We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Argiri Hotel(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Agrelli Hotel Imperial(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helona Resort(Kardamena)
US$ 302
US$ 271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Asteras Resort(Kardamena)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 236
US$ 222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 220
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cleopatra Superior Hotel(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
US$ 133
US$ 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 257
US$ 241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cleopatra Classic Hotel(Kardamena)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 19/07
US$ 70
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
252
243
71
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
243
71
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmark warner holidaybreeze barmountain bikessocial tenniskids clubbarefoot bartennis courtsbeach staffsailing windsurfingrya levelgreat holidayactivity holidaymain restaurantchildcare teambuffet stylegreek tavernafamily pool
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Great trip to Lakitira in September when the resort was a quite quiet, few other young couples were there and then also some young families. The sports facilities were great and helpful staff to prepare all of this for you.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear Mr. Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and rewarding experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Lovely hotel with excellent facilities provided by both the Hotel and Mark Warner staff.

Hotel staff were excellent and were always quick to assist. Front Desk staff willing to offer advice. Special mentions to George in the Restaurant. He is very friendly and courteous. Fani the bar waitress was always cheerful and attentive.

15 minute coach transfer from the airport to hotel. 10 Euro taxi into Kardamena and 40 Euro taxi into Kos.

Main restaurant was buffet style and choices to keep most people happy. It can get very busy so we always went early or late. When it is quieter it is easier to get a table on the terrace. Food never ran out.

Trattoria restaurant (included in half board) is definitely worth visiting. It is quieter than the main restaurant with less choice. Still buffet service. The menu can be viewed at reception so we booked for nights that we found of interest.

Greek night on Thursday which was additional cost. Although table service the additional cost was not really worth it. Food was marginally better than other restaurants but service was a bit chaotic.

Breakfast in the Greek Restaurant goes on until 11am which is later than the main restaurant. Not the variety at the main restaurant but lovely to eat outside.

Wifi was a bit hit and miss. If there are too many people using it the speeds are very slow.

Towels on sun loungers can be a small problem if you require 4 or so loungers together. Even then it only becomes a problem after about 9am. However we never had a problem getting 2 loungers together at any time during the day. At the main beach there was never a problem getting sun loungers no matter how many we wanted.

Cleanliness of the hotel and grounds was impeccable. Housekeeping was brilliant and the room was cleaned to a high standard each day.

Aquatica water park is a 20 min walk or 8 euro taxi ride. It is small but fun. Worth a few hours.

Overall an amazing holiday made special by the Hotel and Mark Warner staff.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayWizardUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are represented by all our team members.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lakitira Resort and Village in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We stayed here with Mark Warner and had a great week. We had a ground floor room which was handy for the beach and facilities. Our daughter (3 yo) loved her sofa bed and it was nice that this area could be closed off allowing her to sleep and us to watch a film in the evening.
We were half board and found the breakfast and dinner to have lots of different options and generally the standard was quite high. The desserts were delicious!
Our daughter enjoyed the kids disco which we went to a couple of nights. We didn't really check out the other entertainment as we had her to look after. We did go to the bar for a couple of drinks when she was watching a film with the evening childcare options and it was good to get some couple time. It is generally a quiet resort.
We went on group cycles and did group sailing/ windsurfing which were all really good.
The only thing I would say could be improved were the 'Stretch' classes as they were shorter than advertised and the same routine/ music was played the 4 times I attended!
Overall, we will consider a return visit next year and felt it was good value for a family holiday in a quiet pleasant resort with plenty of activities going on.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GlasgowCmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort and Village. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We’ve just had a fantastic week at Lakitira with Mark Warner. This a really nice hotel with fabulous facilities, if you go you’d be hard pushed to not have a great time. The reviews on here do the hotel just, so there’s not much to add which others haven’t already said. Therefore I thought it’d be helpful to compare Lakitira to Levante, as Lakitira is one of Mark Warner’s larger 4-star family hotels, and Levante Beach in Rhodes is their more recent 5-star flagship family hotel.

Lakitira is older than Levante, so it’s not as new and sparkling, however it is spotlessly clean and the grounds are more established with lovely palm trees in the gardens and everywhere is kept immaculately (grounds better kept than Levante). Levante looks and feels more exclusive though, with sharper lines and more modern touches.

The rooms aren’t quite as large at Lakitira, but they’re adequate and perfectly acceptable. We did prefer the rooms at Levante though, aside from being a little more spacious, they have a separate bath/shower which we found useful with a little one. There’s really not much in it though.

The resort as a whole is larger at Lakitira, and is spread out along the beach. The main and childrens pools are 10 seconds from the beach and playground, which we found really useful, as found ourselves flipping from one to the other constantly as our daughter changed her mind on what she wanted to do. Whilst there is a pool right by the beach at Levante, the “main” pool which is better for children (as gently slopes in depth from a few inches deep) and the chlidrens pool itself is further away from the beach – only maybe 150 meters or so, but it just seemed easier at Latikira to flip between them effortlessly. The play area at Levante is also located away from both the beach and the pools.

We thought the beach is better at Lakitira - whilst it’s thinner, it is a ‘proper’ sandy beach which is fine to walk on and also great for the children to make sandcastles etc. At Levante the beach is larger but it’s sand/shingle mix which is sharp and you can’t really walk barefoot on it, and isn’t good for the children to play. At both though children will need shoes for when in the water as there is rocks.

Food – there is more variety at Levante in the main restaurant, but something we really liked at Lakitira is that even though only half board we were able to switch to the Italian restaurant free of charge whenever we wished (just booking at reception – which we often did on the night itself). The main restaurant at Lakitira is a bit hectic, with tables too close together and generally too busy, pretty much chaos at times. They don’t bring drinks to your table at breakfast like they do at Levante, though do bring them at evenings. Levante’s main restaurant is a nicer, more spacious and more peaceful place to eat. Food quality is similar in general. At Levante they have a separate station at breakfast for eggs/omelettes and another for pancakes – at Lakitira the same person does both and there was often queues. We thought desserts at Lakitira were much nicer though than Levante – despite looking similar, they simply tasted much better for some reason (Levante desserts are generally tasteless despite looking good). The beach bar at Lakitira we thought was very good, and better than Levante’s offerings. At 6 or 7 euros for a decent lunch, it was both nicer and slightly cheaper. It was also cheaper eating lunch each day at the beach café than upgrading to full board to get lunch included. The high tea meal for children is fine at both, but again more variety at Levante. Also at Lakitira the dessert option was extremely limited for kids – it did not once include ice-cream the full week we were there, whereas ice-cream was available every day at Levante. If you wanted ice-cream at Lakitira you had to buy one from the bar.

Drinks - Beer was marginally cheaper at Lakitira (small 2 euros, large 3.50 euro) – though from the beach bars there didn’t seem much size difference between small and large at all in the plastic cups they used! Cocktails were the same price as at Levante (6 euros), with a similar range. Levante has a happy hour for a cocktail each day which nicely coincides with the childrens high tea times and was always utilised – no such thing at Lakitira.

Kids/club – outstanding as always from Mark Warner. When it comes to kids clubs, Mark Warner have it cracked across the board. As always, morning sessions far fuller than the afternoon ones. One minor point we didn’t like was that at Lakitira the mini-club was located up a big flight of stairs. Two points on this: (1) Sometimes we saw kids clubs coming down the stairs with the staff at the back and the children going first – given they’re quite long stairs (though do have a low handrail), we’d have preferred to see an adult going first to be there in case a child fell. (2) It’s a serious pain to get a buggy up the stairs with a child in asleep. We tried a couple of evenings when it was time for evening crèche and our daughter was tired and had fallen asleep in the pushchair beforehand, but each time she woke up so ended up having a later night watching movies (which she thoroughly enjoyed mind!). The evening creche service though itself was fantastic as ever and a real help. The babies/under 3s are located separately on the ground floor where there is buggy access. At Levante it’s all in the same building which has ramp access.

Evening entertainment – equally dire at both resorts. The animations team at Lakitira are truly awful, as is the entertainment in general, but Levante is the same. Mark Warner don’t seem to do evenings very well at all, which strikes me as really odd when they do everything else so well. They do make more of an effort at Lakitira, but it’s so bad that it’d be better if they didn’t do anything at all.

Other facilities – beach facilities team were a great bunch and really approachable, friendly and helpful. Seemed more so than Levante in May this year, though this will obviously vary from year to year, plus visiting Levante in May was only the third week of the season so perhaps they hadn’t settled in fully/gelled quite so much.

Other points – Levante is 95% MW guests, Lakitira seemed 50:50 with the other half being German. Our 3 year old daughter was confused by the language barrier when trying to play with others at times in the pool. At Levante we probably spoke to more people in general around the pool/bars/resort simply because virtually everyone was English and there wasn’t a language barrier, so it seemed slightly more social. The high proportion of non-Mark Warner guests at Lakitira seems to dilute the MW experience a little.

The on-site shop was much better at Levante, which is quite important as there’s not much locally/within a few minutes walking distance to either resort. The Lakitira shop is very poorly stocked, with very little food, no ice-cream, and no beers/wines if you wanted to have a drink one evening on your balcony – the shop isn’t allowed to sell anything basically which competes with the hotel bars. At Levante the shop is extremely well stocked and has no such restrictions, which is helpful when you have a fussy 3 year old and can get a variety of items for lunch from there/snacks if needed.

Overall, the resorts really are very similar with only pretty minor differences as noted above. As to which we prefer, all things considered Levante marginally edges it we think for us, but we had lots of fun at Lakitira and preferred it in many aspects. They’re both fantastic hotels and if you are looking for a family break both are a great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank reviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort and Village in such a detail. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Our second visit. Lovely spot, with great views, good beaches and clear water. This time we stayed in the village and had a great ground floor room, spacious with lots of storage and nice terrace.
Staff at reception were helpful, maid service excellent.
Mark Warner staff were young and enthusiastic but seemed less content and comfortable than on our previous stay at the absolutely wonderful Lemnos location where they mingled with guests in the evening. At Lakitira they were not seen at all socially and that detracted from the overall experience.
Evenings at Lakitira are boring. The bars have a few guests sitting quietly and a 'show' at the Breeze Bar Stage location on some nights. The animation team are not professionals and they mime and try to dance to various themes. The average guest watched for about 10 minutes in the hope things would improve. We started to watch Zorro with an audience of approx 25 with a few children. The English commentary talked about an execution scene and the hero preventing a rape. Not exactly family viewing. The young team were probably doing their best but this is our second visit and I can confirm that there was no improvement. This was embarrassing for a 4 star hotel.

Therefore we went to the Helona Hotel in the evening for coffee or drinks and they at least had professional musicians playing in the bar. We also had dinner there on one occasion - we enjoyed the lovely setting and the food was good.

We liked the Taverna and enjoyed breakfast every morning. Lovely staff. We also went to the Greek Evening and the service was good and the music great. At one time the staff did a little Greek dance for about two or three minutes and it was lovely to see. More please ! We eat twice here during the week and were happy to pay the premium. Unlike a previous reviewer we had no service issues here.

The main restaurant is buffet style. The salads and sweets are good. However we did not like the main course choices. The meat was poor and tough. Chicken dishes never contained breast meat. Meat in sauces was roughly chopped and fiddly to eat to get rid of the fatty and boney bits. Somebody needs to look at the menus from a Uk perspective and include more fresh vegetables. The Taverna is a better choice, less crowded and with a reduced but reasonable selection. However the waiting staff and front of house in all locations are excellent.

I think this hotel offers a good holiday, but for fresh food and lively evenings I would strongly recommend the fantastic Lemnos Beach Resort.

Room Tip: We prefer the village location although sea view rooms in the main hotel are also good.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakitira-Hotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lakitira Resort & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Lakitira Resort and Village.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you as well for the points you have raised, which we will review them to examine possible ways of improvement.

We wish you all the best and we look forward to welcoming you back!

With kind regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews