinks and the beer, wine and soft drinks are self service in most bars and in the restaurant. The food was nice although it is standard all inclusive fare, quite repetitive bit with enough variation to not get bored. Staff throughout the resort are very friendly and the animation team work very hard all day. There are plenty of activities including rifle shooting, darts, poole, shuffle board, volley ball, water polo, aerobics and plenty more. The mini disco tends to star in the evening at 8.30pm and then main entertainment started at 9.30pm, this is a mix of shows by the animation team and professional shows. There are 3 shops, a clothing shop, jewelry shop and gift shop which has a limited range of snacks to purchase. There are signs up to say no shorts to be worn at dinner, on night 1 we changed into trousers for dinner and found most people were in shorts still, nobody seemed to mind, as long as you dont wear a vest top and swimming shorts you will be fine, All inclusive stops at 11pm in the evening although things are generally winding down by this point anyway. There are lots of cats around the resort, all very clean and friendly and well looked after on the resort. This resort seems very popular with german tourists, we were one of a handful of English guests but generally everyone was friendly. There are plenty of sunbeds, no need to get up early to reserve these, you will find them available all day. There is a jacuzzi and sauna which you can use free of charge but these need to be pre-booked. We really enjoyed this resort and will be going back.

Date of stay: May 2017
1  Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Darren E,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your holidays here with us. We are one of the few hotels that can offer a private beach to our customers where we provide sun beds and umbrellas free of charge.

Our kitchen prepares a wide range of food freshly on a daily basis. We serve food throughout the day beginning with breakfast, continuing with a continental breakfast and snacks in our bars till the afternoon, and last but not least dinner in our restaurant. Our clients can also enjoy a dinner in our themed restaurant. We offer the “Asiatico” Restaurant which is located in our SBH Monica Beach Resort and offers food from Japan, China and Vietnam.

All our staff is always helpful, friendly and most of all very competent as customer satisfaction is very important to us.

To ensure a certain standard in our restaurant we kindly ask our male guests to wear long trousers, this is quiet common in the whole of Spain and mentioned in the travel catalogues. We will inform our maître about it to check your comment.

It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Traveled with Thomas cook excellent. Arrived at reception with wife daughter and granddaughter.asked for rooms next to each other which we got . upgraded to gold all inclusive for booking early ,can use other sbh hotels with this .rooms spacious and clean.mini fridge .no tea making facilities in room ,took travel kettle wife is a teacoholic.hairdryer in room.sky and BBC news in English only .staff friendly and pleasant. Decent size pools.food edible u will not starve.beers and drinks excellent, fizzy drinks not so good.animation teams do games and activities through out the day .different shows daily through out the week by different entertainers .all inclusive stops at 11 pm then its pay as u go .supermarket at end of road for drinks on the balcony after 11.not many shops ,u have to travel into next town.fantastic place would defo go again .probably about 2 percent British people .granddaughter had her birthday there so asked reception for a birthday cake for a small fee we got one and a table decorated and a bottle of champagne excellent birthday pressie.loads of sun sea and laughs👍👍👍

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 52theothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear 52theothecat,

First of all we would like to thank you for have chosen our Hotel SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort to celebrate the birthday in our hotel. Secondly we thank you for have taken the time and write a review about your stay here with us.

As you have already mentioned, our guests who booked early receive our gold wristband. This allows that our guests can use the service of AI in all our hotels except SBH Crystal Beach and SBH Costa Calma Palace.

From May we also offer a premium service which includes tea and café facilities, safe, wifi, water at arrival, bathrobe, beach towels and fruits at arrival.

Guest satisfaction is very important to us that is why we try every day to exceed their expectations and make your holiday an unforgettable one.

We will consider all your comments to improve day by day and follow to meet all expectations of our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Just back from another stay at Costa Calma Beach Hotel - our second one this year, having stayed there in January 2017 as well. .
Another pleasant and relaxing stay, made all the more enjoyable by the very helpful, hard working and well-trained staff.
As we said in previous review, their work attitude runs rings around many in the British catering trade.
In particular, we must mention Danielle on the hotel reception staff. She was witty, very helpful, and resolved any queries very promptly. The pillows we ordered turned up within 20 minutes. Danielle put up with our often rather off-beat questions about the resort and area with good grace and humour.
She is a credit to the hotel, and brilliant at the welcoming stage when us tired Brits arrived at the hotel.
This was our fourth stay at this hotel and we cannot understand the various negative comments-- a little home work prior to departure would no doubt negate some of these anyway.
Am sure we will be back again fairly soon.

Room tip: Not right above the bar, -we got moved away from the bar area anyway, whihc was good
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank dbitten2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SBHDireccion, Director General at SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Dbitten2016,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our SBH Costa Calma Beach Resort with us and for has taken the time to write this review.

We are happy to read that you had a great holiday for the fourth time here with us. Our goal is to ensure that the guests who arrive at our hotel will spend wonderful and unforgettable holidays with us.

Danielle sends her love and appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews