We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - if you have right exceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Playa de Jandia
Klaukkala
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel - if you have right exceptions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

If you are looking for a little quiet hotel located close to restaurants, night clubs and stores, you will be disappointed. But if you are looking for an AI resort that can serve as a base for your Fuerteventura beach vacation, this hotel may be a good choice - at least if you do not mind that practically all the guests are German and the main language on the property is German.

We just got back from a week there and we pretty much knew where we were going to - we spent the same week last year at the Iberostar (about 2 km from this) - and we did read the reviews here. So we had our expectations set right. There were some surprises, though.

The first one was that we (parents + kids age 12, 16 and 18) had booked (and paid for) two bungalow rooms and actually got a whole bungalow (4 rooms) - four bedrooms + bathrooms and two living rooms. The rooms are good, beds really comfortable (120 cm wide) and kept very clean. As we had the whole bungalow, all the possible noise was home made. The main building did not look too great - long corridors etc. I do not know how the rooms are there.

The located is nicely built on a hill - I estimate that the top rooms may be 12 stories higher than the ones closest to the beach entrance. Our bungalow was located on the high end of the property and it took 10 minutes to walk (not slowly) to the beach, almost half of that in the garden of the hotel. We took that walk only as a plus to compensate for all the food we ate, but some may take this as a minus.

We were prepared that the hotel may be fully booked (the situation in Arabic countries diverting tourists to Canary Islands) and that we may have to queue to dinners etc. I do not know how full the hotel was but everything worked fine. On two nights we had to wait a minute for them to clean a table but had we been a party of max 4 persons there would have been tables ready. There also were always sun beds available by the pool.

When it comes to food, you have to compare it with AI hotels. During the last 10 years we have stayed in 8 different 4 star AI hotels in 6 countries. And our conclusion is that the buffet here may be the best of these - food is great, lot of variety, different themes each night etc. The only thing that was missing was a'la carte option. They have one restaurant but it is open only on Fri and Sat nights and our vacation was from Friday to Friday - when we thought about anything but buffet, it was too late. I am not even sure if that was included in the AI plan.

Some odd remarks:
-- Being an exercise maniac and an early riser, I liked the opening hours of the (not very good) gym. It opens at 7am so you can go there before breakfast, after jogging on the beach (with a head light as it was dark before 7).
-- Coming from the home land of the sauna and owning two saunas ourselves, we found the sauna a little odd (but relaxing). Particularly, the heater located under the seats with only a funnel attached to the wall for water was not a usual thing. I actuallly sat on the top of the heater and thought that I had gotten a serious sun burn on my back side.
-- The staff is really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JariAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    80
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
37
88
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Reception staff very effecient but need to smile a little! Stayed in room block 8 at this hotel which was very clean but very noisy plumbing from other rooms, the food in the evening was poor, selection and quality not good, the breakfast much better. The spanish staff in the communal areas very friendly. The bed was very comfortable, pillows past their best. Stated as no pets allowed, but a dog was being looked after on the balcony two floors above, glad I was not in the room beneath. Gardens and pool area very nice. Location not suitable for familys intending to go to the beach everyday unless you are looking a lot of exercise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philnlil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Really fabulous service in an excellent location with the highest of standards.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coling4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We've just returned from 3 weeks stay at this hotel and we are are satisfied with it.
OK, it may not look fantastic from the outside, but it has been recently renovated, it is clean, the room service is excellent, the food is excellent, the entertainment program they have is decent.
Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideal for families with children (they do have children's entertainment during the day as well). The pools are also OK and the beach is about 5 minutes walking distance.
To reach the next town with shopping possibilities there is a bus every half an hour and the ride is really not long and there are taxis at a very decent price available in front of the hotel.
We were happy with everything and we would go back there especially with kids.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chicca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

I looked at the previous reviews on tripadvisor and i should have listened, firstly we arrived late and first impressions of what is supposed to be a 4 star hotel were not impressive. It looked more a 3 star or a youth hostel particularly the very long corridors. I was keen to use my spanish but the reception staff answered in German when I did. The signs were in German, the newspaper in German, every holidaymaker was German and we felt the only brits in the hotel. Food is all inclusive and you can see why, it is because the hotel is no where near any bars, restaurants etc. You have to either take a taxi 5 euros or the bus. The other two hotels nearby all cater for German also. The beach was a long walk down a very steep hill so definately not worth it if you have children as it is dangerous in parts. Entertainment at the hotel was absolutely laughable, we left after 10 mins for most of them as they were rubbish. The only good thing was the food, there was plenty of variety and the cocktails were very pleasant each evening and the staff did try to make you welcome when serving the cocktails. However I will not be back, we have stayed at various locations in fuerteventura and i would either stay right on the beach at Jandia or corrolejo.

  • Liked — the food and cocktails
  • Disliked — Too isolated and too many Germans
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BOO37DOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Jandia
0.1 km away
Fuerteventura Princess
2.7 km away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - ...
#4 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.6 km away
Robinson Club Esquinzo Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.3 km away
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
Club Jandia Princess Hotel
#7 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
2.3 km away
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
Iberostar Fuerteventura Palace
#2 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura

Property: Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura
Address: Urbanizacion Butihondo, Calle Gran Canaria, 8 | Urb. Butihondo, Pajara, 35626 Playa de Jandia, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Playa de Jandia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Jandia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Jandia
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,699 - ₹ 10,217
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular hotel, extensively embellished in summer 2008, is located in the southern part of the island, in close vicinity to the kilometer-long sandy beaches of Jandia. Situated on a hill overlooking the sea, the hotel is nestled among a 53.000sqm subtropical garden. Besides 300 comfortable rooms and suites, there are 42 family friendly bungalows, with 2 bedrooms each. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Esquinzo Beach Fuerteventura Playa De Jandia
Esquinzo Beach Pajara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing