We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Kardamena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

WOW This hotel was lovely. Spacious apartments, beautifully clean, The only thing I can say wrong about this holiday was that the pools were very cold, but I still had a swim. The beach had comfy sunbeds, and plenty of them, and a bar that also did snacks and ice cream. We went in October 2012, we had booked to go to different hotel that we had gone to the previous year but got offered this one late as the other hotel was closing earlier than usual, so we was a bit sceptical but it was great. Would definitely go back. We hired a couple of june buggys and went out into Kos on them that was great fun. Also had a lovely massage in the hotel, highly recommend. Staff were really helpful. What more can I say. It was a great holiday. We are going to Crete this October to another Mitsis Hotel hope it has the same standards. Totally recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are of a very high standard .If you have a walking problem it is very steep to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,529 of 3,419 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Returned Monday morning after spending 1 week at the Mitsis Blue Domes. 2 Adults and a 13 year old girl. Firstly when we arrived we were taken to a 'family room' which was a double and a single/day bed type arrangement all in the same room. The room we specially booked through Thomas Cook was one where my daughter had her own private bedroom within the actual allocated room. This we believed offered everyone privacy and control of their own sleeping space. We took it up with the front desk who said they understood but the manager was the only person who could authorise any changes etc and as it was then 1am they suggested we come back in the morning. 9:45am the next day we waited for the rep and explained to him the situation. Must point out not the Thomas Cook rep as the 'package' bought consisted of booking the holiday as individual packages ie flight transfer and hotel etc.. since Thomas Cook didn't have this ready made package available on the day we could travel, we were advised we could purchase the same package as individual parts with them using flexitrips?...Which cost us £500 more and didn't inc their rep at the resort?...Had to accept this but found it strange. Anyway, spoke with the flexitrips allotted rep who listened went away and came back and advised nothing could be done till the following day....when asked how come as we had booked a specific room he simply replied the hotel was full...Which from previous reviews we were wary of.. The rep said the room Manager (Mr Filios) was in a meeting with some boss and wasn't available to see us. I will be polite and say this changed and within 15 minutes Mr Filios was made personally aware of the situation by myself and initially couldn't help us till the following day. It was pointed out to him the error was the hotels and he accepted this, he offered compensation, which we rejected, he offered the a-la-carte restaurant services (which is inc anyway) and again rejected. Remaining polite he was given several options to rectify the situation but due to the hotel being full he said there was nothing he could do. We decided the only option was to check out and get the next flight back.. drastic but this was down to them. Mr Filios then asked for an hour to see what he could do and guess what within the hour we were told we would be moved at 6:30pm that day to a more suitable room. I can confirm this did happen and the final room was totally acceptable. Let me add the original room was classed as a family room and like 99% of the place was clean tidy but just didn't meet our specific needs. The staff worked hard all day in keeping the hotel clean and tidy, yes it an all inclusive so cups and napkins did appear from time to time in the pools (all salt water types except kids one) but that's a mixture of some strong winds that blow through and inconsiderate guests from ALL nationalities.
The complex is large and appears impressive and yes there can be a shortage of beds although we didn't have trouble securing 3 everyday at about 7:30am. It was obvious that some people were coming down early then wandering off for the day either to the beach or into town or to another pool after 'reserving' a number of beds which they might return to later on! No towel shortages either but this is based on the pool area not the beach area.
Food was of fairly good quality, some was weird and wonderful, some traditional and some that you felt obliged to try. Main restaurant does get busy and staff cope well but not a totally relaxing experience although sat outside with the views over the sea did help. The other restaurants (not a-la-carte) are functional and we tried 5 of the 6. Burger, Pitta, Sushi, Pastry, Mezze and the Beeraria? Burger simple, Pitta tasty, Sushi an experience but well served and expertly done, Pastry- crepes and ice cream so cant go wrong and finally the mezze, if you are hungry then there is quite a variety. But not many tables so time it wrong and you will be stood about watching who's ready to leave...but remember certain nationalities done believe in queuing...
Beech shale but clean and warm water and when its windy can be choppy...suggest beach shoes to overcome this.
Lastly, the a-la-carte restaurants 4 in total, Italian, Greek, Mexican and Asian. you are supposed to book for lunch and dinner via the computer terminal but this means you need to be in the queue say 45 mins before 7pm to be in with a chance...Not good.. But the 2 we tried, the Greek for lunch and the Italian for Dinner were very good with the setting very apt.
Ok no doubt repeated some good points, some bad points and missed some others but overall the holiday was ok. Don't think we will be heading back to The Mitsis Blue Domes but if your thinking about it or already booked it don't be put off just be aware of things that could arise...and enjoy the 31'C compared to the 18'C....it should be the main reason you go...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at mitsis blue domes in kos.
Had a great time, complex was like a picture postcard (stunning).
Rooms were spacious.
Lots of steps, we counted 171 from our room to main restaurant. Kept us fit though.
Food was great, especially the choice you had at lunchtimes with the oozeria, burger and pitta corner.
Went in a party of eight 4 adults 1 child and 3 teens.
My youngest son found lots to do at mitsis wonderland kids club, he also loved watching the shows every evening. He appeared as aboo in the show Aladdin along with the entertainers. He had the best time and loved the experience, thank you soo much ninja for helping sort that. ;)
The show were all worth a watch especially grease, Aladdin and the lion king.
The entertainers are great fun and work extremely hard.
I enjoyed my morning sessions doing yoga and water gym with ninja.
The teen boys played football everyday with Matt and zu zu.
I loved being at the beach and always found a sun bed there no matter what time of day you turn up. There was a lot more life at the beach with the music and the entertainers.
Around the pool was very quiet. If you want a sun bed by a pool you need to get up very early. My husband had to set an alarm at 5.45 am to put towels out...
All around the complex is very clean and spotless.
My only critersium is that there was not enough daytime activities for the teenagers to do.
But all in all we had a very chilled 2 weeks and would def recommend.
Big thanks from Charlie to ninja, zu zu, Matt and Claudio and all the entertainers xxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisaclowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

When we first arrived the check in took an eternity and the room was not prepared, but in 2 hours we started to feel in haven. The hotel facilities were luxurious, children club was well equipped and kids older than 4 can stay there without their parents. The most fantastic part of the hotel was the beautiful beach of the the amazing see. We came form the beach Mediterranean city, but this beach and see were something else: pure water, no waves, amazing amount of fishes in the water. The food was also amazing either at the dining room and either at the huge variety of special restaurants, all of them included in the price we paid for our stay. We also could use the facilities of other Mitsis hotels for free. We spent there a week and felt that it was not enough and we could easily enjoy another 3-5 days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieGK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I must admit that after reading several reviews I was really apprehensive about this hotel but I need not have worried. We have had an excellent two weeks.
- The hotel is visually stunning where you can see across the sea to islands with mountains behind.
- There are different snacks bars open through the day where you can get a range of snacks including ice creams, pancakes, burgers etc.
- We prefer the beach where there were always sun beds available however if you want to be by a pool then you need to set an alarm and get up very early.
- Pools very very salty so take goggles if you pefer them to the sea.
- Beach is not sand but the sea is very close so it is not really an issue.
- There are 4 gourmet restaurants Asian, Mexican, Italian and Greek. All very good quality but booking them is hard work but not impossible. You have to queue up and enter in a screen from 7pm. Turn up at 6.40pm and be flexible on time. I booked all four at approx 7pm and I never queued longer than 30mins. This is frustrating and needs reviewing however it's not the end of the world.
- Main restaurant food quality is good. You have to queue on the right to sit outside and left for inside. My view is that you get looked after better outside as it gets hectic inside and my wine glass was always filled up.I know other reviews mentioned waiting a long time but we didn't have to as it was very well organised.
- Room was very good and very clean. We had a great sea view and was close to restaurant but was quite a walk to the beach.
- Staff very really helpful around the hotel and the cleaners always spoke whenever they saw you. A special mention to the entertainment team who would always take time to get to know you especially Matt, Zuzu and thank you to Claudio who worked hard to get my daughter involved in the games. It is worth seeing Grease and Lion King.
- There is a 4k route to Kardamena where you can walk along the beach or hire a bike ( my family enjoyed visiting and feeding a donkey every day next to the taverner).
When you consider the amount of guests I feel that the hotel does a really efficient job, the drink in the rooms was replenished daily and any requests we have were dealt with immediately.

We would return as we really enjoyed it and have many great memories.

Room Tip: The lower number ie 100/200 are close to the main restaurants and reception but 500/600 are closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamena
0.3 km away
Mitsis Summer Palace Beach Hotel
0.3 km away
Mitsis Family Village Beach Hotel
0.1 km away
Mitsis Norida Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 km away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
15.3 km away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
14.2 km away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa

Address: | Tholari, Kardamena 85302, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kardamena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kardamena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kardamena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kardamena
#4 Family Hotel in Kardamena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kardamena
Price Range: ₹ 11,023 - ₹ 33,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The absolute ultra all-inclusive five-star beach resort in Kos, BLUE DOMES RESORT & SPA, only 7 km away from the traditional village Kardamena, is the quintessence of luxurious holidays. In its 499 rooms, the resort offers numerous choices - from standard guestrooms and bungalows to maisonettes and villas with a private pool. The swimming pools, which are throughout the entire resort, measure a total length of 650m. There are also 10 restaurants, 7 bars, water slides, a playground, interior leisure rooms (a library, a painting room, a music room, puppet theater, a projection room and a relaxation room), an internet corner, tennis courts, a mini soccer court, a conference hall, with a capacity of 500 people and an amphitheater with a capacity of 800 people, a Wellness Spa to relax your body and soul - all together make up the perfect setting for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Blue Domes Hotel Kardamena
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort And Spa
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa Kos/Kardamena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing