We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Glassblowing & Paperweight making
Reviewed 28 February 2017

My husband bought a day course for my birthday as I enjoy various creative hobbies. This was definitely the best day course I've been on in ages. Jake (class tutor) was brilliant at explaining everything and answering questions. We made lots of things (there were 2 of us in the class), and it was definitely hands-on. I was a bit nervous because I'd never done anything like it, but I felt at ease and Jake was always nearby if I wasn't sure about what I was doing. His mum, Jo, was also there and was lovely sorting us out with tea/coffee/etc all day. I've already recommended it to my friends and family! Definitely worth it - and looking forward to picking up my pieces next week :)

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Mandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"glass blowing"
in 11 reviews
"glass flowers"
in 3 reviews
"jake"
in 37 reviews
"teacher"
in 8 reviews
"creative"
in 6 reviews
"fascinating"
in 4 reviews
"present"
in 4 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

This was my first class in glassblowing, given to me as a birthday present. And what a present, it exceeded all my expectations. Jake was so good at inspiring and teaching you at the rate you could take in. Totally hands on with just two student you have a really full on day, with making small pieces in the morning to learn the process, then in the afternoon you make a piece of your choice. He drops in his wealth of experience as you need but You! make the piece, he guides when you get into difficulties. I had 7 items I made on the day all which I was really happy with. And just in case you might need some refreshment, there was coffee, croissants and biscuits. Wow when can I go again !. Even if you don't book a session, just drop along to the studio and watch and perhaps buy one of the many stunning pieces on display in the studio.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Binary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

This was a full one day course with expert tutoring,giving an insight into blowing and creating with glass. There was lots of opportunity to handle the glass (with excellent safety precautions) and learn how to handle it to create items. There was a good amount of freedom to develop your own design pieces (although you could follow set pieces if you preferred) and I am enjoying my 3 pieces ( plus the flowers)that I made.Lee and his Mum (sorry can't remember the name) were welcoming, friendly, handy with the biscuit box and had a great sense of humour.Quite the best day course I have been on.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Annette U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Jake takes you through the whole process of making beautiful glass. He'll give you as much or as little history as you want, he's a mine of information and he puts it across so well. Being able to take home your creations is wonderful and a real talking point with friends. My wife and I made some beautiful pieces and with Jake's expert tutorage you'll have your own masterpieces! A truly fabulous day.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank IanClours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Something I have always wanted to do and wasn't disappointed. Small family run business and only 2 people on the course so you get plenty of hands on time. Expert tuition from Jake and plenty of tea from Mum :-)
An excellent day out and will definitely be going back

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glassblowing & Paperweight making also viewed

 
Guildford, Surrey
 

Been to Glassblowing & Paperweight making? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing