We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“read reports been here and seen it” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“read reports been here and seen it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

please stay well clear stayed 11 june till 25th dont go half board /all incl if not spanish you wont get served never seen a rep in 2weeks was told if wanted rep you have to phone her classical music breakfast/evening meal somedays food taken away at five to ten when breakfast is till half ten staff give you dirty looks if you are not in by 9/45am also a new hotel is being built over the road facing block 1 sixdays a week banging and crains lifting parts up to top also food is only look warm stuck miles from anywere if you want to go out at night its 4euros down to the square or the no3 bus hotel staff are not very nice will deal with your problem then just walk away and answer the phone please stay well clear never again for us

Room Tip: take your own kettle and a travel safe or you have to pay 3euros a day for the safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank christopher o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,468
    1,650
    874
    339
    229
See reviews for
2,171
1,579
96
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel itself is fairly nice. The reception, pool, and bar areas are nice. The evening bar where the entertainment is held is OK, but not enough seating. Our room was large and spacious and nice and clean, although slightly dated. The air conditioning does not appear to work in most of the hotel. There wasn't really anywhere to get away from the heat except in the pool. The room at night was uncomfortable because of this, and neither my partner of myself had a solid nights sleep the whole 10 days we were there. The restaurant is also very hot.
The entertainment isn't great. When the hotel get outside entertainment in, it is very very good, but the entertainment team nights are awful.
There are not enough staff at the bars. You need to queue for around 10m minutes for a drink on the evening.
The pool area is not very relaxing. The entertainment team insist on using a microphone, but also shouting, and I did not really relax at all. The daytime entertainment was repetitive and loud.
If you have young children this may be the hotel for you. The children all seemed to love it. If you don't have children I recommend another hotel. I am aware that children/babys cry, but there is a lot of crying at lunch and dinner, and if you don't have children and are looking for a realxing time, I would definitely not recommend this place for you.
All in all, I had an OK holiday here, but I would not return. I do not feel it is a 4*. The entertainment is not good enough, the queuing time for anything is awful, and the food is very repetitive and sometimes not great quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have just returned from the Barcelo Lanzarote Resort and couldnt have had a nicer break away. When we arrived me and my partner were invited down to the restaurant before checking in as it was near closing time (10pm). Got a pleasant surprise with the selection of foods on offer, all the salads you cud think of, a fresh meat and fish option show cooked as well as a roast joint, pastas, breads, potatoes, fresh fruits and a vast selection of desserts. Breakfast was also great everyday something different show cooked from omlettes, pancakes and fried breads. Even the fussiest of eaters (like me) wont go hungry!!!
Check in was quick and given directions to our room wich was more than ample than what we needed it for, large bathroom, living room with flat screen tv, bedroom with twin beds and plenty wardrobe space. We were on the ground floor of block 5 which was handy to the pool area and all the bars.
After our 1st night we decided to upgrade to all inclusive plus which i thought was great value for money. 8e a day per person gets you all the branded drinks, proper wine with dinner and the added bonus of the all inclusive going on till 12.30am rather than 11pm. we got a safe free (normally 10e deposit and 3e per day thereafter) and they offer beach towels 10e deposit and usually 2e to change but this also complimentary with all inclusive plus.
We found we didnt have to leave the hotel as we had everything we needed but as we had never been to Costa Teguise before we walkied into the small town which is a good 40/50mins walk along prom with nice views.
The hotel itself is aesthetically pleasing, large, well laid out and clean and tidy. most of the staff are so friendly but others are there to do a job and not so pleasant. The entertainment team work really hard to amuse all the guests and it mustnt be easy for them with such a wide age range. The adult entertainment consists of a themed 1hr long show and then music till 12am. We also found there was lack of communcation between reception staff as we had booked a late check out till 6pm at a cost of 20e but when we returned to our room after 3 in the afternoon we had a note to contact reception as they had guests waiting for our room. The other let down was due to not enough sun loungers round pool, on a few occassions we had our loungers took with hotel towels on and our belongings left on ground while we were in the pool. All in all we had a great week using all the facillties and have no hesitations reccommending this hotel to families or couples and i am looking forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view request a non ground floor room as they have trees and bushes blocking views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendy84ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

As we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel last year, thought we would go again. The hotel was very much as we remembered it; in fact I think it had improved on some things. Certainly the bar around the pool was kept much tidier and, instead of paper plates being used, these were replaced by crock ones which made the area far less messy. We always found staff pleasant and polite, particularly the reception staff. I often wonder whether it is how you treat people yourself to what response you receive. The weather was much windier this year but we did go just one week earlier. We had three days when it was very overcast on the morning but you can always guarantee you will have sunshine at some time during the day. We did not feel the entertainment team was as good this year with regards activities during the day. We feel they were much more interested in the `dancing' routines (mainly evening entertainment) and certainly did not seem to "gel" like last year. We also found it rather difficult at times during the afternoon to relax and concentrate due to the staff using microphones when aerobics and lessons were taking place. Not everyone wants to hear what is going on. I am sure those taking part could very easily hear the instructions from the team without the use of a microphone. I also made a written request for the music to be turned down as I feel it should only be background noise. I believe this was done on most days so thanks. The restaurant staff were very good, particularly as we are vegetarians. They really tried their best to offer us meat-free meals but they haven't quite grasped this at the moment. Well done anyway. Please note that when we stayed at this hotel, there were two sittings for the evening meal so please take notice when you are allocated as this can cause them problems if you turn up at the wrong time. I hope this review does not seem too negative because we had a really good holiday and would return again but perhaps not for a year or two.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room overlooking pool and we have always been happy with allocation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishTrishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Went for 4 nights just to get away from the rain in UK, read the reviews thought it sounded OK got to the hotel Reception staff very nice, thank god I got off the bus first though never known a slower booking in computer was so slow why? they have all our details before we get to the hotel!
Anyway went to the room very poor quality the standard rooms straight back down to reception complained that this was not 4 star standard offered to upgrade for extra 18Euro per night this was quite good although Aircon does not work asked twice for engineer to fix it rubbish.
Cannot believe the amateurish management to get towels you pay in reception the walk 400 metres to the spa to pick them comical,a safe key 3 euros a day a tea kettle with Tea & Coffee 6 euros a day what a rip off.
They say its close to Teguise its over 2 miles away its a taxi or the hotel bus which finishes at 5.45 on the return. The food well I think they own a pork butchery or rabbit farm it seemed as though that was on every night and everything is fried o these griddles have they ever heard of grilling food the breakfast well the sugar puffs were OK as were the eggs but poor quality bacon and god forbid you tried the sausage awful.
Plenty sunbeds and generally the staff were very pleasant but I certainly would not recommend this hotel its poor quality "standard rooms" seem an excuse to get you to pay extra for an upgrade this hotel is looking to charge extra for everything it can.
Recommend stay in Playa Blanca or even Carmen as it has been upgraded as a town recently would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wirral69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Teguise
0.1 km away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
12.7 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
2.3 km away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
2.7 km away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
21.0 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Lanzarote Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Property: Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Address: Avenida del Mar. 5, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Lanzarote Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Costa Teguise
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
#13 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,346 - ₹ 10,039
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Lanzarote Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo and Booking.com so you can book your Occidental Lanzarote Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Lanzarote Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Costa Teguise
Hotel Barcelo Lanzarote
Barcelo Hotel Costa Teguise
Barcelo Hotel Lanzarote
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing